Vaco Reviews

Updated 27 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Vaco Co-Founder and CEO Jerry Bostelman
Jerry Bostelman
166 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance and work hard/play hard mentality(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great people who know how to have a great time even when the job may get hard(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Inconsistent work placements and low pay(in 21 reviews)

  • "Not sure the sale on being hired on full time through a contractor position is always as realistic as told(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good company to work with"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vaco full-time

    Pros

    staff is very cooperative and humble.

    Cons

    less salary as per the industry standard

    Vaco2018-10-21
  2. "Analyst"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vaco full-time

    Pros

    Cabs and meals provided at the campus. Good for a short term job.

    Cons

    On a long run growth is very low. Negligible amount of appraisal. No coordination between managers and HR teams and the employee's before making any decision for the team.

    Continue reading
    Vaco2019-07-29
  3. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Testing in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vaco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you will definitely find job

    Cons

    No issues about that, i am ready to work with challenge.

    Continue reading
    Vaco2019-06-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Vaco is One of the best firms to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SQL Server Database Administrator in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vaco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, Quick response, Employee welfare company i have ever seen. Support is too good and with quick response. They maintain good relationship with clients with a regular touch base.

    Cons

    I did not feel any thing negative

    Vaco2020-05-07
  5. "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Fishers, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vaco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance and work hard/play hard mentality. They know how to spend $ to make money with their employees. Glad to wear the Vaco jersey!

    Cons

    Wish they would allow more work from home options.

    Vaco2020-05-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vaco full-time

    Pros

    Good starter entry level job. Decent to good pay. Hours are good. Managerial staff is very understanding and will work with you.

    Cons

    Maybe just the pay at first and some of the medical benefits as a whole. For where I’m at in life this is good. Some kind of slight discrepancies between teams.

    Continue reading
    Vaco2020-04-28
  7. "More of a job than a career"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Manager At Google for Education in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vaco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free food, nice coworkers, great location

    Cons

    Low compensation, Bad benefits, No upward mobility, Unchallenging but high volume work,

    Vaco2020-05-14
  8. "Not for long-term"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Brentwood, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vaco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office amenities like the gym and lounge.

    Cons

    Working here could be fun but it isn't for a long term because of very limited opportunity for career growth. I had high hopes for my career and I wanted to grow while staying for a company for long. However, this place don't offer the kind of career growth that I was aiming for. Working here isn't for a long-term especially when you have career goals to achieve.

    Continue reading
    Vaco2020-05-28
  9. "If you absolutely need work, don't stay here long"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worked On A Product Team 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vaco full-time

    Pros

    - interview process is quick - bonded with some fellow contractors - snacks and drinks

    Cons

    It took me a long time to write this review because I was paranoid of the repercussions, but I feel that it is important for me to shared my experience. Vaco's objective is to get the most work out of you, for the least money, and offer no channels for growth. Professional Development: - they do not care about your professional development, and will actively block you from growing or advancing despite proving your abilities and skills. - I was told, verbatim, that there is no guarantee for any title change, advancement, or raise of any kind, at any point. This might make sense for a contract role that is for 6 months or a year. But most of these contract roles are not actually "contract" and referred to, internally, as "on-going" roles. It's designed this way to keep people in roles that are clearly essential to the company that is outsourcing them, while being able to pay a fraction for what they would pay if they hired them full-time. I know people who have been in their "contract" position for 5+ years. Pay: - If you try to negotiate pay when given an offer, they will eagerly remind you that they can give the job to someone else. Because they partner with such big companies like Google, they will use the allure of that to try to strong-arm you into a low pay. Don't fall for it. Be aware of whether what they are offering is competitive pay and if it is a livable wage. - Even if, while in the role, your scope of work has expanded from your original job description, the only way you will get a raise, is if you tirelessly fight for it, and even then, you are likely to only get a very small raise, if any at all. Teams vary, but for mine, we had an annual review, but we WERE NOT ALLOWED to discuss pay or title. If there aren't any channels to discuss pay, figure out who your HR rep is (not your manager, which in my experience they referred to as my HR rep, but did not actually have the information needed or power to make any changes with HR concerns). The real HR rep is the only person who can help you if you find yourself in this situation. It took me a year of being stonewalled by my manager (my red herring"HR rep") and my manger's manager before they were tired of me, and referred me to my real HR rep. It took one year to discover this person. One year. Benefits: - Insurance Packages are expensive - OT will rarely be approved (even though, you will likely find yourself in a position where you will need to work overtime) - There is no paid vacation-- so, calculate that into what you believe is fair pay and negotiate anyway. They WILL low-ball you. - No 401k match - LOOK CLOSELY at their holiday policy, and question it. It is purposefully confusing, and they change their policies frequently. Example: if you take a sick day the week before, during, or after a week with a holiday, you will forfeit your holiday pay. - You do not get paid for holidays that your contracted company has, and for companies like Google, they have A LOT of holidays. They will also tell you that working on those holidays are not allowed. It's not true. Challenge it.

    Continue reading
    Vaco2020-05-25
  10. "Great Contractor, but too bad it merged with another."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vaco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great work/life balance onsite at a large tech campus had its perks

    Cons

    lack of work-at-home. only one healthcare coverage plan available that was too expensive compared to private individual options.

    Vaco2020-05-01
Found 354 reviews
</>Embed