Safeway Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO  Bob Miller
Bob Miller
934 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Project Manager"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Safeway full-time

    Pros

    Retail,Trust, vision,Friendly,Best place to work with

    Cons

    No advice from my end

    Continue reading
    Safeway2018-02-06
  2. "Good Benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Pay, Pension, Discount at stores, Easiest job you will ever have.

    Cons

    Schedule is not ideal, you will not work days (need 10 plus years) and always at least one weekend day(30 plus years).

    Safeway2020-06-04
  3. "A good job for high school students"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safeway - Starbucks Barista in Concord, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Consistent hours, good management if you're lucky. Somewhat consistent workload

    Cons

    You experience will depend on your store, if you're lucky enough to get a good store like me, you'll have a good time. Otherwise, good luck.

    Safeway2020-06-02
  4. "It was a job"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Arnold, MD

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not busy during early morning shifts

    Cons

    -Understaffed at night -You'd get fired if you accepted tips -Joining the union was mandatory and they take $12 out of your weekly paycheck but don't give you any benefits until you've been there at least a year.

    Safeway2020-06-02
  5. "Always on your feet, but not bored"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    Pleasant customers and coworkers, not as many ridiculous orders as other locations

    Cons

    Depending on hiring status, can be the only one working a rush

    Safeway2020-05-28
  6. "Hi friends"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courtesy Clerk/Bagger in Helena, MT
    Recommends

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best customer service good food

    Cons

    Fast passed all the time

    Continue reading
    Safeway2020-05-24
  7. "Alright Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meat/Seafood Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Depending on who your department manager is, you can have an amazingly relaxed (yet productive) department. My manager is great at his job and genuinely cares about his employees. - Scheduling is generally very flexible, and management is very willing to work around school schedules for students.

    Cons

    - Depending on who the closing meat cutter is, cleaning the department can be very tedious. Often times, they do not make an effort to help with trash or bale their boxes, and won't break down the equipment. - Often times it seems like there is not enough help in the department, so it isn't uncommon for a meat/seafood clerk to not finish their closing list. It's the nature of the job, but it still feels bad to leave the opener with work.

    Continue reading
    Safeway2020-05-21
  8. "Dodgy coworkers"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Duvall, WA

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management was pretty steady for a place like this

    Cons

    Management liked to breath down your throat and people would call out all the time or not show up for work at all.

    Safeway2020-06-04
  9. "Ugh"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Clerk in Gillette, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff only thing ok

    Cons

    Horrible bosses just horrible management

    Continue reading
    Safeway2020-06-04
  10. "About what you would expect"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Courtsey Clerk in Salem, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, very social, union potential

    Cons

    for a large company the favoritism was very obvious

    Continue reading
    Safeway2020-05-14
Found 4741 reviews