Code and Theory Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 134 of over 152 reviews

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Code and Theory Chief Executive Officer Dan Gardner  (no image)
Dan Gardner
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smart people, very strong production team, fun accounts(in 13 reviews)

  • "Code attracts powerful personalities and some of the most talented people in NYC(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and struggles with work-life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • "There's a "Responsible Time Off" policy in place, but upper management makes you feel guilty for taking a day off or even working from home(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Review

      Oct 3, 2021 - Production Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A collaborative environment. A great place to learn and grow quickly.

      Cons

      Many times demanding asks can result in working long hours especially if there is poor communication between the team and clients about how long it takes to get work done.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Grit + Rigor are pre-requisites

      Sep 21, 2021 - Senior Producer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - You are surrounded by amazingly smart and talented people - You will work with a wide range of clients - You will be pushed to do your very best work - You have a fair amount of autonomy, but you will always have executive oversight

      Cons

      - As with any client services business, there will be long nights - Strong time-management and boundary-management is a pre-requisite for Work-Life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Tech India

      Join the conversation on

      Tech India

      5.9K Members 

      Ask candid career questions

      -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/tech-india/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.in&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-integrated-Reviews&utm_term=Code and Theory~197717
      Join the conversation on
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Policies good in theory - but too hectic to be true

      Sep 29, 2021 - Associate Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      + Some great benefits - company is paying even more of healthcare. Unlimited PTO, summer/fall Fridays (early closures) and closing week between Christmas and New Years + Management is at least trying to care about employees well being. Have policies in place to minimize weekend work + big name clients and winning lots of new biz. Stability feels like it's there

      Cons

      - Followthrough isn't fully there - clients dictate workload and upper management doesn't do much about it - Hours are LONG and late 9:30-6:30 EST at shortest - No account, producers end up acting as account team - so less likely to know how to to push back on ridiculous client requests - Hard to set boundaries and actually log off

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing

      Aug 27, 2021 - Software QA Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Youll learn a lot with the new technologies and apps used in software industry especially about CMS

      Cons

      Non its a very friendly environment here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to do great work

      Aug 3, 2021 - Visual Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Responsible Time Off, 3 day weekends for holidays, summer fridays, time off from christmas to new years. Definitely get more days than in other agencies -Really smart people, even better work -Remote work, with virtual activities to meet people (slackbot meetings, building sponsored events, etc) -401k with high match -Transparent with DE&I statistics and continuing to update

      Cons

      -Agency life can be demanding

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Cult: Talented but Toxic Environment

      Jul 30, 2021 - Producer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Exciting and diverse creative projects - Lots of innovative learning opportunities -The output of work is top quality and produced at a faster speed than anywhere else -Truly a bootcamp - great place to start your career -Well respected agency in the industry -Beautiful office on the 63rd floor of the World Trade Center. -Bagel Mondays :)

      Cons

      -It's a cult. The company is all about creating a hostile and intimidating work environment that excludes women or diversity. I've heard so many talented people question their self-worth after being in this culture. People don't even realize how bad it is until you are removed from the environment and get a chance to realize the abuse. -Work life balance is pretty much non-existent. You are expected to be online all day long. If you are staffed on a pitch you are definitely working all weekend. -Very little investment in positive culture such as trainings, courses, after hour activities such as team building activities, workouts, happy hours etc. - Turnover is insane in the production department even at the leadership level which is very discouraging and distracting -No one is invested in prioritizing the production department which is the glue that keeps everything together. -Producers are basically glorified admins. -Responsible time off is misleading. Management still gives you "suggested number of days off" per your tenure and will deny your time off at times if it surpasses their suggestion.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Code and Theory Response

      I am sorry to hear that this is how you felt about your experience here. We are always open to feedback and wish you had spoken to us during your time here so we could have tried to understand and make things better for you. We have never been more focused on our DEI goals and have prioritized this at the top most level. We are incredibly proud of the progress we have made both from a women and BIPOC perspective. We hold ourselves accountable daily and know there is a lot more work to be done so our focus on this will not relent. We know that working here is intense at times and that we constantly push ourselves and our colleagues to be better, and we are also aware that burnout is real in the agency world. We have taken a number of steps to try and help with work life balance (recharge days, summer Fridays, reiterating that responsible time off is a real thing and that people should take the time they need, when they need it, training managers so that they provide the best support to their employees, etc). We have had a great response to this and are continuing to listen and make sure our people are well taken care of and heard. Covid has made it challenging to do in person events but we have been creative in getting our departments and project teams together. We have also seen an increase in training and speaker series as zoom has actually been a logistical silver lining for these purposes. Finally, we understand that production is a really hard job and one that requires great care and attention. We are working tirelessly to hire more amazing talent to help out our current team and are laser focused on caring for our people here. We agree with you that they are our glue. We are proud of how far we have come and we take our culture and the care of our people very seriously.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place, great people

      Jul 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - people are smart, motivated and inspiring - the work we get to work is very diverse and clients vary depending on what project you are on - you can tell everyone really cares about your success and growth

      Cons

      - it's intense which may work for some and not for other - if you aren't a roll of your sleeve sort of person, this may not be the place for you

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Smart Smart and Creative.

      Jul 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smartest people i've ever met. A company that thinks, not jut does. Management is accessible. Work is amazing. Flexible work policies. (ie. RTO and Flexible remote working)

      Cons

      Like any growing agency, estimating people's time is just that, an estimation. This isn't just to Code and Theory but every agency, 2020 and beyond has been hard for us all personally.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Long hours with a company that does not care about you, especially if you're a designer

      Jul 19, 2021 - Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of hard working Type A people who are willing to work 80 hours to do the best work of their life. (Although literally any other agency can give you the same thing without a culture of sleepless nights)

      Cons

      There was a palpable divide between strategy and design where it is institutionalized that designers can never lead or have any vision. It breeds a very toxic culture.

      6 people found this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great people & space for a recent grad/entry role to evolve

      Jun 10, 2021 - Junior Digital Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - WFH able to choose yours hours you are not forced to work NYC hours - Paid above industry average - True to the description of 'fast-paced environment' - You will work on a lot of projects from various industries - Have yet to meet someone who wouldn't accept a 1-on-1 call - Everyone is a creative-type - You won't just see the side of the business you work on. You have access to see how other disciplines work. - Every new hire gets a mentor for their first 30 days to help

      Cons

      - Not always placed on a project at the beginning. Sometimes you are dropped in and are not caught up on where resources are. - There can be VERY quick project turn arounds so you have to make sure to communicate your workload

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 134 Reviews

    Work at Code and Theory? Share Your Experiences

    or