Upwork Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Upwork Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Upwork CEO Stephane Kasriel
Stephane Kasriel
83 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Il y a beaucoup de concurrence avec les autres freelancers(in 15 reviews)

  • "Yes, their decision to merge Elance and odesk was disputable a bit, but I think the company will be better soon(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Human Resource Manager with multi-Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Chandigarh
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Upwork part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    This was my first place achieved in my professional , learned here good and now want to grow best one.

    Cons

    First time I couldn't accomplished do proposal but I have done good management.

    Advice to Management

    I thought that every Organization need two thing. Budget and business planned . In two points for he can management every thing but here we are talking best business result benefits. An organization have great abilities in special storm-place, grow best leading ,Listener . Top performer do create passionate about it

    Upwork2019-05-22
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away all employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Upwork full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Ambience is good, but management is very bad.

    Cons

    1, Full pressure to employee 2. The management is abusive to its employer 3, They even send emails at night for urgent fixes, so very bad work life balance 4. No salary hikes

    Advice to Management

    You should be regretting for the pressure you are putting on your employers

    Upwork2017-08-26
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Nonsense, unprofessional, monopoly, high charging, irresponsible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager in Calcutta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Upwork full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Interesting projects posted almost every day

    Cons

    Suddenly they deactivated my account. On being asked, they said my profile does not match with the skills set I have mentioned. I am asked to provide certificate for all the skills. I mean who the hell on earth have indivitual certificate on CSS, HTML, AJAX, JQUERY. I kept on requesting what kind of certificate will you be accepting. On reply they said, account is permanently suspended and cannot be reinstated. I then...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In return of a higher fee please have some professional attitude and responsibility sense.

    Upwork2017-05-18
  4. "Keep Pushing to Work without Limits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Upwork full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I truly believe in the total market capacity/opportunity, strategy of growth and the barriers of entry make this an attractive company. The problems are large and complex. The people are mostly amazing, smart and kind. The work life balance is great. Work from home Wed cannot go understated. There is quite a bit of pressure on growth, like any company, and it can both be discouraging and challenging to hit, but leadership...

    Show More

    Cons

    This is more of anecdotal experience but when a specific group experiences more churn it is difficult in fairness when you have multiple times changes to your reporting structure. While the 360 reviews is meant to handle such situations, it may not be adequate. Mentorship then is lacking, or your YMMV depending if you aggressive enough to find somebody to look out for you. Even if with a mentor, the development can be...

    Show More
    Upwork2019-05-01
  5. "Culture, Vision, Learning, and Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Director in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Upwork full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Upwork has a great culture driving everything. The culture is very aligned with the vision of the company and what it does. You can see the impact of your day to day work literally on millions of users. Working at Upwork provides you with a great balance between work and life.

    Cons

    Not a surprise in silicon valley tech companies. The product strategy is not always aligned with business strategy. They somehow manage to pull it off at the end of the day.

    Upwork2019-04-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Get vaules, benefits, and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Upwork full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I loved working at Upwork and would recommend as a great place to work. The HR team really cares about benefits.

    Cons

    Upwork is very top heavy and managers get cc'd on all communications which prevent a lot of employee empowerment.

    Upwork2019-04-08
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Upwork full-time

    Pros

    Working at home is the best part

    Cons

    No growth is really available

    Upwork2019-04-04
  8. "Great company mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Billing Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Upwork full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great company culture many start people

    Cons

    As a manager in Finance, you are expected to work many hrs beyond "normal"

    Advice to Management

    Don't micromanage, a little "true" empathy would be good.

    Upwork2019-04-04
  9. "Exciting but Siloed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Payment Operations Manager in Mountain View, CA

      I have been working at Upwork full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Good company growth and good benefits

      Cons

      siloed departments makes collaboration difficult

      Upwork2019-03-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work with smart motivated people and still have a great work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in Mountain View, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Upwork full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Smart talented people with almost no typical workplace politics. Flexible hours and unlimited PTO make it so you can actually enjoy some time off work. I also really like the company mission and the direction the company is going in after going IPO last year.

      Cons

      Would not mind some better lunch options but they are not bad. because of company growth, it is very busy right now, this is not really a bad thing but it can be stressful.

      Upwork2019-02-11
    Found 150 reviews