USA TODAY Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

USA TODAY Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 157 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
USA TODAY CEO Paul Bascobert
Paul Bascobert
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, industry leading capabilities, chance to make a difference(in 9 reviews)

  • "Experienced reporters and editors who emphasize reporting(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wish editors assigned me more work(in 8 reviews)

  • "Upper management has no clue how to turn the brand around and is stacked with cronies of the CFO(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Don't bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Recognizable brand name to propel you to your next job.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is only afforded to a select few. They will bury you under work. Benefits are garbage. HR department is useless.

    Advice to Management

    Stop working your best and brightest to death, and stop allowing the suck-ups to fail upward.

    USA TODAY2019-09-16
  2. "Good base pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have extensive training and a good base pay for their Sales Executives.

    Cons

    The USA Today Network is owned by Gannett, which was recently bought by GateHouse Media. A lot of change is going on right now. Future seems good but uncertain.

    USA TODAY2019-08-09
  3. "Good experience, but lots of issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Audience Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great people, great building, great salad bar

    Cons

    lay off people to make shareholder profits. They say journalism is important but it's really all about money.

    USA TODAY2019-08-02
  4. "Big focus on Diversity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at USA TODAY full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    company's focus on hiring diverse talent -- opportunity to join ERGs -- career growth through internal promotions -- comprehensive benefits package -- work-life balance is truly valued here --

    Cons

    lots of change - it's not for everyone but that's part of being in this industry

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating to the employees. Set expectations accordingly.

    USA TODAY2019-07-19
  5. "Overall a great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, flexible work from home environment - the people! coworkers/ team made it hard to leave

    Cons

    constant articles and bids for the company gets frustrating, pick a CEO ASAP

    USA TODAY2019-07-19
  6. "Great Teamwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USA TODAY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work with smart, engaged people in a fun environment

    Cons

    Industry is changing, so some uncertainty

    Advice to Management

    Communicate

    USA TODAY2019-07-17
  7. "Amazing Culture and Valued Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USA TODAY full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The overall team culture is amazing. - We're basically a family - My work is valued here, and I genuinely feel like I'm making an impact for employees.

    Cons

    - We're a small team with an ever-growing amount of work to accomplish, it gets overwhelming.

    USA TODAY2019-07-17
  8. "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to gain a variety of skillsets. Must be able to fit in.

    Cons

    Basically, if you don't fit in with their team you'll get laid off, and not give an explanation as to why. Not appreciative of diversity. With that, it makes the work load so much harder. Very difficult to ask questions when getting ignored.

    Advice to Management

    clean house.

    USA TODAY2019-07-19
  9. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in La Palma, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USA TODAY full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed my job and employees I worked with.

    Cons

    Print media is going away

    USA TODAY2019-04-24

    USA TODAY Response

    July 16, 2019

    Thank you for your review! We reach millions of people every week through a vast portfolio of digital, mobile and print products across our extensive family of brands. In addition, Reach Local is an outstanding digital marketing company focused on helping local small and medium-sized ...

    Show More
  10. "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President of Sales 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USA TODAY full-time

    Pros

    Great people, industry leading capabilities, chance to make a difference

    Cons

    Declining print results in "right sizing"

    USA TODAY2019-04-22
Found 157 reviews