Zayed University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Zayed University Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
31%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
Zayed University CEO Lubna Al Qasimi (no image)
Lubna Al Qasimi
58 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Your experience and knowledge is not needed here, just kowtow to the deans and you will be fine(in 28 reviews)

  • "Pay and benefits have seriously eroded and have not kept up with the high cost of living in the UAE(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (15)

    "Nepotism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time

    Pros

    Many pros earlier. Not any more. Things have just gone downhill after change of management few years ago.

    Cons

    I worked there for 9 plus years. Earlier with the old management ZU was a fun place to be. The bosses has empathy and everyone used to happy. However with the top management recruiting less experienced leaders and wide spread nepotism, the experience was an environment of fear, threats and intimidation. Nepotism is wide spread especially at senior levels. I hear Work enviorment is stressful and depressing with many... old employees let go with just a months notice. For an expat wrapping up 20 years of your life in a month when kids in school or colleges is an impossible task. Mgmt needs to have empathy. Many were cheated off their legal dues when end of service was calculated contrary to UAE labor law. All ways to show savings to the govt and cheating old employees. Shame!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Empathy, fairness, dont cheat employees of their rightful end of service entitlements!!!!!

    Zayed University2018-09-01
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is great to work at ZU

    Cons

    There is nothing to be highlighted

    Advice to Management

    Keep the great job up

    Zayed University2019-12-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "was good but gone downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary is still good . However, from what I understand, after I left, the summer vacation was cut short by about 7 weeks and everyone will now have to do summer school or 'busy work' for no extra pay, so in effect I think this is about a 5 % pay cut. Up until summer 2019 there were wonderful long summer vacations of 10 - 12 weeks (depending on Eid tagging on) and summer school was an optional extra that a lot of... people wanted to do because it was paid pro rata and they still got a good long vacation. Good opportunities for in house PD though attendance funding for TESOL Arabia was cut. You could really feel the cutting back over the last few years I was there. For example, faculty had to pay for certain laptop repairs or replacements which wasn't so in earlier years.

    Show More

    Cons

    No salary rises for several years unless you were on a very low point on the scale. Going over to cash housing (as opposed to uni paid housing where ZU took on the tenancy) meant that unless you are a couple with no children - (families with kids really came out badly) - you might find that you would have to go for an inferior apartment (the decrease in rents in Abu Dhabi, however, did make going on to cash housing... beneficial to some people, as they could pocket the difference). Cash housing also means you are liable for the municipality charge added on to the electricity and water bill every month. With a couple of exceptions, I didn't find colleagues particularly friendly or supportive - you only really met people in your own department unless you were a smoker. Apparently the smokers corner is the place to meet people and socialize - and I even heard of non-smokers dropping in to get the latest gossip. HR (human capital) is a nightmare. Nasty and unhelpful people who think you should be beholden to them and that they are doing you a special favour. One colleague dubbed them 'sub human' resources - even lower than 'inhuman resources' that they were often called. We often wondered why we weren't asked to rate them, as all the administrators, professors and teachers have to be, by their peers or students. But I think the rating would be so low as to be an embarrassment to the university. Students are mostly nice enough but in what was ABP before it morphed into something else, it was difficult to motivate them. The English entry level to the uni is now supposed to have been raised, so maybe not having those very low level students will make a difference. I found when I was there, a lot of students, did everything possible to get out of doing any work but wanted the maximum grades. You kind of get into the way of how it is in the Gulf, grade adjustments so even weak students pass, etc. There is also a huge move towards catering for special needs students, so teachers who have no experience of this are often obliged to have one or two special needs students in their class with very little back up. Having had this more often than not, it has been both good and bad - I enjoyed trying to help my special needs students, but I would say I would spend on average about 3 hours a week extra catering to their needs - and it is the luck of the draw whether you get them or not (though if you have done a good job, you are more likely to get a special needs student again - so maybe don't do a good job if you think it a burden!) I might add that when I left in May 2019, it was the biggest cohort of leavers ever - across both AD and Dubai campuses. I wonder if this is significant!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Our particular management in ABP was one of the best aspects of the job. Senior management not so good.

