Tableau Software Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Tableau Software Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Tableau Software CEO Adam Selipsky
Adam Selipsky
223 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great product that customers love(in 81 reviews)

  • "This is the first job where I feel like my work/life balance is valued and truly in balance(in 76 reviews)

Cons
  • "Since the company grew so fast so quickly, we experienced many growing pains along the way(in 50 reviews)

  • "The company is growing at a good pace, however we need more space for everyone(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Product, great Customer Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Consultant in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software

    Pros

    1. Product is good and upgraded to keep customer requirements first 2. Colleagues are good and helpful 3. Company has a very good connect built across Dev and consulting teams

    Cons

    1. India Team is very small hence growth options within India limited 2. Only Sales and Presales support in India. All other support functions are provided through centralised international teams 3. Tableau does not have a dedicated focus for India Customers

    Tableau Software2016-12-23
  2. "Tableau Software, Inc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist 

    I worked at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, snacks, product, work-life balance.

    Cons

    Tableau has an opportunity to improve on compensation and growth opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to retain talent you should rethink being competitive in compensation, and prioritize the growth of your employees.

    Tableau Software2020-01-20
  3. "Public Sector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time

    Pros

    I have been here for almost 4 years when Public Sector had weak leadership, no vision, and little accountability. I read the previous review and couldn't disagree more. It is refreshing to see current leadership taking the team to a new level, and holding people who have been complacent for many years accountable. This team needed to be shaken up and desparately needed leadership. Thank God we have a leader we can rally behind and get things done. I couldn't be prouder of the changes and where we are going. Those who are complaining are the people who are the problem. They just need to get on board or leave.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is alot if uncertainty over the impact Salesforce will have. Public Sector leaders have been pretty transparent and it is helping. Corporate leadership could communicate more. Some feel they are out of tune to the worries in the field.

    Advice to Management

    Find more strong leaders to complement the new leaders who joined over the past year, and flush out those who have been coasting over the past few years.

    Tableau Software2020-01-15
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely people, some perks great work environment.

    Cons

    Pressure and over time.

    Tableau Software2020-01-19
  5. "Great people, company in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Connector in Kirkland, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of well intentioned people. Great product that is liked by customers

    Cons

    Too many changes being attempted by senior leadership to keep the company relevant. Most of them unsuccessful, resulting in a frustrated and confused workforce

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose sight of the roots of the company. It is possible to evolve and stay competitive without becoming a faceless corporation

    Tableau Software2020-01-18
  6. "Amazing company that launched my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved my experience at Tableau! The culture, the people, and the product are all fantastic.

    Cons

    There isn't a lot of opportunity for growth and it's very easy to hit your ceiling, (which is typically anything past a Sr. Manager role). Once you hit it, you can expect to stay stuck for 3 years or more unless you are willing to move to HQ. If there had been a next step for me I definitely would have stayed.

    Advice to Management

    Define career paths and opportunities. Don't make it so difficult to move from each segment of the business, (commercial, enterprise, public sector) in order to retain talent. Be transparent in pay structures. Refusing a raise to tenured and performing employees only to hire new people at an even higher salary is demoralizing.

    Tableau Software2020-01-14
  7. "great place team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and great

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Advice to Management

    I do not have any advice

    Tableau Software2020-01-11
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture At this company and smart people

    Cons

    There are none at the moment

    Tableau Software2020-01-08
  9. "Tremendously Fast Company Growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer in Kirkland, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tableau Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employees and management tend to be very kind and understanding, the benefits are excellent. There's a lot of "morale events" and free food, which are nice!

    Cons

    The company is growing much faster than it can handle adjusting to. There is a high turnover as a result, and a lot of burnout in the senior employees.

    Advice to Management

    Move slower. Stop changing job responsibility and piling extra responsibility onto your techs by disguising it as "opportunities for advancement". The tech department is not great at helping people advance, and the main help that comes from management is "I will provide support (encouragement and cheerleading)" vs. "I can help you find the proper channels and get you in touch". There's a lot of "help" that is basically managers telling people to "figure it out themselves". Thicken out the management and employees if this is what keeps happening!

    Show More
    Tableau Software2020-01-16
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative 

    I have been working at Tableau Software full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, great benefits, upward mobility

    Cons

    Lower pay than other competitors

    Tableau Software2019-12-24
Found 666 reviews