Softchoice Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Softchoice Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Softchoice CEO Vince De Palma
Vince De Palma
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, dogs to work, great benefits(in 60 reviews)

  • "monthy beer cart and pizza lunch(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "struggle with work life balance, expected to perform 2 peoples jobs for the low salary of one due to small team size(in 34 reviews)

  • "This is a common problem in the Toronto office but is not the case in their other locations(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Desk Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, relaxed office environment, lots of employee activities going on, plenty of opportunity to socialize with other coworkers.

    Cons

    Very high turn over, especially in sales. managers seem to care more about your stats than any concerns employees have. They advertise "work from home" but its at the managers discretion.

    Softchoice2019-10-18
  2. "You define how you do here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I came into this job with zero experience in tech, just a lot of passion for customer relationships. I've had the opportunity to learn a lot, and even when its far too technical or over my head, I have resources to explain the rest to my clients. Lots of opportunity to learn more here. I know that a lot of people leave bad reviews about the comp structure, etc. I've found that saying you have a bad set of accounts can be a cop out. I came in with too many accounts, and was able to still drive good business. The amount of effort you put in directly relates to what you get out of your customers (in telesales at least, I can't speak for TSD). Dogs in the office, can't say anything else about that. The culture used to be pretty terrible. In the past couple of years though, I've seen a shift from a toxic culture to a much more positive culture. You'll still have people gossip, no matter where you go, but I feel like leadership tries to nip that in the bud. We've also had a full change in leadership in the last year, and we have a zero tolerance policy now for toxic behaviors

    Cons

    It's really hard to get started. You don't really start making commission until you've been in role for at least a month. People tend to quit in waves, which means that the new people end up getting swamped with accounts until they figure out where the accounts should go. If you're a retain rep, you're on an annual plan, so your bigger commissions come at the end of the year. If you dont make it a year, you lose out on that commission. Outside sales tends to be not as involved in the customers. They're not metric'd on retention, so they dont care if they dont visit an account and lose it. Only inside sales is metric'd on that.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2019-10-16
  3. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sharepoint Developer in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Work Life Balance and very friendly

    Cons

    Commute that it is a bit far from East

    Softchoice2019-10-11
  4. "great stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time

    Pros

    options for training available, relaxed office atmosphere, dog friendly

    Cons

    struggle with work life balance, expected to perform 2 peoples jobs for the low salary of one due to small team size

    Softchoice2019-10-16
  5. "Monitoring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place learn IT work.

    Cons

    Poor management and dont trust the employees.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2019-09-18
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is amazing! I really enjoy all of the people I work with. There are plenty of opportunities to grow here.

    Cons

    No real cons for me.

    Softchoice2019-09-02
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible company, and horrific on boarding process."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros at all, terrible company

    Cons

    Terrible on-boarding team. My trainer just started at the company 5 months prior to my training session. My trainer was not honest and lied to me. Got fired after three weeks of working there.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2019-10-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The Sales review for Softchoice ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, the leadership trusts hardworking people and have one to one recognition

    Cons

    Not much to share all is good

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2019-08-20
  9. "Great company for starting in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, dogs to work, great benefits

    Cons

    Base pay kind of low

    Softchoice2019-08-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "They think very highly of themselves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty office with coffee and fancy flavoured water.

    Cons

    Senior team won’t respond to a hello or good morning if they don’t think your rank is high enough. Some people will actually look the other way when you greet them. That speaks volumes about the real company culture. People who think too highly of themselves and who don’t really care about anyone other than themselves. Do you think that a culture like that will lead to good results in the long run? Don’t be misled by the pretty pictures on their website. Everyone smiles for the camera and quickly returns to their self-absorbed cubicles.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2019-08-29
Found 588 reviews