BNOTIONS Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

BNOTIONS Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
BNOTIONS CEO Paul Crowe
Paul Crowe
10 Ratings
  1. "Fast paced environment with great learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNOTIONS full-time

    Pros

    - Great organization focused on products. - The team here is comprised of talented people who care about building great experiences. - The culture here is exceptional, it's fast paced and transparent. - The clients bring a wide variety of problems to the table, you don't get bored. - Casual atmosphere, with great office space and benefits. - Freedom for anyone to suggest changes and improvements to process and delivery. - Leadership is honest and demanding.

    Cons

    - The fast paced environment means you have to burn the midnight oil from time to time. - Client problems are complex and requires a lot of dedication to solve them. - A fast growing company learning how to scale as a team.

    Continue reading
    BNOTIONS2016-06-28
  2. "Great place for learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNOTIONS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Great talents and people. I can't emphasize enough on this • Every project is unique and has it's own challenges. You will notice your growth at end/during each project. • Company is keep evolving for better. • There are lots of opportunities for people who are proactive.

    Cons

    • Changing dynamics may be too much for some. • Some projects have tight deadlines and managing your own time is key. • Process keeps evolving. You must be willing to embrace and be proactive about this to survive.

    BNOTIONS2016-04-11
  3. "obviously incredible people, surprisingly interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNOTIONS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - the projects come from all industries and cross a number of different challenges which keeps life interesting. - fun team - company vacation - Lots of experienced, bright, and enthusiastic people to learn from and work with - Wednesday lunches, company events, Friday drinks

    Cons

    - the odd weekend or evening work is required to get things out on time - spend more on sending people to conferences and learning opportunities

    Continue reading
    BNOTIONS2016-04-11
  4. "Great place to work with lots of talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNOTIONS full-time

    Pros

    - Exciting work - Projects/products vary so you are exposed to lots of different clients and industries - Smaller Product Management team means you can take on a lot (if you like a challenge) - Teams are very talented - Friendly, welcoming culture - Shared sense of responsibility + feeling of being on a team

    Cons

    - Fewer opportunities for mentorship/growth - but you can still learn a lot from your co-workers - The perks (and quirks) may not be very everyone

    BNOTIONS2016-04-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Rude, Horrible, Amateur, Dumb Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at BNOTIONS

    Pros

    OMG, what a rude , dumb technical management. Knows nothing but has a stone face. Have never come across people who act like dictators.

    Cons

    Stay away . There are tons of other places to work.

    Continue reading
    BNOTIONS2016-05-06
  6. "Great Place to work, awesome people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BNOTIONS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at BNOTIONS. Great People and awesome projects.Free coffee, lots of snacks. Great work.

    Cons

    Benefits policy not great.

    Continue reading
    BNOTIONS2016-03-31
  7. "Fast moving, sometimes zig-zagging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BNOTIONS for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Great projects - Great learning - Great perks

    Cons

    - Unpredictable things would happen more often than not (you would expect that when working with clients to solve their problems). - High turnover (though, new people were always coming in to replace the ones going out). - Sometimes distracting (it was an open office, so quiet moments were sometimes hard to come by).

    Continue reading
    BNOTIONS2016-03-30
  8. "Always Growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNOTIONS

    Pros

    - Extremely talented & fun people all around - Very interesting projects - Kickass process and efficient workflows - Full and well managed pipeline (didn't use to be the case, but a lot has changed for the better) - Strong leadership team (another change for the better from the past) - Vast growth opportunity for skills (just need to speak up to be heard) - Great perks with free Wed lunch, bfast etc. - Fun environment with video games, ping pong etc. - Work life balance is good (another significant change from the past). Obviously if you slack during the day, you might need to finish stuff at night... so don't slack!

    Cons

    - Unique culture where individuals who are self starts / motivators seem to be a better fit. No one here will map out a path for you, you need to map it out yourself and the company will help guide you get there. Maybe this is also a pro for the company? - Role title / 'promotions' are not given out frequently due to flat structure. Personally, this doesn't really matter to me because the skills growth potential greatly outweighs title changes for me. - No pension

    Continue reading
    BNOTIONS2016-03-29
  9. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BNOTIONS full-time

    Pros

    Get the opportunity to work on diverse projects in different industries. Challenges are fresh, and learning new technologies to solve problems is fun.

    Cons

    You're not working on a project for more than 6 months. This can be good or bad (depends on your perspective really)

    Continue reading
    BNOTIONS2016-03-28
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to work, tough to advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BNOTIONS full-time

    Pros

    If you manage to get hired, you'll be working with smart people who have high standards. It's a really fun workplace with dedicated people and you'll likely learn a lot. As an engineer I got my fair share of cool projects, and certainly would recommend working here if you think you have what it takes. The culture is top notch and among the best in Toronto, you'll enjoy working here without a doubt. Management is competent and doesn't get in your way. I haven't had a bad encounter with anybody and overall they do a good job. In short, I believe this is an ideal workplace for intermediate to early senior level engineers.

    Cons

    Like most other places I've worked, most of the perceived problems lie in management, though in this case it's not your usual problems. Management has it's fair share of nepotism, and due to this it can be very difficult to move up in the company. There also seems to be a fair bit of instability in terms of employment, though if you prove yourself to be useful you probably don't need to worry. However if you stop being useful you can and will be removed. The founders seem to be preoccupied with their second start-up, Gallop Labs, so I don't know how much they truly care about BNOTIONS at this point. Despite these things BNOTIONS is still a great place to work. Unless you're looking for very long term employment, this company is still a strong contender.

    Continue reading
    BNOTIONS2015-05-13
Found 39 reviews