Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Shopify Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
348 Ratings
Pros
  • "You work from home which is best decision I ever made as well as helping the planet(in 51 reviews)

  • "Lots of freedom to work on new ideas, in-house chefs and great benefits(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some gurus are straight up smarter(in 22 reviews)

  • "Creating your healthy work life balance is important(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Guru Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    No cons, love this job,

    Shopify2019-10-23
  2. "Great people, good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, perks and culture. Felt cared for

    Cons

    Lots of chaos, still learning how to be a big company. A few jerks

    Advice to Management

    We need more managers ASAP

    Shopify2019-10-16
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior 3D Artist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great food, lots of smart and interesting people, an executive team that is forward thinking. Employees are empowered and trusted.

    Cons

    The company tends to attract a lot of elitist people.

    Shopify2019-10-14
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture! Love the environment.

    Cons

    Not the most challenging problems to solve.

    Shopify2019-10-11
  5. "10/10 and only getting better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative - Guru in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Company Structure, Benefits, Communication and HR, Culture ‘For Days’ Modern style company that looks at more than just what you have gone to school for, but rather what you have and can accomplish.

    Cons

    Long, but worth-it hiring process.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Shopify2019-10-09
  6. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance and good pay.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Shopify2019-10-21
  7. "Partner specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Specialist in Galway
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best company for personal growth You work from home which is best decision I ever made as well as helping the planet

    Cons

    None the company is all good

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do

    Shopify2019-10-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work culture, they genuinely care about your concerns and your growth

    Cons

    Not necessarily a con but it is very fast paced which can prove difficult for some people. Just something to keep in mind

    Shopify2019-09-28
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru in Donegal
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Remote work Good pay Great atmosphere

    Cons

    None to mention as of yet

    Shopify2019-09-25
  10. "Best company for designers in Toronto"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    • Extremely strong design culture • High compensation • Highly specialized creative roles (content strategy, illustration, UX, visual, motion, front-end UX etc) • Highly interconnected work

    Cons

    If you want to wear multiple hats and work multiple roles (eg. design and code, or illustration and UX) it's unlikely to be able to do that at such a large company. That's more of a scrappy, start-up work style.

    Shopify2019-09-24
Found 471 reviews