GetYourGuide Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

GetYourGuide Reviews

Updated 6 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
GetYourGuide CEO & Co-Founder Johannes Reck
Johannes Reck
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "My favourite thing about GetYourGuide is that the company culture and values are taken seriously(in 16 reviews)

  • "Free Breakfast and snacks and nice enough people(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "the ability to grow becomes more competitive as the company grows(in 6 reviews)

  • "Customer service employees scramble to compete to apply for higher paid roles(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "This is how a business should be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Success Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people and supportive culture, it is fast paced but with clear direction.

    Cons

    So far I have not found any negatives, this is not an environment for someone who wants to take it easy.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2020-02-04
  2. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great company culture, it is a great environment to go to everyday - international environment - company growing rapidly which means lots of opportunities

    Cons

    - the ability to grow becomes more competitive as the company grows

    GetYourGuide2020-01-04

    GetYourGuide Response

    January 16, 2020Talent Co-ordinator

    Hello, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoy the company culture and the diverse work environment. We are growing very quickly, which means lots of new challenges and opportunities within the company. In regards to your thoughts on personal growth, we encourage you to have a conversation with your manager about how you can drive your development forward. Seek out the areas you wish to develop in and make a concrete learning plan to achieve your goals. You might also consider reaching out to our Talent Development team for support. Thanks again for providing your feedback. We really appreciate it. All the best, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  3. "GYGilead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    / / / /

    Cons

    A toxic, high pressured environment fuelled by a blame culture & masked by 'processes' & 'transparency' via JIRA ticket systems. 360 feedback, retro review meetings, weekly team stands ups are all used to single out & expose employees in front of their peers under the guise of open communication, creating high levels of nervous tension & anxiety on a daily basis for many. Employees are expected to embody corporate & brand values to a cult-like degree, with any questioning or deviation brandished "negativity". Despite repeated & fervent feedback surrounding flexibility & employee satisfaction, management are active in ignoring this in effort to further their goal of an IPO with the ongoing expectation that all employees should share the same blind, unreserved rewardless commitment via whatever means.

    GetYourGuide2020-02-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "the culture and values are not what portrayed on blog and media"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some people are great but unfortunately they're being pushed out by the bad apples

    Cons

    No focus on developing people and learning, the company cuts costs on people instead of reducing stupid wastes on ideas by consultancy led ideas. Many consultancy background hires have been added and placed in director positions, and they destroyed the work environment, collaborative and culture environment. Now unless you're a yes man you're threatened that you'll be fired unless you stop challenging thier ideas. Retaliations and blackmails are a constant, and green lighted by all C-execs, since they hired the consultancy directors who have killed all the clarity and learning values the company had. DO NOT apply, because the benefits have also been cut without any warning. What they are saying and publishing is not the truth and reality when in the company. Many people are leaving due to this, as there is no appreciation of the people by the company. There are no growth possibilities unless you have good bonds with the consultancy people who are also best friends with C execs, and are doing whatever they want, whether it's uncompliant, unethical etc There's no learning budget nor trainings provided, nor any support from HR on this matter at all. They fired the only HR person that was helping the people, because he was uncovering all the issues and was trying to help us to not be thretaned and crate a new safe work environemnt and culture. Cexecs want you to work overtime and be political or else you're fired, and without being paid or given benefits or recognition of any kind.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2020-01-31
  5. "Very good employee with exciting challenges and amazing colleauges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Zürich
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice office, exciting projects and room for initiatives and ownership. Nice colleagues!

    Cons

    Most people work in the Berlin office. Collaboration cross location can be tricky sometimes.

    GetYourGuide2019-12-02

    GetYourGuide Response

    December 16, 2019Talent Co-ordinator

    Hello, Thank you for providing your input. We’re happy to hear that you’re enjoying your teammates in Zürich and the projects you’re working on. Your positive outlook on taking on new challenges is great. We’re growing quickly, and, as you correctly mention, there are lots of opportunities to contribute to interesting initiatives. Although our international team is spread out over 16 offices worldwide, we try our best to stay connected through tech tools like Slack, Bluejeans, and Zoom. We also always make sure to record our all-hands meetings so that everyone can stay up-to-date on strategic decisions. Of course, collaborating across long distances always comes with added challenges. Maybe check out this article for tips on how our international offices manage to stay connected to HQ: https://inside.getyourguide.com/blog/2019/9/10/meet-destination-managers-from-our-global-sales-team Thank you again for taking the time to write this review. All the best, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Front End Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment is great and productive. There's no mindless pressure, but management trusts us to deliver results. Upper management actually practices what the company culture preaches, so there's no cognitive dissonant. I joined a great team, that includes management and the CTO. That actually helped me decide to join here.

    Cons

    I don't really know much yet about my career path. And it is not easy for a foreigner to adjust to Berlin, but that's not the companies fault (and there isn't anything wrong with Berlin for that matter, quite the opposite).

