Safeway Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Safeway Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4404 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO Bob Miller
Bob Miller
854 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Safeway full-time

      Pros

      Retail,Trust, vision,Friendly,Best place to work with

      Cons

      No advice from my end

      Advice to Management

      None

      Safeway2018-02-06
    • "Positive environment and no complaints"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Front End Cashier in White Rock, BC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Safeway part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      No discrimination, best place to work peacefully, Good and supportive management and unionized company.

      Cons

      Promotions and salary increase very slowly.

      Safeway2019-07-17
    • "I worked at one of the Washington, D.C locations..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Safeway part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Worked with a great team I trusted at the time but most have left or moved to other sites

      Cons

      - low pay rate - once it transitioned to Albertson's, the number of completing prescriptions per day increased significantly-- operational process is quite inefficient. It's all a numbers game to ensure that the store is making money but doesn't account for how many people picked up and actually completed the transaction. More work for the techs and less pay.

      Advice to Management

      Manage your stress levels so it doesn't affect those who work under you. Pay techs more-- they do the bulk of the work and are treated poorly! Pharmacy Techs are undervalued and they have important jobs.

      Safeway2019-07-17
    • "hard worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ

        I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        It's a great company to work for

        Cons

        none that l can think of

        Advice to Management

        keep up the great work

        Safeway2019-07-15
      • "Decent company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Spokane, WA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Flexible scheduling, good people, easy work.

        Cons

        You never know if hours will be available per department with constant labor adjustments.

        Safeway2019-07-16
      • "I enjoyed working with Safeway"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Fountain Hills, AZ
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Meeting new people every day .

        Cons

        Get tired standing .putting up with angry people.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good work

        Safeway2019-07-15
      • "Working at safeway"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Pic 

          I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Its relatively easy to move into a management position

          Cons

          There is a lot of turnover in the standard positions

          Safeway2019-07-15
        • "Love the night crew"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Night Stocker in Florence, OR
          Recommends

          I have been working at Safeway full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          It's very quiet. No customers

          Cons

          Freight...lol... just kidding. I love night crew!!!

          Advice to Management

          Keep up the good work

          Safeway2019-07-13
        • "Only worked there for a short period"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk/Bagger in Rockville, MD
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Got great stories from it and first time working experience For me great management at my store Wasn't to stressful Got to interact with a lot of people

          Cons

          I hadn't worked their for long, but it seemed like there wasnt alot of room for advancement Most people don't stay very long Those who did, didn't seem very happy. Would have to carry the slack of lazy co-workers some times Had a Co-worker who was pregnant, was having difficulties getting her benefits.

          Advice to Management

          Fire lazy workers

          Safeway2019-07-13
        • "Friendly, fast paced"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Safeway

            Pros

            Very friendly group of people, many have been there for 10 years and up, lots of experience, family oriented, customer first

            Cons

            Little turnover with older employees leaves you stuck at the bottom of the totem pole for too long, this also breeds lots of frustrating inefficiencies

            Advice to Management

            Try to cross train newer people and give opportunities to change duties

            Safeway2019-07-13
          Found 4404 reviews