GDS Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

GDS Group Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
GDS Group CEO    Tanya Thomas  (no image)
Tanya Thomas
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and great commission scheme(in 20 reviews)

  • "I really enjoy working in a fast paced, exciting sales environment with an uncapped earning potential(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "I’ve seen "Boiler Room" written in some reviews(in 13 reviews)

  • "It's a fast-paced office in a constantly transforming industry(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture and dedicated leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office culture is one of the best I have been a part of in my career. Management provides the tools and support needed to succeeded. The compensation package is one of the best I have seen in this industry.

    Cons

    -Inability to work from home (Though that is currently being tested) -Outdated technology

    GDS Group2019-11-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fun environment and great products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time

    Pros

    Really good business model and product offering to clients. As a Salesperson you have the opportunity to take advantage of strong products to sell which massively helps with credibility. As a result, you can impact your earnings. Really good culture and fun place to work. Very sociable environment. Lots of good training and they have a big focus on up skilling their teams so you will learn a lot being part of this... company. CEO does a video round up every week to the business, so you have visibility into other parts of the company which makes you feel part of the wider organisation. Exposure to international sales and different types of businesses is also a big plus for me. Generous incentives and rewards so if this is important to you then I’ve not seen better.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not an easy job so you need to throw yourself into it. In my experience this the same with most sales based roles so if sales isn’t for you then consider something else! Need to have a positive attitude here. If you allow yourself to be distracted and lose focus you won’t do as well. The high chairs are a bit uncomfortable at times!

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating. In a fast paced environment like this you can’t over communicate.

    GDS Group2019-11-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting and fast paced culture with lots of opportunity for career growth!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sponsorship Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money, Money and Money. Hard work pays off here... If you are smart and hard working you can do very well. The base salary sucks but if you are willing to work hard and fast you will get promoted, quickly. High turnover means better opportunity for you and advancement. A true meritocracy!

    Cons

    Really have to commit to role and be ok with rejection. High volume of prospecting is needed!!!

    Advice to Management

    Focus your time on retaining your employees and motivating them to be more productive and having company loyalty.

    GDS Group2019-11-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture, incredible commissions and bug prizes for hard workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Miami Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GDS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot of great selling skills

    Cons

    Unless you consider hard work a con but i don’t have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep rewarding your hard workers and performers

    GDS Group2019-10-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A really great place to work with very supportive and fun coworkers! If you're good at sales, this is the place for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GDS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is really nice and helpful. Their commission structure is really good as is their training program. You have the opportunity to travel, make great connections and learn new skills.

    Cons

    If you want to make money, you have to work hard. You won't make much money unless you put effort into your work but then again, that's the case for any job if you want to be successful.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more based on personality and motivation. We learn the tools for success during the training program.

    GDS Group2019-10-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delegate Sales in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GDS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience, get to go to US events IF you perform well

    Cons

    Boiler room environment. They don't care about retention or their staff

    Advice to Management

    Dont teach staff to button bash the phones

    GDS Group2019-11-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to make money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at GDS Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to make great money, travel, experience

    Cons

    Micro management, lack of flexibility, management

    Advice to Management

    Ease up on the micro management and you are not the best company out there.

    GDS Group2019-10-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GDS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice office space near Wall Street.

    Cons

    Working at GDS was probably the worst working experience of my career. I have never encountered such unfriendly individuals. The tactics used to onboard new clients are unethical at best. You are nothing more than a number at this company, as they believe in profits over people.

    Advice to Management

    Improve company culture and you’ll be able to keep employees around for more than a week.

    GDS Group2019-11-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team mates and bosses

    Cons

    Cold calls and long hours

    GDS Group2019-09-24
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Work hard and reap the rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager of Strategic Alliances in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GDS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office environment and colleagues - I wouldn't say it was your average sales floor. The training is excellent upon arrival and is continued throughout. You get rewarded for working hard and there are always people around to ask for help and guidance. You do need to be motivated, but I think the company is fab.

    Cons

    Be prepared to work a lot off your own back. The more you put in, the more you will get out. Also be prepared to be quite flexible.

    GDS Group2019-09-18
Found 252 reviews