SolarCity Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

SolarCity Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2339 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1608 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay; Great People; Amazing Mission - this is a really great company to work for if you love Elon this is the place for you(in 100 reviews)

  • "mission-driven, collaborative culture, great people who truly want to do the right thing(in 95 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work/life balance, poor training(in 103 reviews)

  • "Sometimes you work late or long hours to accommodate customer schedules(in 77 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solar PV panel Installation and maintenance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience in solar PV panel. Project budgeting and estimation.

    Cons

    Low Salary. Low attention for employers.

    SolarCity2019-03-06
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Generation Specialist in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and people and flexibility

    Cons

    Low pay and poor middle management

    SolarCity2019-08-05
  3. "So much opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Surveyor in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tons of upward growth at the time. If you worked harder than others, you were recognized for it.

    Cons

    Hemorrhaging money left & right.

    SolarCity2019-07-16
  4. "Was great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Great place great people and atmosphere

    Cons

    The number of phone calls

    SolarCity2019-07-13
  5. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Specialist in Fontana, CA

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to work alone majority of the day

    Cons

    they use to retro our commission pay if a deal fell through on a consultant or install team

    SolarCity2019-07-23
  6. "Not enough money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Roseville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free soda and candy. Nice co-workers

    Cons

    no leadership and they were changing their focus way too much

    Advice to Management

    Too late. They closed the office

    SolarCity2019-07-14
  7. "If you're good at sales...maybe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    One of the things I really liked about working here was the flexibility. I also really liked the times where we had two people in-store. It could be really boring when customers keep ignoring you. Having more than one person at the kiosk brought some fun competition or just conversation about sales tactics.

    Cons

    I felt like it was managed very poorly. I don't feel like I was adequately prepared to chase people down the aisles or answer some of the questions they had for me. It also got really bad when management started changing how many leads you had to have in order to be in good standing.

    Advice to Management

    Prepare the staff more. A couple of people I started with quit immediately because they were under the impression we were doing something else.

    SolarCity2019-07-02
  8. "Poor Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Analysis in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good team and good people

    Cons

    bad leadership and bad time

    Advice to Management

    end the business

    SolarCity2019-07-20
  9. "High Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros for this position

    Cons

    Unrealistic numbers driven sales goals Promotions based on sales volume not people skills

    SolarCity2019-07-12
  10. "Strong sales culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Incentives are in line with overall goal of increasing gross sales

    Cons

    Lack of senior management guidance

    SolarCity2019-04-22
Found 2339 reviews