Devon Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Devon Energy Reviews

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Devon Energy CEO John Richels
John Richels
203 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can be laid off sooner than a lot of other oil and gas companies if downturn occurs(in 12 reviews)

  • "Their hiring process revolves around whether or not you are willing to stay in Oklahoma City long term(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Piping Designer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great management. Flexible hours if needed.

    Cons

    Promotions were hard to achieve

    Devon Energy2019-12-03
  2. "Devon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accountant 

    I have been working at Devon Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great company to work for.

    Cons

    growth opportunities are not as available

    Devon Energy2019-11-18
  3. "Had a great work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Vacation Purchase Top Tier Benefits Good Management

    Cons

    Not diversified in Canada Somewhat bureaucratic

    Devon Energy2019-11-09
  4. "GOOD TRAINING - POOR LEADERSHIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Petroleum Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Busy teams have plenty of work, but still allowed good team-building time and individual improvement

    Cons

    Leaders weak to address issues both short term and recurring. Little direction for what leaders are looking for out of individual contributions. Subject matter experts are allowed to skew decision making out of the leadership weakness, leading to continuous loops of time wasted.

    Advice to Management

    Be a leader. Stick up for your people. Communicate with your staff and address their concerns publicly when appropriate. Clearly, Devon is not firing on all cylinders--do something about it!

    Devon Energy2019-11-13
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Accounting 

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Free Gym Access

    Cons

    Big push to automate jobs

    Devon Energy2019-10-08
  6. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, interesting work - loved going to work each day!

    Cons

    Devon Canada is no longer - assets sold.

    Devon Energy2019-10-07
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and Perks

    Cons

    Not much to say

    Devon Energy2019-10-19
  8. "Bring your golf clubs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy

    Pros

    PTO allocation, some teams are fun to work with

    Cons

    Upper Management, weak middle leaders, toxic culture between teams

    Advice to Management

    Stop taking the easy way out and avoiding conflict. Listen to employees over golf or frat buddies when it comes to making decisions.

    Devon Energy2019-10-15
  9. "Be Aware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountants in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay & Benefits - and that is it!

    Cons

    Terrible management! I can only speak to the accounting department, but it’s miserable. Zero transparency. “Leadership” will look you in the face and say one thing, then stab you in the back when you turn around. If you decide to work here, my only advice is “Work Loud, Not Hard.” Spend your day walking around talking about how busy you are, push your work off onto others, and take credit for everything- I promise... this will get you promotion after promotion.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Most of your automation is a joke! Reports and stats are altered to upper management to show “progress,” but the people that actually complete the task know the truth. Finally, HR knows about these issues and it is apparent that it doesn’t matter.

    Devon Energy2019-10-16
  10. "Worth an effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some if their people are amazing. But there are quite a few that need to go.

    Cons

    Left because of a micro-manager.

    Advice to Management

    Ask for subordinates feedback on their managers.

    Devon Energy2019-09-26
Found 375 reviews