Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Shopify Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 367 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
279 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home while being treated like a regular employee(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, you can make a lot of good friends, working remotely is nice(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Creating your healthy work life balance is important(in 11 reviews)

  • "you need to be very self driven to succeed here (which is a pro for a lot of people)(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    I've been with Shopify for 4.5 years and I've held numerous positions here. The opportunity for growth is amazing, as long as you put the work in and show your drive and level of impact.

    Cons

    There are definitely growing pains from "the good old days" but honestly... there aren't many cons. This company treats their employees exceptionally well.

    Shopify2018-09-26
  2. "still a great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture is still one of the best in the tech industry & there's a lot of transparency around the vision of the company. Loved my whole team and most of the projects we worked on.

    Cons

    It's starting to move slowly for a scale up. Pay is 15-20% under market and it's starting to show with Amazon & FB now paying 15-25% above market, especially in Toronto.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing but maintain your competitive edge above all.

    Shopify2019-04-24
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Be careful of the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and perks. An amazing CEO. A good name to have on your resume. Good potential for growth in the some roles/depts. Probably a great place to work if you're a developer without a lot of experience or right out of school. Also a good place to work if you find value in working hard and moving through big amounts of work and are not particularly focused on results or problem solving. I think pretty much all...

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is going through very fast growth and some depts have serious issues with very bad management due to having to fill roles quickly. The company also doesn't follow it's own policies so you need to be very careful if you do end up with a bad lead, there is a line in your employment contract that says you can be terminated at any point without cause, this is likely to be used to terminate you if you raise issues...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take some time to make sure your own policies and procedures are being followed and when they aren't (because they aren't) find out why and hold people accountable. Take more notice of what is happening lower down in depts and find ways to ensure that the managers of departments are doing their jobs correctly.

    Shopify2019-04-16
  4. "Will Never Leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Shopify is awesome. I'm happier than I have ever been at work. - You see the mission and values of Shopify played out in your everyday work. Management really is trying to democratize commerce. Our work has real impact on thousands of people around the world. - Real opportunity to make an impact. High value put into personal growth and development (conferences, books, training, courses) all covered by Shopify....

    Show More

    Cons

    Anywhere you work there is going to something to complain about, and obviously that's the same here. It's not the environment for everyone. There's a lot of autonomy. There's not a playbook for how you do your job. You need to be a self-started and self-motivated. There's also not a lot of coasting. It's hard, we're solving meaty problems, and there's a lot of change.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Keep making sure that as we continue to grow, the culture you worked to create is truly being curated in the right way

    Shopify2019-04-16
  5. "Guru"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, and the benefits

    Cons

    Advancement in company is slow and or hard

    Advice to Management

    Management is good, could limit down culture change

    Shopify2019-04-17
  6. "love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    constant learning, incredible growth, unique and thoughtful culture

    Cons

    you have to be comfortable with constant change and challenge

    Advice to Management

    keep it up!

    Shopify2019-04-15
  7. "Guru"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The benefits, work culture, and perks are top-notch. I feel that other businesses have a lot to learn from how Shopify treats it's employees

    Cons

    not a thing to report here

    Shopify2019-04-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Success Guru"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture. Great perks. Good benefits. Big, but still growing. Equity share. Mental health support.

    Cons

    Salary range is quite small, so if you don't get a promotion you'll hit your cap pretty. Support can sometimes feel like a lesser part of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what your employees need in order to stay with Shopify. Most people don't want to change companies every 3 years just so they can advance their career.

    Shopify2019-04-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Past its prime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Squad Lead in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked for Shopify for over 3.5 years before quitting at the start of this year. When I started, it had a great company culture and treated its employees with trust and respect. I genuinely felt supported in my growth and didn't ever see myself wanting to leave.

    Cons

    - The culture in the support org has changed from being a truly unique place to work into a typical call centre job where the front line support agents are being squeezed for every drop of output. - They pay well below industry standard for what is actually expected out of employees now, while still trying to sell it as above. - The expectations for roles in the support org are vague and only used to fire people,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring for management roles externally or hiring people who don't have any experience with the roles that they're managing. They don't have the context to understand what their actions and decisions mean to people below them.

    Shopify2019-04-22
  10. "Best job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shopify Guru in Wellington, Wellington
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Amazing company culture - Insanely awesome perks - Good compensation - Growth opportunities - Challenging and exciting - Work with cool, intelligent, innovative people

    Cons

    It's kind of terrifying when you first enter guruland - training and mentoring could really do with being extended.

    Advice to Management

    Extend training time or give more to new gurus. Otherwise, keep doing what you're doing, I'm proud to work here!

    Shopify2019-04-10
Found 367 reviews