DraftKings Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

DraftKings Reviews

Updated 25 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
DraftKings CEO Jason Robins
Jason Robins
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relaxed but professional work environment(in 13 reviews)

  • "I've been at DK for over a year and a half and it has flown by(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons for this company at all(in 6 reviews)

  • "Without an HR overall DK will be in the headlines soon(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best company I’ve ever worked for! (1 year benchmark)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineering Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, Amazing office in Boston, Nice perks, Decent Benefits, Industry Compensation

    Cons

    Medical and Dental benefits can be improved

    Continue reading
    DraftKings2020-02-26

    DraftKings Response

    February 27, 2020Senior Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for leaving your thoughts. We're happy you enjoyed your first year at DraftKings. Continue to let us know how we can support your career. Jason

    Continue reading
  2. "Smart, Nerdy, and Fun People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laughing and having this much fun around people I work with makes such a big difference. The people here are incredibly gifted. I’ve worked with go-to people at some of the best companies in the country (Google, Netflix, Facebook) but the people at DK are dedicated and the innovation of our technology keeps the people happy. Love the decision I made as I strongly believe this is a premier employer for all men and women in Boston.

    Cons

    We’re defining an industry so expectations as an employee are high but that was made clear early in conversations before I joined. If you’re looking to make a difference like Uber/Airbnb/Netflix did early on, look no further for a fun grind. If you want a 9-5, look somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    DraftKings2020-02-03

    DraftKings Response

    February 10, 2020Senior Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your positive review. We're happy to read how much you are enjoying working at DraftKings. We are here to support your career needs. Please do not hesitate to reach out to your manager or HR Business Partner with feedback to improve your DraftKings experience. Jason

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good perks instead of money Good work life balance

    Cons

    Way behind on technically. Doing replication from 20 years ago and acting like it's cool. Senior employees managers have been here too long to see how out of touch they are.

    Continue reading
    DraftKings2020-01-16

    DraftKings Response

    January 24, 2020Senior Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this candid feedback. Growing quickly means that we have to make regular business and technical tradeoffs to enable us to best meet the needs of our customers and employees. As part of our evolution, we are working on continually improving many aspects of our methods and technology - including some of the technical items you referenced. I would be delighted to have an opportunity to speak with you in more detail about your ideas, so please feel free to connect or speak with your manager. Thanks! Brian SVP, Engineering

    Continue reading
  4. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Intelligent, competent, friendly coworkers - Building a new industry - Doing cool things, solving novel problems - Opportunities for growth - Solid compensation - Great perks (mani/pedis, massages, haircuts, blowouts, stocked kitchen, beer fridge, weekly “snack” which is really a meal) - Tuition reimbursement, 401k match, very good insurance, gym discount, etc. - Flexibility with working hours, unlimited vacation

    Cons

    - Can be very demanding (could be both a pro and a con)

    DraftKings2019-12-17

    DraftKings Response

    December 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    We appreciate your positive review. We like reading when our teammates are enjoying their DraftKings experience, from working with colleagues to taking advantage of our perks and benefits. Our high growth, mixed with a competitive industry, is demanding at times. We offer unlimited time off and ask that you work with your manager to take the time you need so you can do your best work. Thank you again for your review. Jason

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to wrok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Fast growing industry that provides for unique challenges -Company clearly cares about employee growth -Everyone you work with is smart and will help you grow as an engineer -Unbelievable perks

    Cons

    -Fast growth means that the organizational structure is in constant flux -Hard to balance growth with small company values

    DraftKings2019-11-25

    DraftKings Response

    November 26, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for leaving your feedback. We hope you are continuing to enjoy your first year at DraftKings. It's great to read how much you like the company, your colleagues, and our perks. To keep up in our ever-evolving industry, DraftKings needs to stay flexible and agile. This can cause stress on the company and employees, but we are working to ensure our culture is structured for all employees to do their best work. In the meantime, we welcome your feedback to improve DraftKings. Jason

