Bandwidth Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 208 of over 224 reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Bandwidth Co-Founder and CEO David Morken
David Morken
154 Ratings
Pros
  • "Awesome work-life balance and flexibility(in 25 reviews)

  • "Fun and friendly culture, great benefits and perks, great values(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There are no cons to working at Bandwidth(in 19 reviews)

  • "The upper management is a good ol boy network(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Bandwidth is a great place to work!

      26 May 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bandwidth has some of the most genuinely nice people I have ever met. It doesn't matter what department you are in, everyone is friendly and willing to help. If you want to stay at Bandwidth, Bandwidth will help you get to where you want in your career. I've never had a manager be so helpful and committed to helping me move to another position not in the same dept, They are always focused in your career growth and willing to help you get to where you want AS LONG as you put in the work. This is not a company you can slack off and expect to get promoted. From day 1, it was made VERY clear that we would return back to the office. Yes, it may be a little sooner than people expected but this has always been the plan. Enough employees are vaccinated, this is as good of a time than ever.

      Cons

      When covid was at its worst, I think the covid response could have been handled better. Employees lead by example and I think the CEO let his personal beliefs get in the way of a proper response. Despite what other reviews may say, the CEO does not push his personal beliefs on anyone. Any prayer he does, he acknowledges that you don't have to participate if you don't want to. I am not a religious person by any means and this does not bother me or offend me.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Bandwidth Response

      Thank you for your feedback.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great benefits and culture!

      30 May 2021 - Manager in Tallahassee, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Benefits are great for those with families. -Varies by team but mine has been incredibly flexible -Many are complaining about the return to office but most companies in triangle are asking the same if their employees. We are not a remote working company as seen by the collaborative new campus that is being built. Some are productive at home and others aren’t. Part of our responsibilities as colleagues is to bring everyone up together so that we may all be productive. Those who are only concerned about their own progress and efficiency probably don’t fit in to the Bandwidth culture which is fine. Other jobs in triangle are available but always know the grass always seems greener on the other side. -PTO just increased for everyone at the company who had less than five years of service!

      Cons

      -We are still a growing company and as such still experience growing pains. Systems are not always aligned and late nights are sometimes required to deal with issues. -Information does not get passed around as well as it could be. -Benefits such as the 90 minute workout lunch sound great, but most of the time it’s hard to fit that in especially in a management role. Would rather have a fitness subsidy or something that we can use on our own time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bandwidth Response

      Thank you for your feedback. We know salaries are changing rapidly in our region, so we use extensive data to keep our salaries as competitive as possible. In addition, our Whole Person Promise provides industry-leading benefits to give Bandmates meaningful work plus a full life.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      These people really care!

      16 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Every manager I've had very much cares about your personal and career development. They really want you to succeed and grow within the company. 2. The culture is generally great and I'll have memories that last a lifetime with some co-workers. I am grateful for a company that does embrace the in person culture post-vaccines. 3. Your voice matters. Speaking to your manager & people services manager, candidly, actually gets you places!

      Cons

      1. Salaries can be somewhat on the lower side. You generally could paid more at a larger company. 2. Unfortunately, I am not a fan of how the CEO handled covid during earlier stages. There was a push, by the CEO, to get people back in the office 6 months before vaccines were available to the general public. This never panned out as cases were rising significantly during that time period. 3. We are all back in the office now and there's no way to know if everyone you work with is vaccinated.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bandwidth Response

      Thank you for your feedback. We recognize salaries are changing rapidly in our region and we're making adjustments to stay competitive.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Pay Attention.

      15 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits NC State amenities Room to grow

      Cons

      Low Pay Micro Management Toxic Culture (Boys Club) Lack of Diversity Pay attention to the critical reviews as well as the copied and pasted canned responses no doubt by the People Services team. The cons/reviews are consistent, low pay with zero flexibility with high expectations of work and delivery with no return. You may get a recognition email and a $25 Amazon gift card if nominated by your peers. COVID response was horrible. Being 300 percent candid is not a real thing. Management will pull you aside if you give professional feedback and chastise for your response. All of operations are being overworked, underpaid, and undertrained. Devs are underpaid and not given the necessary tools to succeed. People are leaving at an alarming rate. Constant reorganization happening around different departments. The Whole Person Promise looks good on paper but employees know the truth and this last year showed exactly where commitments stand.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bandwidth Response

      Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear your experience was not positive.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A Company Showing it’s Issues

      2 Jun 2021 - Senior Manager in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, especially if you are starting a family. In my experience the majority of the employees are very nice people. The workout lunch benefit is great.

      Cons

      When I started at Bandwidth three years ago I thought it’d be the place I retire. After going through how the company has handled COVID though I see how some things that didn’t bother me much when I started have big impacts on the company’s trajectory and it’s employees now. Unfortunately it mostly seems to come directly from the CEO. Most of the other reviews here are true. They reluctantly let us work from home. They pushed people to come back to the office. They sent weekly and daily emails advertising free lunch for people that came in. We got emails about people with COVID attending company events. They required all employees to come into the office June 2nd with no rules for mask wearing, vaccinations, etc. The CEO did say if you don’t want to come in then than it might not be the company for you. It breaks my heart. On top of all of this the actual product and teams are split between being a telecom network or being a software platform and many competitors have outpaced us because of it.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Bandwidth Response