    GetYourGuide2019-11-20

    GetYourGuide Response

    November 28, 2019Talent Co-ordinator

    Hello, Thanks so much for taking a moment to provide your feedback. We’re thrilled to hear that you’ve had a good experience so far and that your team is living up to your expectations. You touch on an important part of our culture, which is commitment. We trust that every employee can own their workload and deliver without hand-holding or micromanagement. In this same vein, we would strongly encourage you to bring up your career path questions with your manager. Have you seen this article from our blog? https://inside.getyourguide.com/blog/2019/8/6/our-career-path-for-engineerings?rq=career path Thanks again for writing this review. And all the best discovering your new life in Berlin. If you need any advice navigating German bureaucracy, please feel free to reach out to our HR department. Kind regards, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  7. "100 % Recommendation to work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Coordinator in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A very nice company with a great culture. The process in HR are very well defined and teams are perfectly aligned with the company's goals. Ver nice Onboarding sessions, where you can be inmmerse in what GetYour Guide offers as a product. Breakfast included that is very appreciate, global updates, amazing team Culture and different ways to improve in terms of inclusion, professionalism, opportunities to grow in your career. 100% recommended

    Cons

    More benefits as educational budget and offices with more confortable spaces for employees. It's understandable that as we moved recently, there are still some many changes coming up.

    GetYourGuide2019-11-22

    GetYourGuide Response

    November 28, 2019Talent Co-ordinator

    Hello, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We’re really happy to hear that you’re enjoying your team and the company culture. Onboarding is so important to us because we want all new joiners to be customer obsessed from the get-go. We’re on a mission to provide incredible experiences to the world and aligning on this goal is key. Thanks very much for your suggestions. Please bring up educational opportunities with your manager. We do expect employees to own their development, so asking for support is encouraged. And yes, although we’re really happy to be in our new home, there are still lots of small finishing touches needed. All the best, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and challenging problems

    Cons

    Growing at scale implies cost of alignment and culture change

    GetYourGuide2019-10-24

    GetYourGuide Response

    November 8, 2019Talent Co-ordinator

    Hello, Thanks so much for writing this review. We’re really happy to hear that you enjoy your team and the projects you are working on. As we enter into this period of rapid growth, exciting challenges will become more and more frequent. We do understand that with hypergrowth we cannot be 100% aligned at all times because there are more moving parts to our organization. However, we would argue that our culture is the glue that keeps all these pieces together. Of course, our culture will evolve and scale to support our new needs as we grow. It’s important to note that change is not a bad thing. In fact, it’s part of our core value of positivity. Embracing these changes with open arms is the best way to reap the benefits of this dynamic point in our journey. We encourage you to speak openly about these concerns with your manager. We really appreciate your input and are happy to have you on the team. All the best, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  9. "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some part of the people but not everybody

    Cons

    You can not have your own ideas because you will be punished and maybe even fired. A lot of things appear very fake and artificial. The senior management seems to be very tired. You dont see good energy and vibes. Some people pretend to be your friend but they want to put a knife in your back. This company is since 10 years on the market and still does not make any profit, very suspect...

    GetYourGuide2019-11-29

    GetYourGuide Response

    December 12, 2019Talent Co-ordinator

    Hello, Thank you for taking a moment to provide your feedback. We are sad to hear that you have this impression. We strongly encourage you to address these issues with your manager in your 1-on-1 meetings. We trust that our employees will take the initiative to provide feedback through our anonymous employee surveys, monthly company-wide meetings, face-to-face check-ins with management, or with HR directly. Ideas are always encouraged, but it is important to keep our overall company objectives in mind. In order to provide the best possible travel experience for our customers, we do need to be strategically selective in our initiatives. Remember that we’re entering a period of rapid growth and with this comes a lot of exciting new challenges. Try discussing upcoming project opportunities with your manager. Finally, as we’re sure you know, we’re very well funded and are primarily concerned with investing in our customers and our brand at the present. All the best, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Employer, exciting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Clear mission from senior leadership - Great colleagues and collaborative environment - Strong Culture - Challenging projects - Freedom to do the job and challenge the status quo - Open communication

    Cons

    Sometimes lack of structure due to the massive growth

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2019-10-07

    GetYourGuide Response

    November 7, 2019Talent Co-ordinator

    Hi, Thank you for taking a moment to give your input. We’re glad you’ve had such a positive experience so far. Our work culture is very important to us so that we can empower our team to build the best solutions for our customers. We strive to provide clarity on our company mission through clear expectations and ownership of projects. We also continuously recalibrate our alignment on goals through monthly global updates where our CEO personally addresses employee questions. Communication and feedback are key elements of our success and we encourage our team to speak out, either in our monthly surveys, weekly up-date meetings, or in 1-on-1 meetings with your manager. This helps us reiterate on processes and provide incredible experiences for our employees and customers. During this exciting growth period, they're lots of new projects to take on and it’s great to hear that you’re enjoying the challenge. We strive for structure and clarity during this fast-paced time, but of course there is still room for improvement. We encourage you to give this feedback to your manager and work towards finding more structure within your team together. Thanks again for writing this review. We’re happy to have you on our journey. All the best, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 162 reviews