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Huge DraftKings Fan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at DK for over a year and a half and it has flown by. What drew me originally to the company was how amazing the culture seemed... I wanted to work somewhere that was growing quickly in a new industry, and that is definitely what I got. Even though growth has been rapid, it is evident to employees how hard HR is working to continue to promote the culture that I fell in love with when first interviewing. We have monthly All-Hands meetings so we are kept up to date on everything happening in our industry, Lunch & Learns to deep dive into different departments and how they contribute to success, and daily Internal Comms in our slack channels with news/updates/spotlights featuring employees. As a female working in the tech industry people often ask me if I notice the large gender gap here. While it is evident when in a room full of employees that the crowd is spotted with women... it doesn't feel that way on a day to day basis (for me anyway). I notice women stepping into leading roles in all aspects of the business, transforming DK into a more diverse workplace. The quick answer - DraftKings is an awesome place to work. The people are by far the best part... being able to say that I have friends in different sectors of the business is huge for a growing company. We have fun workplace events, great perks (mani/pedis, massages, haircuts, blowouts, game nights, yoga, happy hours on Fridays with catered food), and all around the best culture. As a business we are working out some kinks but I can only see us continuing on the upward path we are on.

    Cons

    Honestly, not many cons to note. It is hard to complain when you like coming into work everyday (or at least most days). The only thing I'd say is while we do promote internal mobility - we also need to make sure we are paying employees the right amount for that job that they move into, not just a little bump or a tiny raise... they should be paid as if they were coming in as an external candidate. Staying competitive with internal mobility is super important!

    Continue reading
    DraftKings2019-11-12

    DraftKings Response

    November 14, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    We appreciate your thoughtful and thorough review. We agree that our culture makes DraftKings unique and is the secret sauce for attracting great talent as we continue to grow. Inclusion, Equity + Belonging is a team effort, and Vanessa is open to hearing from all employees regarding their feedback on improving our diversity. We're happy to read that you are enjoying our benefits and perks. Let us know if you want to see additional perks added to your DraftKings experience. Thank you again for your great review and continue to provide us your feedback to make DraftKings an excellent company for all. Jason

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Surpassed my expectations and assumptions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The company is full of dynamic, intelligent, and young people - Explosive growth and exciting potential - You have the opportunity to make a difference because the company is small enough to quickly adapt change - Perks that do not come with strings attached: free manicures, massages, blowouts/haircuts, food, beer/wine, yoga, trivia nights, group outings - Gorgeous modern office in Back Bay

    Cons

    - Still very much a male organization (no women in executive positions, mostly male employees), but the company is actively and genuinely working on diversity, equity and inclusion

    Continue reading
    DraftKings2019-10-05

    DraftKings Response

    October 7, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    We appreciate your thoughtful review. These are exciting times at DraftKings, and our explosive growth mixed with great employees, perks, and office space makes DraftKings a fun place to work. Vanessa, who leads Inclusion, Equity, + Belonging, joined DraftKings to partner with all of us to provide an inclusive environment where everyone can do their best work. Feel free to reach out to her if you have any questions or suggestions. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. They push DraftKings to think more progressively to attract and retain high-caliber talent. Jason

    Continue reading
  8. "Wholly Collaborate, Supportive, and Engaging Community of Innovative Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workplace experience 

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative Community, Supportive Management and Execs, Open Conversations Welcome, Open-Door Policy, Friendly Employees, Diverse Community, Dress Down Policy, Unlimited Vaca

    Cons

    Hours are not super flexible

    DraftKings2019-10-02

    DraftKings Response

    October 4, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your hard work. Workplace Experience is the core of keeping our offices running smoothly and providing a great experience for employees and visitors. We know the hours can be long, but please talk to your direct manager or HR Business Partner about how we can better support your work/life blend. Thank you again for your review. Jason

    Continue reading
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of people who are ace

    Cons

    Competitive culture, and stressful travel

    DraftKings2019-10-09

    DraftKings Response

    October 9, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We wish you the best moving forward. Jason

    Continue reading
  10. "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time

    Pros

    -culture -energy -team environment -investing in the right things

    Cons

    I really love the company! I’m pretty new and I have been welcomed with open arms.

    Continue reading
    DraftKings2019-09-20

    DraftKings Response

    September 20, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Welcome to DraftKings! We are happy to read about your excitement working here. Please continue to let us know of areas of opportunities as we reinvent technology in sports. Jason

    Continue reading
Found 117 reviews