Skyscanner Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Skyscanner Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 195 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Skyscanner CEO Bryan Dove  (no image)
Bryan Dove
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Supportive of work/life balance(in 26 reviews)

  • "There are many inspiring and great leaderships to learn from, flexible working environment as they put trust in each people to be productive(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too much consensus decision-making: I'm not sure why they keep promoting this tribe/squad structuring when tribe leads refuse to lead and do their job(in 10 reviews)

  • "Career progression, especially progress beyond a senior engineer, is not very transparent(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Travel meets strong engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Budapest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ability to change: Leadership reacts seriously to employee feedback and drives change. I've seen broken processes dropped, bad decisions reversed, salary bands fixed. Strong and approachable technical leadership: Experts are within a chat message away no matter if it's Android, Kafka, Kubernetes, you name it. Same for leadership and management. Also you can use their network. Working on a successful... large-scale B2C travel service: Personally I love (sustainable) travel and the industry keeps amazing me. Lightweight processes, minimal waste of time: Auto-approvals for travel, teams decide their own processes, easy budgeting, rotations across teams and sites.

    Show More

    Cons

    Slow recruitment process on some sites. Lack of accountability. I'm not missing punishment but making sure that when something goes wrong we take responsibility and fix it. A weak, not lovable brand as of now (2019). Not too much open source work, lack of visibility on conferences, blogs.

    Advice to Management

    Empower people on all levels to take risks. It's a stable business that can afford radical changes.

    Skyscanner2019-09-13
  2. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning culture, autonomy and help from Senior leadership team.

    Cons

    Can be more transparent on future plans

    Skyscanner2019-09-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Remains staggeringly ambitious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked in Skyscanner for several years and it amazes me how ambitious the company is. Very little complacency, big ideas and a culture second to none. I've never worked somewhere where the culture is so profoundly important.

    Cons

    Big ideas brings big complexity, which causes stresses and strains

    Skyscanner2019-09-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Really enjoying work at Skyscanner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Has given me a number of opportunities to continue learn & grow alongside similarly motivated and enthusiastic colleagues. I feel my managers have listened to my feedback over my first 12 months and that is appreciated.

    Cons

    Continued growth brings organisational and technical debt and things that worked yesterday may not work today. Not really a con - just flagging that there is a degree of ongoing change.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening, keep supporting / encouraging and keep developing opportunities to learn and grow. Thanks.

    Skyscanner2019-08-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Growth Exeuctive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Growth Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to start your growth

    Cons

    Company direction changed very frequently

    Skyscanner2019-08-23
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Heading in the wrong directions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great product for now - Flexibly at work

    Cons

    - Recently taking extremely top down approach and are unconvinced for the most of employees due to lack of rationality perspectives - Some of recent CxOs fail to build trust from employees due to the lack of sense of customer perspectives

    Advice to Management

    Work for customers rather than work for what you want to achieve in your role

    Skyscanner2019-08-13
  7. "Want to code? Not the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great friendly co-workers - Convenient central office

    Cons

    If you are a doer, rather than a talker, then steer clear of this place. In the interview you are sold visions and values that this company no longer follows. There is "agile", its more code this one change and spend the next week creating documentation about it. No one gets promoted based on ability to perform, but rather on who you suck up to. Constantly recruiting in order to replace the number of people... that are leaving.

    Show More
    Skyscanner2019-09-14
  8. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, flat hierarchy, Informal, nice pantry

    Cons

    Few promotion levels, basic graduate program

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent and truthful.

    Skyscanner2019-08-05
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Growth Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - most "human" and high trust environment I've ever worked for. If you have a newborn, you can basically WFH and dial in for all the meetings - working with a group of a caring yet highly intelligent group will inspire to grow and improve - you can learn and grow whichever way you want in your career

    Cons

    - change strategy or restructure too many times which signals that top management wasn't clear what they want - product improvement or iterations are slower than any competitors in the region

    Skyscanner2019-08-07
  10. "Skyscanner really cares abouts its staff, its customers and its partners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Most engaged and available exec team I have ever worked with - Teams are truly empowered to deliver impact and adapt how they work

    Cons

    - facing the typical challenges of a company going through this stage of growth

    Skyscanner2019-08-01
Found 195 reviews