      Thank you for your feedback. Our unique culture is built on the close collaboration and creative energy of working in person. That’s why we’re building a new headquarters campus with great amenities to continue growing in a culture of being together. We encourage Bandmates to reach out to their manager or People Services to address special circumstances.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing place

      18 May 2021 - National Account Executive in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bandwidth is an amazing place to work. The management works with you to help you grow and succeed both at work and as a human being. There are so many ways to grow your career at Bandwidth within. I have been promoted twice, about to be a third, and I have been here a little over three years. Everyone is 300% candid and Bandwidth supports that. We are made up of different races, cultures, backgrounds, etc. But all have the same mission, crush every day. We have executive-level team members who have and are doing everything they can to bring us back into the office safely and effectively. Don't listen to these reviews that talk about politics being in the office and you can't be a free thinker. Bandwidth is not a politically driven climate, we are a mission-driven climate that allows personal life to be discussed and talked about in a healthy way!

      Cons

      - Just like everywhere else in this world, there are a lot of cry babies. People not wanting to come back into the office even though we have been WFH for over a year. Bandwidth is not a WFH company and never will be which is AWESOME! - Typical cry babies have expressed their opinions to Bandwidth management and have quit left and right about returning to the office. Good, let them leave while the BAND continues to crush the mission!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Bandwidth Response

      Thank you for your feedback.

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Working with Bandwidth brings you an amazing culture (and benefits) with people who really do want you to succeed.

      11 Jun 2021 - Business Development Representative in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent benefits (100% medical and dental), 90 minute work out lunch with free gym membership, fun sales events and company events for spirit and culture. The marketing team is truly helpful beyond belief in attributing to your sales success with resources, messaging, tailored campaigns etc. Bandwidth is full of quality employees and formed many friends outside of just coworkers that will last. The BDR team is separate from the SDR team - more of a half step up dealing with “strategic” prospects at a higher caliber than the smaller prospects & deal size SDRs work with.

      Cons

      Not work from home flexible, on the BDR team there seemed to be less attention and resources to help you succeed or move up internally compared to the SDR team

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Bandwidth Response

      Thank you for your feedback.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company with glaring issues

      18 May 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture of this company is great and its fun to work here. I haven't had many issues with people here as well. The benefits are really good especially if you have a family. Great place to work right after college!!

      Cons

      It is true, people are leaving the company and I can see/understand why. This is coming from someone who pre pandemic, wanted to retire at Bandwidth, however seeing what's out there is quite eye opening. From compensation to benefits & even culture, companies are offering more and more while Bandwidth is way behind. Its telling when a good portion of the workforce needs to have a roommate to be able to afford living in the area. Then we have the working in office full time deal. I understand the stance on the situation but at least compensate more if your going that route. Plenty of companies are offering 30-40k more for the same role which most would be okay with working in the office then. But then other companies are offering remote work with higher pay as well, what would you choose when looking for employment. This is a great gig for those right out of college as most of the employees are 3-4 years into their careers. If you are not in upper management however it would be hard pressed to make a decent living.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Showing it's cracks more than ever

      24 May 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Definitely plenty of room for growth for Software Engineers, but have to take control of your own success (don't rely on them to promote / pay more on their own and know your market-rate) Benefits geared towards those with family or just starting out. Great co-workers up and down the management chain.

      Cons

      No real structured mentor-ship programs to grow your career or salary. Pay is low compared to other companies in the area and Bandwidth does a poor job of retaining talent as devs quickly realized their under payed after 2 years or so. A big focus on benefits instead of salary so do the math to see if it's worth it for your situation. The shared prayers before all-hands and bible quotes throughout the hallway are awkward if you're not into that lifestyle. No work flexibility and generally a poor COVID response. They're losing talent now and doubled down on the "no remote work" instead of listening to employees.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      Bandwidth Response

      Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to building a Band made up of people from a wide variety of experiences, cultures, races, identities, ages, and abilities. We know salaries are changing rapidly in our region, so we use extensive data to keep our salaries as competitive as possible. In addition, our Whole Person Promise provides industry-leading benefits to give Bandmates meaningful work plus a full life.

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Upper management lies, doesn't care about employees wellbeing

      2 Jun 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Good healthcare * Decent culture * Work life balance * Gym benefit

      Cons

      The CEO acts like he cares about employees but doesn't. True colors were shown during the pandemic. At the height of it, he told employees to come into the office and to not be paralyzed by fear, and to "trust him." In other words, put your health and safety beneath the company's goals. In all hands meetings throughout the pandemic, we were told a balance would be found between remote and in office post-pandemic. Recently, this was mandated to be 100% in office. Aside from the covid botching: * Some codebases have a ton of tech debt that is not prioritized * Bandmates are told to be "300% candid" but it's more of a meme. Management is never 300% candid and sometimes speaks through so many wiggle words you have no idea what they're actually saying. * Employees aren't trusted. This is why we aren't allowed to work remotely anymore. Needless to say, the feeling is mutual given the lies about finding a middle ground with respect to remote work. * Pay is pretty low, so devs leave after a couple years.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Bandwidth Response

      Thank you for your feedback. Our unique culture is built on the close collaboration and creative energy of working in person. That’s why we’re building a new headquarters campus with great amenities to continue growing in a culture of being together. We encourage Bandmates to reach out to their manager or People Services to address special circumstances.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 208 Reviews

    Work at Bandwidth? Share Your Experiences

    Bandwidth logo
    or