Toolstation Reviews

Updated 18 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Toolstation Managing Director James Mackenzie
James Mackenzie
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team, varied work day, staff discount, progression(in 9 reviews)

  • "20% discount on there products and in travis perkins companies(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "And a 10p rise of minimum wage wow(in 17 reviews)

  • "Clocking in, which has now has been abolished in Head office(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Friendly, good experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation part-time

    Pros

    Friendly place to work small team kind of family like good experience.

    Cons

    Shift patterns are not the greatest

    Toolstation2020-05-18
  2. "Bittersweet"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Store Assistant in Ormskirk, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Toolstation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful colleagues, variation of tasks/duties, variation of hours, oppurtunities to progress.

    Cons

    You have to be very mentally strong to work within this environment due to negative feedback and general nastiness from members of management.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2020-03-15

    Toolstation Response

    April 14, 2020Retail Director

    Hello, thank you for the review it's great to hear that you had some great colleagues to work with during your time with us, we really do pride ourselves on our positive and supportive teams. It does sound however that this wasn't always the case and this is certainly not the environment or behaviour that we encourage here. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Simon

  3. "Ok"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team in store to work with

    Cons

    During the current situation i feel its not been handled very well at all! Communication is very poor as customers are finding out things before staff, plus we were Promised a bonus and then near the end of the month get told holiday effects bonus, which feels a back handed way of getting out of paying for bonus as people would not of taken holidays and also staff who are trying their hardest to come in with childcare issues are not being thought of for the bonus either. Systems aren’t working so click and collect is a nightmare to process all while having bare minimum staff in store as 1 member in store to process all orders and run around and 1 member in the car park and it’s ridiculously busy! No support from upper management to help with this, feel really let down and very stressed!! I know a lot of staff in others stores will be wanting to leave the company when this is over as they are all experiencing the same.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2020-04-19
  4. "Busy"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative Contact Centre 

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work and the people are great

    Cons

    Busy and don’t let us off the phones much

    Toolstation2020-03-10
  5. "N"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time

    Pros

    There were no pros to this job

    Cons

    Everything about it was a con

    Toolstation2020-04-11
  6. Helpful (3)

    "No wonder they can keep prices low..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great customer service, great range of tools, fairly hygienic stores and good basic HSE/security. Career progression is fairly rapid (though not recommended).

    Cons

    The great customer service comes at the expense of the zero-hour contracts being abused and staff working insane hours for multiple reasons. The great range of tools is the work of a genuinly talented buying department, but purchased and sold economically off the back of rock-bottom wages for everybody from regional managers down. The HSE is fine though the security measures, while well drilled and great in theory, is actually a disaster in practice. For example, I once had a member of CSR staff get told to stay in the store *alone* for 4 (!) hours past end of a 16 hour shift just to wait for a late delivery. This was because, and I quote, 'the alarm system can't be re-activated twice in a night'. This is one among many horror stories of security being taken more seriously than employee safety.

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2020-04-06

    Toolstation Response

    April 14, 2020Retail Director

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to write your review. Our key area of focus is our people, and part of this is ensuring we're listening to feedback from both our current and former colleagues. We're working hard to listen to our team (both current and former) and address their suggestions; some of your specific feedback is concerning and certainly not what is expected at Toolstation and I'd be keen to understand more behind it so please feel free to contact me on glassdoor@toolstation.com Thanks once again, Simon

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toolstation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great progression within the business at all levels

    Cons

    Could be a bit boring during quiet times

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2020-02-17

    Toolstation Response

    April 14, 2020Retail Director

    Hello, thanks so much for writing your review. Great to hear that you could see the clear progression paths and opportunity for growth we provide throughout Toolstation. Many thanks Simon

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Toolstation"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Working with young people who are not interested in their stores

    Continue reading
    Toolstation2020-03-16

    Toolstation Response

    April 14, 2020Retail Director

    Hello, thank you for the review, and for taking the time to write it. It's important to me that we listen to our colleagues to really understand what is working and what's not working as well and this is a good platform for us to learn from. I can see that you're currently still working with us and that some of your feedback isn't positive, if you'd like to share more detail around this please do let me know on glassdoor@toolstation.com. Thanks again, Simon

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Growing with the times"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Journalist in Tonbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good communication between most levels of the buisness. Clear set goals and chances for personal growth. Varied team of people all working towards the same goal. Company open to new ideas to progress all areas of the buiness. All members of upper management are easily approachable and open to hear ideas and offer support

    Cons

    Wages are not as competitive as other similar businesses, however they're has been some great improvements on this. The IT department is holding the company back. Hours in store can be quite stretched at times especially with the new 8pm finishes.

    Toolstation2020-01-27

    Toolstation Response

    April 14, 2020Retail Director

    Hello, thank you for the review and the clear feedback around where you feel we're winning and the areas that need more focus. It's great to see that you've recognised the steps we are taking with regards pay, the work we are doing to understand the needs of the business to improve our operation and that people at all levels are approachable and open to listening to your ideas. We have had some challenges around IT, but I can assure you this is a huge focus for us in 2020, with a new IT Director focused on a strategy to ensure our infrastructure helps to enable us now and well into the future. Thanks again, Simon

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Supervisor in Tonbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly, pay is good, bonuses are good, great benefits, upper management are friendly and approachable and easy to talk too

    Cons

    12.5hour shifts if people are on holiday, open till 8 Monday to Friday now and Tech/IT are an on going issue technology in store needs serious upgrades/improvements

    Toolstation2020-01-19
Found 237 reviews