Intellectual Ventures Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 of over 179 reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Intellectual Ventures Founder and Chief Executive Officer Nathan Myhrvold (no image)
Nathan Myhrvold
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "Super smart people and casual environment(in 22 reviews)

  • "IV is has been a place that gets a bad name because of patent lawsuits(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Due to nature of start up, your time at IV may be short(in 16 reviews)

  • "The company is in a down spiral mostly because it could not address major changes in patent legislation which severely affected its business model(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      Apr 3, 2021 - Systems Engineer in Chennai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good infrastructure and skill improvement

      Cons

      Work pressure have to balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Very worst

      Dec 2, 2020 - Associate Consultant in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing is good in terms of career opportunities.

      Cons

      Very low hike they were given.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      good to learn

      Sep 24, 2020 - Recuirtment Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working are hours where flexible. Always used to enjoy working with people around.

      Cons

      no salary on time always pending

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Intellectual Ventures Response

      Recruiting Director & HR Business Partner

      IV is always appreciative of any feedback we receive via Glassdoor reviews. However, we believe this particular review might have been intended for another company since IV has never had any issues in our company history with payroll being processed as scheduled. We welcome further conversation and invite you to please reach out to IVHR@intven.com to address any concerns directly.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Could be better, not for everyone.

      Sep 10, 2021 - Administrative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, training provided to advance skill set if applicable to role. Descent pay. Interesting work. Free food.

      Cons

      Management tends to struggle with old school mentalities. Occasional unnecessary politics. Focus is individual based instead group based. Lack of: integrity, teamwork, passion for mission. Being ok with the status quo. Inefficient operational structure > resulting in wasted time and money that no one seems to care about because it's not their money right. Occasional sexual harassment and discrimination. Lack of integrity.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good concept, bad management

      Sep 10, 2021 - Scientist in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      NGO, good mission statement, and good location

      Cons

      bad management, toxic work environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Experience!

      Aug 23, 2021 - Human Resources 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My manager, and the HR leadership team, was amazingly supportive of my career goals. They thoughtfully worked to provide opportunities to grow my skills. Additionally, they could not have been kinder or more caring, especially during the pandemic. Great experience and great HR team!

      Cons

      I agree that there can be ambiguity in some roles. I work well with ambiguity, but I realize not everyone does. Consider if you work best with a lot of clarity and direction or if you are more successful in an ambiguous environment.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Something New Every Day

      Jul 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      After working at large companies for most of my career, I assumed my small company experience would quickly leave me bord. Several years later, I remain grateful for the challenging work that I get to do with the most interesting people. I continue to learn new things almost every day. I appreciate the support that IV and HR has provided during the past year. Listening sessions, mindfulness workshops and mentoring have been great. And, there is support for hybrid work schedules for most roles when we return to the office.

      Cons

      If you don't like some level of ambiguity, this may not be the place for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place for high achievers!

      Jul 16, 2021 - Human Resources 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunity and rewards for driven individuals, great colleagues, great work flexibility, strong compensation

      Cons

      None - I'm super happy here

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Job review

      Jun 30, 2021 - Postdoctoral Research Scientist in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inspirational place to work with smart people

      Cons

      None, management well calibrated to job profiles

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Stable place to start career

      Jun 24, 2021 - Mechanical Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong company mission with goals to improve quality of life for the underserved

      Cons

      Tough to navigate bureaucracy and politics

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 162 Reviews

    Work at Intellectual Ventures? Share Your Experiences

    Intellectual Ventures logo
    or