Upwork Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Upwork Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
Upwork President and CEO Hayden Brown
Hayden Brown
0 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "Yes, their decision to merge Elance and odesk was disputable a bit, but I think the company will be better soon(in 7 reviews)

  • "Lot of freelancer looking for jobs as you(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Chandigarh
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Upwork full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good company and its environment They provide lots of benefits and no one pressuring to you for work

    Cons

    Nothings about to say for company.

    Continue reading
    Upwork2019-12-04
  2. "Human Resource Manager with multi-Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Chandigarh
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Upwork part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This was my first place achieved in my professional , learned here good and now want to grow best one.

    Cons

    First time I couldn't accomplished do proposal but I have done good management.

    Continue reading
    Upwork2019-05-22
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Stay away all employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Upwork full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ambience is good, but management is very bad.

    Cons

    1, Full pressure to employee 2. The management is abusive to its employer 3, They even send emails at night for urgent fixes, so very bad work life balance 4. No salary hikes

    Continue reading
    Upwork2017-08-26
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Nonsense, unprofessional, monopoly, high charging, irresponsible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager in Calcutta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Upwork full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects posted almost every day

    Cons

    Suddenly they deactivated my account. On being asked, they said my profile does not match with the skills set I have mentioned. I am asked to provide certificate for all the skills. I mean who the hell on earth have indivitual certificate on CSS, HTML, AJAX, JQUERY. I kept on requesting what kind of certificate will you be accepting. On reply they said, account is permanently suspended and cannot be reinstated. I then created another account with a different email address and set up my account with all the possible information to be correct to my knowledge. But on submission of my first proposal, they reverted with a message that they reviewed my account and due to some upwork policy violation, my account is suspended permanently. I appeared for 4 skill test just before posting my first proposal. I mean they should have pointed out the violated policy to me so that I can understand and correct that immediately. I called up on their US number and had a conversation with an too old lady who can hardly speak a sentence in a minute. She just checked the ticked number and said that she do not have any information about this and will TRY to get further information but do not COMMIT anything. I MEAN ARE YOU SERIOUS, GONE OUT OF MIND. What kind of support and account behavior is this, I really do not understand.

    Continue reading
    Upwork2017-05-18
  5. "Most Amazing & Mission Driven Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Trainer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upwork full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing perks, benefits, culture, training, career development, and mission

    Cons

    No downsides, I love going to work every day

    Upwork2020-01-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Growth within the company driven primarily by loyalty (vs merit)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Upwork full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upwork's mission (To create economic opportunities so people have better lives) was great if it followed properly! The work environment was nice before.

    Cons

    Middle-tier management layer in Chicago needs a complete revamp. Top people are leaving the company due to stifling/suffocating work environment. The mid-level managers in Sales and Finance are looking for yes persons. They are hiring and promoting people not based on merit but on loyalty. Healthy disagreements and logical discussions are shut down and counted against you.

    Continue reading
    Upwork2020-02-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Chicago office has no idea what they are doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Upwork full-time

    Pros

    free breakfast and free lunch

    Cons

    the Chicago office has no direction, continue to not be able to deliver on promises, constantly change parameters, fire people left and right, and have quite a few spineless managers. all you have to do is take a look at upwork's stock price to understand what type of company it is. they do not care about their employees at all and are extremely two-faced.

    Upwork2020-02-11
  8. "A Changing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Sales Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Upwork full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Work life balance (depending on the team) - Great mission - Interesting business concept

    Cons

    - Culture changed for the worse after IPO - Product team is not very innovative and has not had a lot of recent wins - Lots of turnover on Marketing team

    Upwork2020-01-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upwork full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, great team, meaningful vision

    Cons

    too many levels which are inefficient

    Upwork2019-10-29
  10. Helpful (24)

    "Going downhill - No longer what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Upwork full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Used to be an outstanding place to work. Has great benes, comp package, etc. People used to be considered part of the equation and that meant a lot. They have a great vision, mission and value set, but it needs to be followed down the organization. The LT seems to be intentional and well-meaning, but they don't see what's really occurring in the trenches.

    Cons

    -Managers that care about dollars and not people, nor service -Remote employees are minimized and not given opportunity for growth like others that are onsite, which goes against their core values. -Process development was seen as "cookie cutter" vs. building for scaling the organization -The orgs live in silos, no cross-communication -often moving forward with work that is either being done twice or worse, contradictory -Sales & delivery do not work well together

    Continue reading
    Upwork2019-07-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 171 reviews