WorkSpan Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

WorkSpan Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
WorkSpan Founder & CEO Mayank Bawa (no image)
Mayank Bawa
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Company I have EVER worked at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Foster City, CA

    I worked at WorkSpan full-time

    Pros

    None that I can think off

    Cons

    The company does not care about employees at all. There is no transparency .

    WorkSpan2020-01-18
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company, Exciting Vision, Great Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WorkSpan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    WorkSpan is an innovative company tackling a market category that they are creating. The culture is one of collaboration, support, teamwork and energy. The leadership (including the founders) lead by example, roll their sleeves up and never as you to do something they aren't or willing to do. * Positive Energy * Strong Leadership * Innovative Product and Category * Ability to be part of something big

    Cons

    * Early stage product * Typical startup growing pains (a con for now, but opportunity ahead)

    Continue reading
    WorkSpan2019-12-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great place for a seller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Foster City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorkSpan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product - Very well received by the industry. New category that fills a huge need. The "Ecosystem" conversation is quickly becoming a priority at the board level of many of the organizations that we are selling and this completely changes the context of the conversations we are able to have. Executive Team - The leadership team / support system here is incredibly strong. The group we have leading the company have experience building successful start ups as well as have lived the life of our customers at multi-billion dollar business'. Overall - In the year or so that I have been with WorkSpan, I have been thoroughly impressed with the team, our product and my overall exepience. I would highly reccomend WorkSpan.

    Cons

    *Challenge - I wouldnt consider this a "con", more of a challenge. With any new category, you will need to navigate selling software to a buying persona not used to purchasing software. This is an area where experience and creativity become critical. My experience has been when working with the right people, they will help us navigate their process.

    WorkSpan2019-12-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Incredible Market Leader Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorkSpan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Powerful Platform & Game Changing Technology Recognized as THE LEADER by top analysts Strong Leadership in C Suite - Winning Team Win Together / Lose Together Culture Customer Centric & Outcome Driven Clear Career Growth Opportunities Strong Compensation Model for SaaS

    Cons

    The usual startup challenges (which is why I joined) - no formal processes in place but are improving - change is inevitable

    Continue reading
    WorkSpan2019-12-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Unique opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorkSpan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you like rolling up your sleeves to drive sales while also making an impact to shape the company then this is the place to be. CEO, CCO, CRO and CFO are experienced leaders that know how to run an early stage emerging business and are not afraid to make hard decisions for the better of the company. The company's value proposition is strong and aligns to a big need in the market. This is a gem of an opportunity in the enterprise software world!

    Cons

    This is not a company for sales people that don't want to own accountability to outcomes.

    Continue reading
    WorkSpan2019-12-03
  6. Helpful (9)

    "It's just okay. The people are nice, but you will work harder than necessary like everyone else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WorkSpan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - They don't suffer from an ageism problem like a lot of start-ups. - unlimited PTO - In spite of my comments below about micromanagement and work-life balance, the people are extremely nice. There is little to no drama (except on the sales team), and there is a good sense of community. People workout and play sports together. There are baking competitions, birthday celebrations etc. The office mood is generally happy (in-between emergencies). - Daily catered lunches, drinks, snacks, all free. - gym access w/ nice showers/lockers rooms in the building - a beautiful almost-360-degree view from the top of the tallest building in Foster City - Work-remote friendly in most cases. - An interesting industry and product, if it suits your interests.

    Cons

    - They do suffer from a nepotism problem. Most hires outside of sales are family friends of the founders. (For Sales, it's all former colleagues of the sales leadership, like at most companies.) Not much effort is put into seriously considering applications from strangers, from women, and from non-Indian people (or non-white men when it comes to Sales.) - Very few women are hired. Currently there are zero women on the large sales team. If a woman is let go, she is replaced by a man. Only one woman in a leadership position, including middle management. Women are passed over for promotions in favor of men who only recently joined the company. In rare cases where a woman has been promoted, it was a title-only change, not a change in responsibilities or a move into management. - Engineering is dispersed across US, India, and Eastern Europe. Plan to work all hours of the day and night if you are an engineer or ever need to talk to one. - Benefits are poor compared to other startups at the same stage. No 401K match. No HSA match. Health care plans are bronze/silver level and only partially covered. The better plans are very expensive. Vision and Dental are only partially covered. (Every other company I've worked at covered them 100% for the employee.) - Work-life balance is very poor. I've often been asked/told to work weekends and invited to weekend meetings by executives. At one point, I was regularly given hours worth of "homework" on Friday afternoons/evenings and told "I need this by Monday morning." - Most projects run behind, important strategic items get postponed in favor of "emergencies" regularly, and everything is constantly in panic mode. Product decisions are highly reactive to whatever big-paying customer is yelling the loudest at the moment. Product direction is 100% controlled by a few big customers. - Micromanagement is extreme. CEO and other founders have their fingers in tiny decisions and slow things down by jumping in with opinions when they don't understand the existing plan/research or the progress so far. - Indian holidays are honored above and beyond actual US holidays (the company is US-based, which is why I see this as problematic--besides that, Indian holidays are super fun/interesting). Some of the US holidays you won't get off work, and you WILL get invited to meetings on those days. - You will not get a "start-up" culture here in terms of the perks. Culture/morale boosting and team-building activities are rare and underfunded (and if it happens at all depends on your team.) For example of the "budget" attitude, the Christmas/holiday party is during the afternoon in the office. This is a small thing, but if you are coming from a company that poured out the love on its employees and really celebrated the huge wins, the holidays, etc. in style, generously, you will miss that. The founders are conservative people, not start-up party people, and hire other conservative people, and that does affect the culture a lot. The vibe is very "large corporation/old guard" even though it's a small, new start-up. - Get ready for constant market "pivots", changing marketing strategies, website reboots every six months, etc. WorkSpan is definitely chasing a "Category Leader" dream, but at times those decisions feel very wishy-washy and are very catered to the Forrester/Gartner analysts who are worshipped like gods. - Also get ready for serious "fad surfing". Most departments have an issue with "let's try this new task/deployment/marketing/implementation/support strategy/tool/tactic/app/tracking method and then it gets dropped a few weeks later after you've spent hours diligently updating some spreadsheet everyday. - There are definitely "favorites" in the office. Certain people get shout-outs constantly for their work anniversaries, small projects completed, etc. while other people's work anniversaries and major accomplishments go unnoticed. - The WorkSpan product itself is not great. Constant complaints from users that it's hard to use, ugly, outdated looking, too many features, too complicated, not the right features, poor user training, disorganized implementation plans, etc. Insufficient investment in architecture leads to slow loading times, things breaking, etc. Some poor design and engineering decisions were made years ago that are still causing big issues and so far leadership is unwilling to slowdown and take the time to fix them.

