Rio Tinto Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Rio Tinto Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Rio Tinto Chief Executive Jean-Sébastien Jacques
Jean-Sébastien Jacques
207 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "FIFO lifestyle can take a toll on work/life balance(in 22 reviews)

  • "Limited scope for career progression, scope of work limited to transactional, very frequent changes in organisation structure(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "one of the best organisations that i have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    best people , best culture , best practices !!

    Cons

    the dynamics change too frequently but it is not the result anyone's performance rather it is more focused on the business requirements & demands

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-11-01

    Rio Tinto Response

    January 7, 2020Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for your contribution as an employee for several years! We def thrive in a fast paced environment and are happy to hear you appreciate the people and culture!

    Continue reading
  2. "Poor Poor Very Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Advisor Finance in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary Free mobile rest all bad

    Cons

    Alert alert alert... Zero job security they will fire people without notice...They offer you the designation than they shift you to other profile. than after sometime they fire you... 70 employees fire in one year and 40 employees hire.

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2020-01-08
  3. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Gurgaon, Haryana

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work culture in terms of transparency and a friendly working environment. Leadership is great and always with the teams. Lot of scope for learning and reward for hard work, no looking back for employees who are keen to work hard and grow. Excellent infrastructure and great technology in use.

    Cons

    Really no cons to share

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-11-20
  4. "Big Gamble- Try your luck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Advisor in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So RIO is an amazing company with amazing culture and with full of people who respect and value other's time. Company cares a lot about wellness, security and work life balance. Lot has been done, lot could be done and tremendous scope of growth. Fairly good chances are given to internal candidates for vertical and horizontal growth. All in all , keeping senior management aside ( the one who tend to make operating plans/ strategy ) , its by far the best in its cadre

    Cons

    Indecisive management, too much changes in operating plans and strategy. They might hire you for one role and may scrap that role in the next month. You can be laid off anytime. Absolutely ruthless when it comes to job security. You cannot plan a career with RIO irrespective of the fact that you have spend 15 years in this company. You can be and you will be laid off anytime.

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-10-17
  5. "IT sap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MNC culture , safety conscious

    Cons

    Not much presence in India

    Rio Tinto2019-08-05

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are indeed very focused on safety and happy that you see this as positive as well. Thank you for your contribution while working at Rio Tinto.

    Continue reading
  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    global exposure, flexible working hours

    Cons

    nothing special to be added

    Rio Tinto2019-07-12
  7. "Resourcing Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture, learning, great leaders

    Cons

    Risk, Stability issues, strict timelines, no wfh

    Rio Tinto2019-06-21

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback and for your contribution as an employee for several years! We are happy to hear that you enjoy the culture and leadership team. We will continue to invest in our employees and look at ways to improve in all that we do. We work with local HR to share the information we receive here and of course through our global surveys, so please keep sharing!

    Continue reading
  8. "One of the best places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1)Impeccable work life balance 2)No other organisation gives so much importance to employee wellbeing 3)Encourages learning & development

    Cons

    There have been issue of few job losses due to global operating model change

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-05-28

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback and for your contribution to the business for so many years! Our employees are our number one resource so it is great to hear that you feel cared for through our varied employee wellness programs.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great salary but nothing else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Advisor in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, great work-life balance, safety culture is very good.

    Cons

    Zero job security, hire and fire at will. Too many changes happening without proper planning. Hiring contractor rather than giving opportunities to employees. No growth opportunity is there as promotions are not happening and even company does not like to offer any type of training. Managers do not have career progression discussions. Some promotions happened but there is no transparency, suddenly create position and fill it with manager's choice of person. Mantra for success in finance team is do more noise than work. Cannot speak for other teams.

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-05-10
  10. "Supervisor/Team lead - Executive support team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance use to exit

    Cons

    Redundancy is extremely high & job loss fear all the time

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2019-05-05
Found 818 reviews