GetYourGuide Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

GetYourGuide Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
GetYourGuide CEO Johannes Reck
Johannes Reck
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "My favourite thing about GetYourGuide is that the company culture and values are taken seriously(in 13 reviews)

  • "GYG has a big focus on company culture and transparency(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Customer service employees scramble to compete to apply for higher paid roles(in 6 reviews)

  • "I am pretty curious to find out how GYG will look like in a couple of years(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and challenging problems

    Cons

    Growing at scale implies cost of alignment and culture change

    GetYourGuide2019-10-24
  2. "Great Employer, exciting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Clear mission from senior leadership - Great colleagues and collaborative environment - Strong Culture - Challenging projects - Freedom to do the job and challenge the status quo - Open communication

    Cons

    Sometimes lack of structure due to the massive growth

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to feedback and maintain the open communication

    GetYourGuide2019-10-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting, fast growing company with lots of opportunity for personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth. Tight recruitment process means you'll be working with some of he best in your field. Amazing office in a great location. Good perks. Very open communication for a company of this size, which regular meetings on all-company performance and objectives.

    Cons

    Hypergrowth can be difficult. Things change fast and you can either find it an exciting challenge or a little unsettling.

    GetYourGuide2019-09-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "More cons than pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, free breakfasts, free soft drinks, beers on Friday (limited)

    Cons

    Politics, favoritism, no learning opportunities, tasks are getting more limited as the company grows, you are expected to work extra hours in most departments (not paid), VPs are literally saying that they are ok if people leave

    Advice to Management

    Concentrate on a staff retention rate instead of having next round of investments

    GetYourGuide2019-09-27
  5. "Love where you’re working!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - B2B Affiliate Partner Representative in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been working at GetYourGuide for a couple of months now, but I feel like I’ve known my team for ages! The young vibrant atmosphere is something unique to start-ups in general but GYG knows how to make its employees feel happy and satisfied with their job. The working environment is relaxed (even though everyone works hard) and international: people literally come from every corner of the planet, meaning that... you’ll never get bored! Friday updates with pizza&beer or team buildings are also part of GYG lifestyle. I would add that being a fast growing start-up enables employees to strengthen their knowledge, face new challenges and explore different career paths.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being a company that is growing so fast means also feeling a little overwhelmed by all the new people coming on board, which is amazing but scary at the same time. I am pretty curious to find out how GYG will look like in a couple of years.

    Advice to Management

    As far as I could experience, it is pretty easy to reach out to any manager in the company. At least you have the change to open up about issues that you’re encountering and try to find a solution.

    GetYourGuide2019-09-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "We really do live our values! You'll be challenged, it will be worth it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic data lead company without compromising creativity or customer centricity! Your colleagues are passionate in their fields. Progression is a transparent process, talk to your manager, read the relevant competency files and take advantage of the knowledge and skills around you.

    Cons

    There can always be improvements but we're working on these things already.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up what you're already doing!

    GetYourGuide2019-07-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "great company which is going places!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is booming, great strategy and future with a start-up vibe :)

    Cons

    growing pretty quickly, which is exciting but also interesting to see how things pan out.

    GetYourGuide2019-07-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Valuable learnings and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A culture where the mindset of learning, adapting to knowledge and self-growth our ingrained in company culture

    Cons

    Like many startups, the pace of improvement and performance can quite demanding. Its a hate it/love it environment.

    GetYourGuide2019-07-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "It will turn back and set its course"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent people, had great time

    Cons

    Things are now horrible for the most part with a brainwashed repetitive pattern among pool owners. With new set of funding brought new set of hurdles and seems like company is loosing the way much faster !!

    Advice to Management

    Listen to people, don't be evil

    GetYourGuide2019-07-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Team Lead in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very open culture, they try hard to make you feel welcome and a part of the team from day one, involving people in every level decisions where possible and promoting an open, professional culture

    Cons

    Still growing so naturally some start up type changes a long the way, but overall they handle it very well

    GetYourGuide2019-06-23
Found 154 reviews