YRC Freight Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

YRC Freight Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 524 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
YRC Freight CEO TJ O’Connor
TJ O’Connor
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and benefits cant complain(in 44 reviews)

  • "Decent Pay, Great company paid benefits(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "The workers can be tough to manage with little support from upper management(in 29 reviews)

  • "Expect long hours with barely or below average pay(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Some Pros, lots of Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Maybrook, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at YRC Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary is decent, raise every 6 months for the first 18 months. Due to having high turnover your job is never in jeopardy.

    Cons

    12 hour shifts that rotate very frequently, high turnover for both dock men and supervisors, dealing with the elements so extremely cold in the winter and extremely hot during the summers, always working more days than contracted to, lack of leadership, most importantly lack of trailers for a trucking company. Use this company as a stepping stool and nothing more

    YRC Freight2019-06-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Biller in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Freight full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, people are friendly and the company is very good.

    Cons

    Only a couple day time jobs and 90% night shift.

    Advice to Management

    Give more daytime to employees.

    YRC Freight2019-05-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No rest for the weary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Haul Driver in Copley, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay, good medical, dental and vision.

    Cons

    Forget about the pension. It's going broke.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid if as#hole dispatchers!@

    YRC Freight2019-05-06
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Truck Driver in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good medical, great equipment, good pay, good coworkers.

    Cons

    Long days, little time at home, old equipment.

    Advice to Management

    None

    YRC Freight2019-05-03
  5. "Best Health insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - P&D Truck Driver in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Freight full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    YRC freight has the best health insurance. YRC is a union carrier with union benefits.

    Cons

    Pay per hour on paper is not as high as other LTL carriers. You factor in the insurance which is no cost to you, your average is about $32 an hour

    Advice to Management

    Talk to my Union rep! No problems with management at all.

    YRC Freight2019-04-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth working hwre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The jobs ok. Jobs easy.

    Cons

    A lot of favoritism. Long hours.

    YRC Freight2019-05-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It's ok for some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver/Docl in Toledo, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at YRC Freight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Medical Benifits are great.

    Cons

    Not enough Pay per hour

    Advice to Management

    Do the right thing.

    YRC Freight2019-04-30
  8. "It is ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Dock Worker 

      I worked at YRC Freight full-time

      Pros

      Pay and that it is Union

      Cons

      Cold and wet winters with slick docks

      YRC Freight2019-04-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Really have no complaints at the moment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operations Trainee in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at YRC Freight part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The starting pay is good, and you learn a lot really fast.

      Cons

      There's a lot of responsibility in the position, so be prepared to handle the stress.

      YRC Freight2019-04-04
    • Helpful (3)

      "Huge waste of my time!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Casual Combo P & D Driver in Sherman, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at YRC Freight part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      There were no pros for me.

      Cons

      I was sold a dream that if I worked hard & did well, I would be hired on full time within a month. Then I was discriminated against & kept on as a casual driver, being treated like a door matt & used as a floater or given the crappy runs that senior drivers didn’t want. Very poorly managed & their equipment is extremely raggedy & unsafe. Now I know why companies hate Unions. It breeds laziness, kills productivity, & ruins...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hold ALL drivers accountable. Don’t allow union members & senior drivers to use their “seniority” to mismanage the daily workload. Put some checks & balances in place to ensure that casual drivers are hired on based on their actual performance & not a buddy system.

      YRC Freight2019-05-11
    Found 524 reviews