Chartwell Retirement Residences Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 288 of over 316 reviews

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Chartwell Retirement Residences President and CEO W. Brent Binions (no image)
W. Brent Binions
119 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefit package/ lots of room for staff at the residences(in 12 reviews)

  • "A work environment that allows employees to make a positive difference in the lives of seniors in our community(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "High turnover rate, rarely hires full-time so no benefits(in 6 reviews)

  • "Its disgraceful and unfortunate as I believe the CEO has a good vision but it is not being relayed to the front line at all(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Na

      Jun 18, 2021 - Front Desk Receptionist in North West
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay was ok to get by

      Cons

      Long hours with no breaks

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

      Communications Coordinator

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. All feedback is important to us and will help us continue to improve our employee experience.

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      My current employment

      Feb 12, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best communication and Quality in future.

      Cons

      My challenge to get good job

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Staffing for shifts coverage and payroll submission for the staff. Ensuring timely submission of Bills for payment

      Sep 9, 2021 - Clerk in Ajax, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job satisfaction and recognition growth

      Cons

      Had more hours in hand to work

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

      Communications Coordinator

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. All feedback is important to us and will help us continue to improve our employee experience.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Decent

      Sep 21, 2021 - Personal Support Work Psw 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay. Lots of hours of your willing to work.

      Cons

      Understaffed and a lot of disrespect to the residents.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Decent

      Sep 18, 2021 - Dietary Aide 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent job Got to have food afterwards

      Cons

      Some residents were rude Staff wasn’t always willing to work as a team

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

      Communications Coordinator

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. All feedback is important to us and will help us continue to improve our employee experience.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      K

      Sep 18, 2021 - Concierge 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to start out

      Cons

      May not be enough hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

      Communications Coordinator

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. All feedback is important to us and will help us continue to improve our employee experience.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lots of room for improvement!

      Sep 17, 2021 - RPN in Mississauga, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - residents - large beautiful building, nice amenities for residents - entertainment pre covid days

      Cons

      - rotating door for UCPS, Nurses and management - less than 25/hr for charge nurse duties - min wage usually for UCPS and dietary staff, unacceptable! -lack of support and stability - poor loyalty to great staff members - no room for advancement/ongoing education

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

      Communications Coordinator

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. All feedback is important to us and will help us continue to improve our employee experience.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      Aug 30, 2021 - Student in Oshawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Experience and multiple areas to work

      Cons

      N/A, This company is very reliable.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

      Communications Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us! We really appreciate it!

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A hostile place

      Sep 14, 2021 - Personal Support Worker in Belleville, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay. Residents are amazing.

      Cons

      You are expected to do everything. Personal care, medications, house cleaning, dietary staff jobs. Everything. You will be worked 24/7 with constantly flipping schedules and shifts making sure you have no sleep schedule. The boss will belittle and yell at you when you are ill. You will be told that you are always at full staffing, while if one person calls in sick half of the staff are stuck working 12 hours just to cover it. The bosses push to have employees come in before covid swabs results have been received and have no care for the wellbeing of their employees. It seems okay at first, but within the year, you'll wish you had gotten a job at Tim Hortons instead.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

      Communications Coordinator

      Though this is not typical of the feedback we normally receive, we do appreciate you taking the time to share it with us. At Chartwell, we use all feedback to listen, learn and make improvements wherever possible.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Exceptional Support

      Aug 28, 2021 - Care 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Chartwell Corporate has done everything to give us the tools we need to manage this pandemic. Kudo's to the work and care put in

      Cons

      The lack of understanding from the general public as to what it is really like living in a retirement community.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

      Communications Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us! We really appreciate it!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 288 Reviews

    Work at Chartwell Retirement Residences? Share Your Experiences

    Chartwell Retirement Residences logo
    or