Wordplay Content Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Wordplay Content Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Wordplay Content CEO Neil Krshna
Neil Krshna
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Variety of Projects, Lot of Learning, Homely Ambience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wordplay Content full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Will be completing 2 years at Wordplay Content in Feb and I must say that the journey has been pretty good. My journey here has its share of highs and lows but I can say the days of lows are gone as the company has completely transformed into a new one. We all are working as a family here, and the management maintains complete transparency. Regardless of what happened in the past, every single employee can vouch... for one thing, and that is, there is a lot to learn here. There is no dearth of projects, and you get to work on a variety of clients. Every person who has started their journey with Wordplay Content is well-placed now, and that has happened as you get your basics sorted here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Salaries need to be better

    Advice to Management

    None

    Wordplay Content2018-01-04

    Wordplay Content Response

    January 8, 2018Director

    Thank you for your review. All team salaries are currently being revised in tune for January 2018 and for the new calendar year. A new benefits package is also being drafted and will be launched in April 2018 for all positions relating to Project Managers and above.

  2. "You'd be more productive working your way out of a maze blindfolded."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wordplay Content

    Pros

    You can sit around and do nothing all day as long as you look busy.

    Cons

    Way too many to mention over one review, but the biggest of them being there's nothing to learn here.

    Wordplay Content2019-03-30
  3. "Nightmare!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wordplay Content full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros! Not good at all

    Cons

    Only cons!. Worked here for 6 months, the first was good then next 3 was an absolute nightmare from the so called "CEO" of the company who btw is very rude. He insulated employees with his foul language. Finally! it's left the company for good.

    Wordplay Content2018-12-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Worst decision of mine, best decision of the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wordplay Content

    Pros

    The company doesn't reply to the emails they receive.

    Cons

    I was looking for freelance writing opportunities and saw an ad of Wordplay content hiring for the position of freelance writers on Glassdoor. As I had previously emailed companies to discuss about opportunities and maximum times companies replied, so I thought why not email the company on their official email id. So I mailed them once. No reply. I thought maybe they are busy. So after a month I mailed them again.... Still no reply. So I thought maybe they are not interested. Then I went through the review section of the company on Glassdoor. And guess what? I finally thanked them that they didn't reply. Otherwise I will be the sufferer like the former freelance writers of them. Thank you Wordplay content for not replying me:)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Wordplay Content2018-09-30
  5. "As a freelancer, working with wordplay was a nightmare, an absolute and insane nightmare."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Wordplay Content

    Pros

    There weren’t many pros at the time I worked with them

    Cons

    I worked as a freelancer with wordplay content in’17, the work during this period was unpredictable, allocations never were streamlined to efficiency, the head of the company was extremely paranoid. There were staggering gaps in communication between writers and the team in house, the pay was barely market value. This along with the internal operations team changing regularly made my work harder than it needed to be.... I knew a few people who worked as freelancers who strongly advised against working here as a freelancer, a couple of them even told me that they stopped getting work on an impulse of the CEO, a couple of editors at the time had an incredibly hard time leaving the company, one who needed a move to Chennai confided in me that he was threatened to stay longer than the relieving period or he wouldn’t get his experience documents, one was fired without any their knowledge and in an unprofessional manner without cause and worked an extra two weeks for no pay before they figured out their employèrent status. All the turmoil within also led to my job as a freelancer becoming much more complex. No allocations were done in a timely manner, the payments came through late, the company communication was lacking severely (the main reason I stopped working with them) the absolute worst part of working with wordplay was the drama spilling out of the office and into the everyday life of freelancers. The office was understaffed and overworked, editors also became content managers and were stretched way too thin. The inefficient work, the struggle to keep in House talent and the nature in which the in house staff were so helpless they needed to vent to the freelancers.. all these make working with wordplay an undesirable nightmare

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to wordplay content is to restructure the mode of operations with the help of experts, stakeholders are advised to consider the mental health of the in house staff, find a way to connect with your freelancers and don’t overstrain them, communication needs an overhaul too! Improve the anonymity of the freelancer portal so editors don’t pick and choose freelance writers and play favorites leading to an... internal struggle for the services of the writer, let freelancers choose projects and have a transition team for freelancers and the in house staff so the integrity of the project is maintained and this is harsh but in regards to the CEO, I feel that as long as Neil remains an autocrat the company will fail and the work will remain toxic in nature.

