Evergreen Packaging Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Evergreen Packaging Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
34%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Evergreen Packaging CEO John Rooney (no image)
John Rooney
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and benefits after you've been there at least a year(in 5 reviews)

  • "There are good people mixed in but you have to seek them out(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "The downside is that there is not work/life balance(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Your a number but pay is well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Waynesville, NC

    I have been working at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can basically make as much as you want.

    Cons

    Upper management is terrible. Forced in on days off.

    Evergreen Packaging2019-10-24
  2. "Great Culture, Great People, Great Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Evergreen is a great company to work for. They offer mobility and advancement to further your career with them and develop your skills.

    Cons

    The team is kept very slim and makes working more difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Don't starve the teams/workforce of help and be surprised that good employees leave.

    Evergreen Packaging2019-09-13
  3. "Run away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Olmsted Falls, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits but that doesn’t make up for all of the bad.

    Cons

    Long mandatory hours 6 days per week minimum- unpaid for supervisors and managers, no work/life balance, OLD and unreliable equipment makes it impossible to hit production goals, poor maintenance. The list goes on and on.

    Advice to Management

    Purge the plant managers and staff and start over.

    Evergreen Packaging2019-10-15
  4. "Horrible management, uncaring and overworking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Labor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers were great people

    Cons

    They don’t give a crap about their employees forced 12 hours all week, rarely get a a day off. Had to call off only ONCE for my daughter having a seizure and they fired me.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your workers. You overwork and are uncaring for any situation anyone is in, if the overtime wasn’t forced 6 days of the week and you listened to employees complaints you guys would be better off

    Evergreen Packaging2019-08-30
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Loader in Athens, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay , Good people

    Cons

    Rotating shifts, Kind of hot place to work

    Evergreen Packaging2019-07-24
  6. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time

    Pros

    If going thru 3 plant managers in 18 months is a pro.

    Cons

    Way behind the times in technology. Poorly managed from corporate. No accountability from the director level and above.

    Evergreen Packaging2019-07-02
  7. "Good opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, benefits, good people to work with

    Cons

    They try to do too much with too few people and try to do too many things at the last minute

    Evergreen Packaging2019-03-17
  8. "Horrible/racist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Money and union if you make it that far

    Cons

    Only 3 african americanswork there . very racist . will do whatever to het you out of there before you join union

    Advice to Management

    Hire different races .

    Evergreen Packaging2019-04-14
  9. "I wish them the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Canton, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evergreen Packaging full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It was close to home and paid more than most other companies in the area. There are good people mixed in but you have to seek them out. Most are pretty beat down.

    Cons

    Very long hours. The company expects a minimum of 50-60 hours per week. By the time I left the benefits were getting very costly. I ended up taking a pay cut because our insurance went up so much. The management rules with an iron fist. They don't appreciate what they have. The infrastructure is crumbling even after spending 50+ MM on environmental upgrades. They don't like to promote from within. They will underpay... you but pay upper management big dollars. There's a huge disconnect between management and front line leadership. The Union is so disgruntled it makes directing work flow very difficult. Limited opportunity for growth. If they like you in a position, plan to be there for a while.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice won't be considered but if it was I'd say you need to increase the salaries of the front line leadership. Then you need to stop micromanaging every detail. There is no trust and no confidence. You also need to reinvest in your mill. For too long the wrong person managed the maintenance spending and it shows. You have a lot of people willing to work hard for the mill but when you continue to ignore their... needs and provide them with little compensation and a poor work environment it shouldn't come as any surprise why many of your perceived "lifers" are running away.

    Show More
    Evergreen Packaging2019-03-23
  10. "Lots of work if you want it. Paper machines aren’t for someone looking for an easy day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paper Maker in Canton, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evergreen Packaging full-time

    Pros

    Good pay. Overtime. There’s always work of ou want it, many different jobs within the company.

    Cons

    Some job you start out on are hard and very frustrating at times.

    Advice to Management

    Praise your people.

    Evergreen Packaging2018-10-04
Found 60 reviews