McCarthy Building Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

McCarthy Building Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
89%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
McCarthy Building Chairman and CEO Mike Bolen
Mike Bolen
135 Ratings
Pros
  • "100% employee owned means employees get rewarded with bonuses for successful years(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great People to work with and around(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "the work can be stressful; sometime long hours(in 30 reviews)

  • "Work hours are demanding, but managers understand work-life balance(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "oK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Superintendent 
    Recommends

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offer employees Good benefits

    Cons

    Show favoritism towards those then can minipulate

    McCarthy Building2019-11-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "McCarthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Administrator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours Nice Co-workers Training ESOP Employee Engagement

    Cons

    There are a lot of software systems that they use which can be annoying. I like to use 1-2 systems for entering and saving data.

    McCarthy Building2019-10-16
  3. "Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, awesome projects, BIG company but small enough office to know a lot of people and get face time with higher ups

    Cons

    don't always feel recognized/ but moreso need to speak up for yourself. not necessarily a negative

    McCarthy Building2019-10-06
  4. "Great Company focused on Client Satifaction and Employee Engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ESOP 100% Bonus program Types of projects Teamwork Drive to win Autonomous Training

    Cons

    Work long hours but worth it because it is enjoyable

    McCarthy Building2019-08-17
  5. "awesome career experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    compensation package is awesome, especially when considering retirement; people are great to work with; leadership cares about the people and the long-term success of the company

    Cons

    the work can be stressful; sometime long hours

    McCarthy Building2019-07-18
  6. "Company that Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can tell that McCarthy cares a lot about trying to do what's best for its employees. From an inside perspective, the human resources department really does work hard to try and get everyone the benefits, training, development opportunities and support they need.

    Cons

    I've heard a lot of talk within this company that impresses me about opportunities, initiatives, etc. and they do do things that support this talk, but it seems to me that the results aren't there. For example, the Partnership for Women event is awesome, but there is clearly still a vast gap in the number of women leaders at McCarthy and what they say the goal is as far as women within the business.

    McCarthy Building2019-07-30
  7. "Pros and Cons of an intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Intern in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great People to work with and around.

    Cons

    No overtime pay for interns.

    McCarthy Building2019-07-15
  8. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ESOP program is amazing, and all my bosses have made sure I've had a good work/life balance. Good salary, with amazing benefits.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours, and short staffed jobs. Seems to be the nature of the industry for the most part.

    Advice to Management

    Be more aggressive with hiring more people to more adequately staff jobs.

    McCarthy Building2019-06-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Wellness Program, No Work Life Balance, Boys Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy Building full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Executive leadership is great and supportive, HR is helpful and responsive, good wellness program.

    Cons

    Executive leadership advocates for Project Engineers and promotes Project Engineer development; however, (at the project level) development and promotion is not encouraged. There is a gap between what is being promoted by executives and at the project level. The most important thing is face time, meaning, how long you sit at your desk. It feels like a "good boys club". At the project level, there is a lot of... resistance to using technology. There is NO work-life balance. I "worked" (sat at my desk) 60+hours/week.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Executive leadership is great but there is a large gap in leadership and consistency between Executives and project-level PMs. For example, Executives promote development for Project Engineers by allowing Project Engineers to attend conferences but project-level PMs don't implement it, counter it, or make it impossible for Project Engineers to attend the conference.

    McCarthy Building2019-06-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy Building full-time

    Pros

    Bonus during the good years. Little to no increases when economy sags.

    Cons

    Good CEO but it is time to retire. Problem is that the Internal 2-3 "Next In Lines" are not capable of leading this company. Good Ol Boys. Toxic environment.

    Advice to Management

    Hire next CEO externally.

    McCarthy Building2019-07-04
Found 198 reviews