    Show More
    Wordplay Content2018-08-16
  6. "I have been working at Wordplay Content full-time (Less than a year)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Administrator in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wordplay Content full-time

    Pros

    It is a good place to work, the co-workers are very friendly and supportive.

    Cons

    Nothing much to say as such.

    Wordplay Content2018-06-29

    Wordplay Content Response

    July 3, 2018Director

    Thank you for your review :-)

  7. Helpful (3)

    "My experience of working with Wordplay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wordplay Content full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hi, I've worked as an editor for Wordplay Content for the past six months. I just read some of the reviews here, and some people have just vented their anger and frustration on submitting reviews, but over a period of time things have become much better. We are a growing company and we learn from our mistakes. I'm being treated like a family member rather than an employee. The system & administration is much better... now, than how it used to be. If you are looking for a sustainable career in content services, Wordplay Content is the right place for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    The snacks in the company are restocked every 30 days. We all love food, please restock it every week :(

    Wordplay Content2018-01-02

    Wordplay Content Response

    January 8, 2018Director

    Thank you for your review :-) We have ordered fresh food off Big Basket today (arrival tomorrow), and we have now put in place a system to restock the kitchen every fortnight. Happy eating!

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Change for the better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Operations in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wordplay Content full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the reviews on WordPlay Content "WERE" true. That is the past, because we're NOW a whole new company, with a new office at a new address, a new management team, a new business model and a new way of working with both our people and our customers. Our people are treated like adults, decisions are taken together, and transparency is practiced in reality. The management team has been strengthened with... more people with experience across operations, finance, and customer delivery. Promises are kept and we stick to doing the "right" thing. Period.

    Show More

    Cons

    We the people want more cake!

    Wordplay Content2017-12-29

    Wordplay Content Response

    January 8, 2018Director

    Thank you for your review. Ethics is our mantra.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Associated with the company since 2010"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wordplay Content full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work and really good work life balance and flexibility. The employees and management work like a superb team. Positive environment to be and many well-known companies as clients.

    Cons

    It is a small team around.

    Wordplay Content2018-01-04

    Wordplay Content Response

    January 8, 2018Director

    Thank you for your review. We are currently working towards expanding the team - a major recruitment drive has been planned for Q1 of 2018.

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Human Resource"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Intern in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wordplay Content part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Internet and empty space, because at any given time there are only 5-7 people in the office

    Cons

    Complete waste of time, energy and resource. Run by a flighty and ignorant, absconding "founder/CEO" who knows close to nothing about the digital marketing industry, and incessantly repeats the fact( read lie) that theirs is a bootstrap company. Horrible infrastructure and poor quality of in house talent. ZERO benefits, you can even forget about a cup of chai. Don't waste your time, plus they'll pay you peanuts.... So called managers will expect you to clock in 10 hours a day, but waltz into office at 12 in the afternoon and leave by 7pm Their "office" is not an office, its a filthy, dusty house 2 storey house. They should be ashamed to called themselves a start-up

    Show More
    Wordplay Content2017-12-05

    Wordplay Content Response

    January 8, 2018Director

    Thank you. 1. We no longer have a "CEO", but a flat org structure. No flighty, no ignorance. 2. We are not a bootstrapping start-up. We are a recognised brand in the internet industry in India. 3. We have moved to a new office - with wonderful infrastructure (still getting it into place) and a breezy environment. 4. We are upgrading the in house talent with fresh roles, and a new way of doing things (sorry, trade secret). Recruitment drive planned for Q1 2018 and under way. 5. Flavoured green tea, and snacks stocked every 15 days. 6. Salaries for all staff currently being revised from Jan 2018. 7. Flexible office hours- focus on getting your job done as opposed to clocking time. All managers are expected to report in "before" their team. We have moved to a new office - with a new management team and new staff. You should come by and see the new team.

    Show Less
Found 32 reviews