Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Shopify Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
385 Ratings
Pros
  • "You work from home which is best decision I ever made as well as helping the planet(in 56 reviews)

  • "Lots of freedom to work on new ideas, in-house chefs and great benefits(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "The experiences that gurus have seems to be very different from that of RnD/ other disciplines(in 27 reviews)

  • "There are no cons I can think of(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "10x your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A company that encourages you to learn and push yourself further every day. It values ownership, accountability, learning and thriving on change.

    Cons

    Work environment can get somewhat stressful from time to time.

    Shopify2019-07-09
  2. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work remote and this is a place that gives you freedom to work whenever you want as long as you get your work done. If you are self motivated, love to learn, can handle stress and change then this is the place for you.

    Cons

    May seem hard for people who are not self motivated or need a lot of guidance at work.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-15
  3. "Great Company with Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shopify Guru in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Excellent company culture and great people -Good career opportunities and mobility -Fast paced and exciting environment and space to work in -Remote work and other benefits

    Cons

    -Salary for Gurus is a bit low -Remote work can be hard to manage for some people

    Shopify2020-02-13
  4. "It's a really great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, good salary, paid sick days, awesome coworkers and okey benefits

    Cons

    very, very high stress. You have to be tough to do this job. It burns everyone out at some point and it can be really overwhelming.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-05
  5. "I work with brilliant and talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at Shopify for quite some time now and I have to say that the people are absolutely amazing.

    Cons

    It's a growing company and sometimes shows its growing pains

    Shopify2020-02-04
  6. "Overall great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture, amazing perks, talented people

    Cons

    Lack of transparency from higher ups. Lots of hierarchy/processes, so it takes forever for something to be shipped.

    Shopify2020-02-02
  7. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Corp Dev in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    next level leadership, mission, perks, & performance. there will be books written about how this company is managed so differently from others.

    Cons

    scaling is always hard; keeping the very unique ethos and culture as we go global

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-01-30
  8. "Fastest, biggest game in town. Once in a lifetime phase of growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Engineering in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Shopify is at the top of the Canadian technology scene. Smart, performance oriented, crazy sustained growth means you will see things you can’t see anywhere else. This is how the big companies you know about happened and it’s happening to a Canadian company. You can help. Wins matter in this business and Shopify is winning.

    Cons

    Pace and growth rate mean even though the company has the best of intentions, often challenges happen because no one has solved issues yet. Sometimes it’s fun being in the rocket but sometimes the g-forces can get you.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-01-29
  9. "Fantastic company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great growth opportunities, and opportunities to mentor and be mentored - Lots of freedom, people treat each other like adults - Fantastic culture, open and transparent, anyone can question decisions - I get to work with smart, nice people every day on interesting problems - The company really cares about getting better

    Cons

    - The experiences that gurus have seems to be very different from that of RnD/ other disciplines. - Things change quickly, you have to get used to that

    Shopify2020-01-30
  10. "Guru"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Pays well, treats you well

    Cons

    Remote work can be difficult

    Shopify2020-01-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 521 reviews