ShelfGenie Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

ShelfGenie Reviews

Updated 21 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
ShelfGenie CEO P. Allan Young (no image)
P. Allan Young
19 Ratings
  1. "Great Company to Work With!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ShelfGenie part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In the franchise where I work, I can create whatever schedule I need to. There are no mandatory evenings or weekends although, sometimes it’s requested that we make ourselves more available during busy times. The training and support I’ve received has been just right. If I feel that I need more information it’s usually readily available and the company does hold an annual conference which is full of lots of valuable training. This is a company that likes to recognize achievement, success and growth.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a position that is paid on commission only and when the appointments are slow you cannot easily predict what your paycheck will be. Also there are no health or retirement benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up what you’re doing!

    ShelfGenie2019-09-21
  2. "PROS and CONS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Palm Beach, FL
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ShelfGenie for more than a year

    Pros

    FANTASTIC PRODUCT/ GREAT COMMISSIONS...wonderful time with the clients in their homes. They love the product. Nonpushy selling techniques. Great advertising. They set your appnts. WONDERFUL. I put lots of effort in because it was so wonderful.

    Cons

    My particular 'owner' locally(this is a national company and is franchised) wouldn't support me in my frustration when the installer was constantly rude (even yelling) to me. I was making them sale after sale, and I wasn't important enough for him to talk to his installer. He wanted me to. No way, I was brand new. Suggestion: Take of your sales staff and make sure all departments are professional to all the staff.

    Advice to Management

    Take of your sales staff, or they won't be making you money and sell somewhere else.

    ShelfGenie2017-11-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good starter company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ShelfGenie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Optimistic environment upon entry. Friendly Team.

    Cons

    Fast turn rate. Low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to your employee's input . Input on company values often leads to segregation.

    ShelfGenie2017-10-03
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ShelfGenie full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Growing company, great benefits, fun culture, awesome co-workers.

    Cons

    Some people don't like the constant changes. However, I love it we are always getting better. This place isn't for everyone. Only a special few:)

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! I have seen even better changes in the last month. Can't wait to see what 2017 brings!

    ShelfGenie2017-01-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not established"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Non Given 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ShelfGenie full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    WORKED TO HELP ACCOMPANY HOURS

    Cons

    Favoritism, turnover rate, lack of essential knowledge by employees

    Advice to Management

    Keep confidential matters confidential and stop ignoring employees unleaded you want or need from them.

    ShelfGenie2017-01-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ShelfGenie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Franchisees are very good people. Company seems to be financially sound. The corporate office hires good people who are very capable.

    Cons

    There is way too much turnover at the corporate office. The people who are there are very over-worked. No stability.

    Advice to Management

    You keep hiring good people, but you can't keep them. At some point, don't you have to admit that the problem is you, not the people you hire?

    ShelfGenie2016-06-25
  7. "Great company with great results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ShelfGenie full-time

    Pros

    I have been with ShelfGenie over the past 2 years and have seen witnessed the transformation changes the executive team is instilling within the office and the franchise system. To get to where we need to be, we're always striving to find the right people with an entrepreneurial spirit. This also means the acceptance of change, creating innovative solutions and demand the best out of everyone to be bought into this culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    Change as always is not for everyone and the demands may not always be receptive to everyone, hence natural turnover.

    Advice to Management

    The executive team embodies a great philosophy and needs to continue to find the right people to fill the right seats.

    ShelfGenie2016-05-11
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Shelf Genie Designer of 4 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ShelfGenie Designer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ShelfGenie

    Pros

    I am a professional organizer and own my own business. Shelf Genie allowed me to fill in appointment gaps as I grew my business. I had the freedom to choose when I wanted to work and how much. There were many opportunities for me to create income for myself beyond the appointments that they scheduled for me. My organizing practice has matured and I simply need to focus on that.

    Cons

    The sales kit and computer bag can be very heavy to lug in and out of the car. I lived 40 minutes from Columbus, Ohio where many of our appointments are located so I did a lot of driving sometimes for one appointment or a team meeting.

    Advice to Management

    I enjoyed working for Mike Saunders of ShelfGenie of Columbus. He was always very fair in everything.

    ShelfGenie2016-04-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Designer of Glideout Shelving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Designer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ShelfGenie part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love meeting people and helping them solve problems in their kitchen. I have a lot of flexibility in this position by controlling my own calendar. It is up to me as to my availibiity to work. Shelf Genie of Raleigh has been very fair to me. I did have to provide my own laptop computer but I had one anyway. They provide the printers we use. I have to work Home Shows some during the year but am always paid for my time. There are great incentives to sell more and receive bonuses. It is a great part time job for me as a mother of 4 children. The kids are growing up and I am able to work more now but i have been allowed to decide my work schedule. I could gain more opportunities if I self generated and I am planning to do more of that in the future.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a great job for me as I stated before but the income is not always consistent. Sometimes I have big months and sometimes I don't' but it works out well for me. Home Shows are a necessity but not my favorite thing to do.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate well and keep bringing in fresh ideas for the sales team. Continue to lead by being positive and understanding that this is a job with ups and downs as the opportunities are lots at some times and little at others.

    ShelfGenie2016-04-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ShelfGenie part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The companies provides all of my leads and has great training. I get to set my own schedule and work area. The compensation is fantastic for the hours required. I love the impact that what I do has on our clients it is a very rewarding job.

    Cons

    I really cannot think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    ShelfGenie2016-04-29
Found 29 reviews