Aetna Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Aetna Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Aetna CEO Mark T. Bertolini
Mark T. Bertolini
1,271 Ratings
Pros
  • "There was an opportunity to work from home and there was an employee blog site(in 467 reviews)

  • "The work-life balance is just fantastic as you can work from home or go into the office(in 191 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "It’s good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aetna

    Pros

    It make me to feel very comfort while doing this job.

    Cons

    It’s depends upon the time and your mood swings,so there’s no particular reason.

    Advice to Management

    Management must take care of the employees and make them feel more comfort,keep supporting them and they must know each and everything about the people out there and never make them feel done.

    Aetna2019-07-04
  2. "business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Aetna full-time

    Pros

    best company in health care domain

    Cons

    not in my tenure i have found any cons

    Aetna2019-09-12
  3. "Program analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Aetna full-time

    Pros

    Work at home network abilities

    Cons

    Work life balance an issue

    Advice to Management

    Too much wastage in smaller teams

    Aetna2016-11-01
  4. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aetna

    Pros

    Strong company culture at the top, CEO really tried to drive change

    Cons

    Fragmented culture across geographies all over the country

    Advice to Management

    Standardize culture across geographies in the US

    Aetna2016-10-14
  5. "Arch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Enterprise Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aetna

    Pros

    Very friendly environment to work

    Cons

    No issue everything is postive

    Aetna2015-05-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 

    I have been working at Aetna full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and work life balance.

    Cons

    Company outsources many positions regularly.

    Aetna2019-11-08
  7. "Good but some underlying issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Denver, CO

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Denver office is great and full of smart forward thinking engineers. Feel challenged and appreciated by great management team.

    Cons

    A lot of the core services for aetna business we depend on are really bad and cause a lot of downtime and interruption in the development workflow

    Advice to Management

    Fix your core infrastructure ASAP as it is the heart break of all good engineers

    Aetna2019-11-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Utilization Review Nurse in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Big company, great benefits, fair pay.

    Cons

    Constant change. Senior Management really does not understand what we do.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the knowledge of your employees.

    Aetna2019-11-03
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Aetna has an amazing level of diversity (ethnic and women). This diversity can be viewed through all levels of ranking. It is one of the few companies I have worked for where I forget I am a minority when I walk through the doors. Inclusion is important at Aetna and exercised in a way that is unparalleled. Differences are embraced. Collaboration between business units is noteworthy. The company also offers... flexible schedules for employees at all levels. The organization is constantly observing a program or staff achievement that equates into some type internal celebration. A majority of employees are offered some level of remote working if desired. Bonuses are very equitable and can make up for lower than market starting salaries.

    Show More

    Cons

    Health care benefits are VERY expensive. This is quite an irony. Pay scales fall outside of industry standards. ASK FOR THE MONEY AND VACATION TIME UP FRONT! Annual salary increases are minuscule. In addition, you will be offered only 2 weeks of starting vacation if you do not negotiate during the interview process. There are no programs aimed towards career growth and upward mobility. You must be your own... advocate for career growth. There are individuals that have worked in the same career for over 20 years. This is common at Aetna. Opportunities exist. It will be up to you to find and pursue them. CVS has acquired Aetna which could completely eradicate the amazing culture that currently exists. Depending on the office location, some offices are at full capacity and therefore have limited seating. This can result in leaders working from cubicles.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work to protect the positive cultural benefits employees have enjoyed at legacy Aetna (prior to CVS acquisition) such as diversity, inclusion, on site celebrations and recognitions.

    Aetna2019-10-09
  10. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good at providing bonuses and they work with you and your family

    Cons

    shift changing every 6 months, can be hard but sometimes it could work. Hard to move forward in a position if your interviewing skills are not good even if you have shown your hard work.

    Aetna2019-10-30
Found 2482 reviews