    Continue reading
    WorkSpan2019-11-26
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Worst Company for Marketing, Engineering, Customer Success, and Sales Professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorkSpan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you enjoy having a role at a failing company and having nightmares about going into work everyday, this is the perfect role for you.

    Cons

    First things first the company (WorkSpan) offers you a Starbucks gift card if you post a positive review about them. Don't trust the fake reviews that say everything is perfect. But now to my review!!!! When I first started at WorkSpan the company culture was phenomenal. We then hired one bad apple Nick Sarles who managed like an abusive father. He has had one successful company and has ruined the last few he has worked for. His management style is his way or the highway. When he doesn’t get his way he screams profanities, belittles peoples, and referred to people in stereotypes. He calls the customer success team incompetent, the marketing team worthless, and views the sales team as a conveyor belt. Nick has staged a coup of WorkSpan and hired his best friends and cronies into the sales department. His results during his time at WorkSpan has included but not limited to declining revenue, the head of engineering quitting, most of marketing gone, the whole initial sales team that started before him leaving, the vp of sales quitting, majority of employees talking about leaving. He has left a trail of destruction in his wake. Lying through his teeth to get the job, lying to the board, lying to customers, and lying to internal teams; all he knows is lying. If you are in engineering the CEO Mayank will make you work weekends and stay up till 2 in the morning almost every day of your employment. You won’t be tasked with creating an amazing product but doing small fixes/bandaids for the bad coding that helped create this clumsy product. And the Co Founder Amit makes false promises to prospects and to the big companies that keep WorkSpan afloat which then forces us in the engineering department to build at lightning speed, leading to half baked products and ideas. This whole company is going under, run as far as possible. The product does not work and none of the customers actually use it. This company will ruin your life, career, and happiness.

    Continue reading
    WorkSpan2019-12-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Non collaborative and harsh work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorkSpan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the engineers are nice, hardworking, and intelligent. The location is great

    Cons

    -what a waste of talent and opportunity!! The execs are too involved in the nitty-gritty details, and so the company is suffering. -they have a facade of being polite soft-spoken, when you are interviewing, and I got misled by that. -the work deadlines are super harsh, and you are still tagged by the first deadline you may have missed bcoz of the non collaborative work environment. -the CEO tells engineers to ask for help only from person A or not from person B. That is how screwed up the work atmosphere is. -they have periodic culture evaluations, but noone is going to tell the execs what is wrong. -plan to work ALL the time bcoz of the remote friendly policy. -plan to be criticized for your best efforts -plan to be treated as if you are not intelligent

    Continue reading
    WorkSpan2019-12-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Not all that it seems to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorkSpan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was a great team and culture Product is good

    Cons

    Micromanaging culture Strategy’s changes quarter to quarter Sales is struggling as the CRO runs the ship there Everyone is in reactive mode instead of planning it out WFH policy is a joke Expected to work on the weekends; no time to unwind

    Continue reading
    WorkSpan2019-11-15
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Nick likes to yell and they overwork you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorkSpan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ahmed the other ceo and it’s a start up

    Cons

    The owner Myank hired nick S who like to yell at grown men And women.. They say they have flexibility to work from home but that’s not true. Along with unlimited PTO They over work you and expect you to work round the clock. Including weekends. If you have a family say goodbye to them. The work environment here is so hostile. They have people in management that don’t know how to lead and they don’t train you at all.

    Continue reading
    WorkSpan2019-09-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 27 reviews