Waitrose Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,714 of over 4K reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Waitrose Chairman Sharon White
Sharon White
111 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible overtime great benefits good pay(in 402 reviews)

  • "John Lewis/Waitrose are such a great company to work for(in 216 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes short staffed(in 88 reviews)

  • "Most new contracts are part time(in 67 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Na

      21 Apr 2021 - Executive Assistant in Na-Duar
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to be mostly.

      Cons

      There is not any. Its great

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      20 Apr 2018 - Programmer Analyst in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is moderate compared to other companies

      Cons

      So busy, working until midnight everyday, I have no love and social life

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Bog standard min wage supermarket job

      18 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most people they hire are intelligent and friendly. Also you could be lucky with more understanding and caring managers at some locations.

      Cons

      It's still a corporation with an attitude of a corporation, despite all the talk of "partnership". Compulsory weekend shifts for everyone and if you are part time that equals every single weekend, and you have to pick all the dates for your next year's holiday within a 2-3 week window a year in advance. Boring and bureacratic "partner development meetings" with managers where you have to prove that you've grown and improved at doing your job(while you were stacking shelves and working the checkouts, basically box ticking exercise and a PITA both for managers and colleauges in my opinion)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      17 Jun 2021 - Supermarket Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good pay, good staff discount, polite staff

      Cons

      repetitive duties and short breaks

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Its not as amazing as you think it would be

      9 Jun 2021 - Sales Assistant in Oxford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The pay is great i was on £8.20 to begin with and raised up to £9.60 in just over a year whilst only working weekends. - good food in cafeteria

      Cons

      - poor management they act differently and care less about you being younger they do nothing but sit around and talk about each other. - you get absolutely no holidays i had to book my June 2020 holiday in October 2019 when of course i dont know what im doing that far away. - i was given 0 training by a member of management and was trained by a part timer who left in a week of me working there. - employees are rude and will talk behind your back so be careful with what you say.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Careless

      13 Jun 2021 - Waitrose Supermarket Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had the flexibility to exclusively work early morning shifts

      Cons

      Soulless management who have no regard for personal wellbeing, worst of all they refused to fire somebody who regularly used racial slurs towards minority employees. The offending worker received a 2 week suspension and was 'demoted' to work on the shop floor instead of at the bakery. An absolutely foul old man who made people feel unsafe and uncared for at work. The management truly didn't care, instead they were considerably more interested in getting people to sign onto taking up extra hours. I wasn't fond of the general work ethic either, as a university student on a temp contract I'd be given the worst tasks whilst many employers contributed very, very little, if anything at all to the general operation of the branch. Presenteeism was rife and I quickly caught onto the fact that looking busy mattered considerably more to the management than being productive - after all there was always more work to do.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Never again.

      14 Jun 2021 - Retail Assistant in Vauxhall, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only pros I can think of when working for Waitrose is the discount and bonus..that is if we get one that year!

      Cons

      Management pick and choose the people they want to move up by who they are sleeping with, I’ve been sexually harassed by elder males when I was only new to the job at 19, never will get taken seriously. I would never let anyone I care about work in such a unhealthy atmosphere! Disgusting!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Well Managed

      16 Jun 2021 - Supermarket Assistant in Southsea, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good and patient management - Help always available when you need it - Pleasant atmosphere

      Cons

      Some jobs might seem tedious but that would happen in many supermarket jobs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Treat you well but low-key passive aggressive

      16 Jun 2021 - Replenishment Associate in Storrington, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      not that bad for a first job

      Cons

      but the people who have been there a while like to make you look stupid without reason.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Waitrose

      17 Jun 2021 - Waitrose Supermarket Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is really friendly and work isn't hard

      Cons

      Customers could sometime be hard work, but is part of the job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,714 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Waitrose Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Waitrose? Share Your Experiences

    Waitrose logo
    or