Turn Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Turn Reviews

Updated Feb 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 130 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Turn CEO Bruce Falck
Bruce Falck
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great convenience - close to Caltrain, free lunch 4 of 5 days(in 17 reviews)

  • "Was a great group of smart people(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "bad work life balance, launch very fast(in 9 reviews)

  • "Work can be hectic at times as clients are very demanding, but this should not scare you as this is normal in the ever changing world of ad-tech(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Junior Software Developer 

    I worked at Turn full-time

    Pros

    Good foundation to start with

    Cons

    Overworked most of the time

    Advice to Management

    Check on the work load

    Turn2019-02-03
  2. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Turn full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership with Bruce and excellent support team across the country. Great way to look at analytics and provide a consultative approach to the ad tech world.

    Cons

    Been around for so many years, but still struggling with some of the recent tech advancements that competitors have available. Need to be able to adapt faster.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the work on the right products and disregard those that are not effective in market. Excellent work on transparency throughout the company.

    Turn2018-04-17
  3. "A dynamic and good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Turn full-time

    Pros

    Very smart people, free lunch, good technology

    Cons

    The company is on to a new chapter

    Turn2018-02-09
  4. "Engaging work atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Intern - Hourly in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Turn

    Pros

    - Small company with lots of support from colleagues - Free lunch, good team building

    Cons

    - Confusing as an intern to learn business model of industry

    Turn2017-11-07
  5. "Not the greatest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Turn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not a lot to say

    Cons

    Very political organization, disorganized, with a distinct lack of technical leadership and vision

    Turn2017-11-03
  6. "Was great, with ups and downs, prior to Amobee acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operaitons in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Turn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was a great group of smart people Excellent technology and large supporting engineering team

    Cons

    Too many reorganizations decreased focus and consistency with clients Amobee acquisition pushed most people, culture, and focus on tech out of company strategy

    Turn2017-08-16
  7. "Turn was an amazing place to work, prior to the acquisition of Amobee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Turn full-time

    Pros

    Turn was an amazing company to work for (prior to the acquisition by Amobee). Despite the Ad Tech industry's dynamic and challenging nature, Turn always held strong with innovative and unique technology and especially smart and collaborative employees. The leadership under Bruce Falck was like no other - clear and focused with a vision, no nonsense, transparent, and most of all - caring. He understood the value of a... strong culture. Even with limited resources, every employee seemed to be driven towards the company's goals. Every department had their unique ways of adding value to the company. I consider myself very fortunate to have been able to experience life at Turn.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any growing tech company, resources were often limited.

    Turn2017-08-13
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Turn full-time

    Pros

    Good culture in certain offices, but that may be different post acquisition.

    Cons

    So many management changes that it's hard to see a clear strategy, especially after the acquisition.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and build the company from the bottom up, not the top down.

    Turn2017-08-26
  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Turn full-time

    Pros

    good colleagues, fun environment. good location

    Cons

    so many big competitors (like google), every now and then CEO gets changed, less stability

    Turn2017-07-23
  10. Helpful (4)

    "It was fun while it lasted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Turn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people. Simply put. They hired the cool, young attractive rockstars, we were all motivated. I remember the first day I joined and the interview process was sensational. They took the time to actually get everything done, we met our colleagues, our managers and got straight to work. It was the time they just raised Series E, and we all had a lot to look forward to . There was no politics, no drama, nothing, we... just did everything we could and it was the first time in almost a decade I could see I joined one of the best companies in the world. We had stolen so many engineers from Google and Facebook and we literally had it all. It was great while it lasted, like most fairy tales, everything must come to an end.

    Show More

    Cons

    Welp, - probably from the very top we started seeing the politics in its full force. We soon realized we were all not doing as well as we did before. I personally was sidelined with some silly projects and in constant battle with people for the stupidest things. We were completely out of whack and everybody was either trying to save their jobs or cover up. We had totally lost what we built. I still think to this day... that Turn had everything to succeed, we just didn't point the arrow in the right spot. It's interesting to see how success turns to disaster in such a short period of time. But having said that, as humans I strongly believe that if you actually are passionate about something, whether youre the SVP or the Peon Intern, you can make a difference. And that thought had failed miserably through the time as well. It has been 3 years since I had joined and worked there, i miss the good times but man when it got bad it was awful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Probably doesn't make much sense to advise now. Now that the acquisition completed, there were probably reasons for the way this story ended. I'd say to the new management team, please keep in mind what got Turn to where it did, and try to continue along that path. Keep the happy spirit, all of the great technology, interesting customers and just enjoy what you had.

    Turn2017-06-21
Found 130 reviews
</>Embed