Pepperfry Reviews

Updated 16 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
49%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Pepperfry Founder & COO  Ashish Shah
Ashish Shah
54 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "no work life balance in pepperfry(in 9 reviews)

  • "Politics, favouritism by seniors, 0 work life balance, 5 days a week just on paper, no HR policies, hire and fire policy(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good platform to learn more things"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Operations Manager in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperfry full-time

    Pros

    Very good culture and platform to learn more things

    Cons

    no such things in the company

    Continue reading
    Pepperfry2020-05-10
  2. "Good Company and a lot to learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader Supply Chain in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperfry full-time

    Pros

    It's a good company and has a lot to learn for newcomers.

    Cons

    No cons as such in this company

    Continue reading
    Pepperfry2020-05-16
  3. "Zero work life balance and full of fake promises! Stay away..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pepperfry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work space is the only thing which is good.

    Cons

    Absurd work timings: They used to make us work for 11hours for 3 days/week and 2 days/week 5.5hours. Who even does this? Zero work life balance: You cannot possibly get your leaves approved and they are not even carry forwarded. So basically you have to work even when you need a leave badly. Fake promises: I was promised along with other new joiners that we will be getting incentives on quarterly basis. And of course not even a single person received it. Employees < Slave : The employees were treated nothing less than slaves. All the wanted is to make maximum profit out of every employee. Hire and fire: The always hire more than required and by then fire more than half of the batch before they complete 2/3 months. Total fraud website: So this company has no return and no refund policy which is never conveyed to the customers. So all the complaints have to be handled by the customer service team, which used to be very difficult. Please don't join the company until and unless you are ready to get fooled by them.

    Continue reading
    Pepperfry2020-05-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good workplace, Bad Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperfry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is lot to learn You can switch the domain if you want to explore Work friendly environment

    Cons

    1. Worst Management 2. HR dept is a laugh. Its handled by someone with zero background of HR management. It is dept which is there but does nothing. 3. People are hired only to get profit out them. Empathy towards employee is ZERO 4. Doesn't provide Performance bonus. Forget this post you join. Management's only job throughtout the quarter is to find a reason which can be used as a shield to not give Performance Bonus. 5. For CEO saving money is Employee's Salary bucket. Regular Salary cuts for any hairline movement in market. Forget Performance bonus. 6. Tech dept doesn't have voice and beleive me this is an Ecommerce company. 7. CXOs doesn't have voice. 8. A shortsighted management with only vision is getting to profitability. To get there they are crushing and in future too will crush the dreams. 9. Townhalls are done only for name sake. Good thing you can learn from CEO is segwaying out of questions asked. 10. Management loves to hear 3 employee if they say yes you are doing right and neglacte another 497. You will come across this line when you join very often in you daily life at Peppefry "Remember x is god"

    Continue reading
    Pepperfry2020-04-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nice work environment, good exposure to technology"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Pepperfry full-time

    Pros

    Nice work environment, good exposure to technology, team support

    Cons

    Salary cut, no offsite as previous

    Pepperfry2020-02-26
  6. "Work Experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pepperfry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open office system, client interaction helps in building entrepreneurial instincts

    Cons

    Poor customer service and escalation management, laid back managers

    Continue reading
    Pepperfry2020-02-29
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Stressful job in Studios"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Studio Manager in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperfry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing to give as such

    Cons

    1.working hours- you are expected to work at least 9.30 hrs a day with just one weekday off and that too is spoiled boz you need to handle customer escalation as well their frustration. 2.Being the face of the org, clients come back to you bcoz 99% the products are always damaged and you need to listen to their foul language and I'll treatment. 3. The escalation dept is very pathetic in taking any return or refunds bcoz their costs goes very high so the customer comes back for your neck. 4. Processes keeps on changing everyday, it becomes difficult to convince customers with changed policies. 5. Work from home is given to back end team with not even slightest consideration that we studio team are the bread earners of the co. 6. Off sites are planned and entire operations are shut for those 3days except studio team. 1person will always be there in each studios and that's very unfair to them. They expect the business in those 3days too. 7. Many events, fun activities, 2weekoffs are planned for the Head office team but there is no such fun activities ever done to uplift the studio team who infact are the most hardworking people in entire org. 8. Efforts are never appreciated. Infact if you perform well, from next month there will be an added pressure to do better. 9. In small studios only 2people work and if someone takes even 2days off, unfortunately 2nd personneeds to mandatorily work from 10.30 to 9 pm. 10. Work from home was only given when govt came to our rescue otherwise there was no minute thought given for our safety. Overall it's not at all employees oriented and they just need no. And sales that's all. 11. Many people working for more than 2years and senior level positions are doing fraud in sales by having access to Bridge, specially West team. The AM's and RM's are involved too in these activities. Due to which, small studios working diligently and hard are finding it difficult to match them.(Hope the CEO and CXO reads this and take action) 12. There is a lot of politics involved due to which there is no growth at all for any low level employees that are working hard and 30% employees are leaving due to this. 13.Due to low economy, we are forced to not leave our jobs and switch that's the reason we are suffering day in and day out. 14. Never consider studio operations to join. I can't talk about any other dept they might be good but studio teams are pathetic, utter most disgusting to work with.

    Pepperfry2020-03-21
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Member of activation/studio team at Pepperfry ( an insensitive organization )"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Studio Manager in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperfry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The activation team in the south is a good team to be a part of. The Regional Manager believes in having a strong problem solving approach and the same flows to the Area Managers in South, they're way better than those from the West. You take a problem to them, expect a solution to the same. Areas Managers in South are cooperative and helpful. They will guide you through, when you get stuck. Be it processes or be it escalations. Salary comes on time, there is no hassel with this. Salary is competitive in the market. No uniform for studio team, it's different from other retail showrooms. Flexibility in wearing smart casuals on all working days. If you are in the studio team, you most probably have the best working office with well done interiors.

    Cons

    Things change on the fly - we have had pay cuts. Mandatory extra unpaid working hours on Weekends ie 10 hours shift ( compulsary on weekends ). Insensitive and inconsiderate- during corona virus( Covid 19) , our stores are open. We are in customer facing roles without gloves, masks and sufficient santizers. When everything is shut, we are working. The company has again failed in understanding and valuing their employees. Deceptive incentive structure- along with being based on your performance, it's based on companies performance. Even after all stores achieving their target, we didn't receive bonus as the company didn't achieve their profitability goals ( Btw, store targets were decided by the company basis their goals, so lol ). Inefficient escalation management- escalations are not resolved in promised TAT, and we being customer facing have to face the brunt of it from the customers. Managers of Mumbai activation team are PATHETIC. They're ill spoken and ill mannered bunch of bots. They give 0 hoots to the problems you've been facing in day to day operations, will run behind numbers without providing solutions to the problems. The leaders in this team won't stand by you when needed.

    Continue reading
    Pepperfry2020-03-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A lot depends on your manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pepperfry full-time

    Pros

    1. You can learn a lot. 2. Company is quite transparent. You can ask questions, and get real answers.

    Cons

    Work pressure is quite high. Don't be surprised if you have to work weekends. Things can change on the fly.

    Pepperfry2020-01-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Pepperfry full-time

    Pros

    - no sales target. - no reports handling

    Cons

    Nothing new to learn or experience

    Pepperfry2020-02-02
Found 105 reviews