    Zayed University2019-11-23
  4. "Assistant Professor and Assistant Chair - Department of Psychology, Dubai"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was at Zu from August 2013 until May 2019. I started as Assistant Professor in Psychology. I couldn’t have been better received and my time at Zu was a remarkable positive experience. I need to emphasize the extreme support each college and the Research Office gives to all faculty. Whether we are talking about research projects, publications, conferences, workshops, the financial support is like nowhere else.... During my time there I presented papers at several conferences all over the world (US, Australia, South Africa, Turkey, Japan...), i accompanied students to present their research (US and Canada), I had the privilege of enrolling in the Innovative Teaching Practice Certificate and others at the CEI, I started and finished the International Faculty SoTL Leadership Program (a ZU partnership with The University of British Columbia, and others. I got support from statisticians, research assistants. Everything I needed to teach and do research, at least in my field, was there. I’ve seen the Department of Psychology grow more and more each year. I started at Zu with the Psychology and Human Services Program and became Assistant Chair when we were ready to launch the Psychology Program. Couldn’t be prouder of the program, department, students, colleagues, college, and university who supported this important endeavor. Students now have a pure PSY credentialed program at Zu. Furthermore, I couldn’t see it launched, but participated in the Masters Program draft. Soon it will be up and running, allowing our students to have all the practice, knowledge, background they need to work as psychologists in the UAE one day. I repeat, I couldn’t be prouder. It is fair to bring also all the facilities and extra support you find at Zu: the IT department is just amazing, you get all the top IT materials you need and assistance too, always ready to help; facilities are beautiful and makes you wanting to be at work; you can even use the gym and classes provided (as I did, during lots of lunch breaks). Zu pampers you with lots of initiatives organized both by students and faculty, with research opportunities for undergraduates, graduates, and faculty. Financially speaking, you get allowance for housing, fees, plane tickets, health insurance. What else? I could continue on going. This was definitely the best place I have ever worked in. I had to leave because of family reasons, and it was the hardest decision I ever had to make. In the end, I didn’t say proper goodbye to everyone, as I feel I will be able to go back one day. As of now, I know the Psychology Department has the best faculty, who are research active, have the best teaching practices, always thoughtful and caring about students. We also have the best students, who I remember everyday. With lots of them, Im still in contact. Whoever reads this, I hope I was able to show how happy and accomplished I was at the Department of Psychology, College of Natural and Health Sciences, and Zayed University. I appreciated every single day. Any other review less positive than this one, please trust it wasn’t mine. Joana Stocker

    Show More

    Cons

    No place is perfect. Zu is growing, changing, finding the best practices and what works. If there are a few things I could point out, it would be the teaching/research load.

    Advice to Management

    There was a time where it was thought having a research and a teaching track for faculty. I would totally support this. Researchers could have less teaching time that could be used for research. Teachers, could have a heavier teaching load. There would be a balance, maybe publication rates would even be higher!

    Zayed University2019-10-09
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Everything is complicated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zayed University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and modern buildings

    Cons

    They enjoy ganging and complicating everything. Refunds are always so late and if you are not part of the gang you are not included in any of the overtime opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Change, be transparent and stop the gangs

    Zayed University2019-07-07
  6. Helpful (14)

    "avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Professor in Dubai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zayed University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    some nice students, nice buildings....

    Cons

    Too many to mention here, have a look at previous reviews and it says it all. Hopeless management, completely authoritarian with no questions asked - please avoid if you have any sense of self-worth or an opinion on how things should be done. Your experience and knowledge is not needed here, just kowtow to the deans and you will be fine. Most good people have either left or got fired because they had the guts to... stand up and fight, those left, well they are the dregs and probably couldn't get a job with the stain on ZU on their cv. Psychology, one of the most popular majors has been completely decimated by incompetent admins, the best faculty left or are now leaving and what is left leaves much to be desired. Faculty who take on admin roles are terrified that if they return to faculty they will be fired for lack of collegiality. You seriously need to leave your morals at the door when entering the doors of ZU.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know they read this whenever there is a new review so HI! Advice: stop spending your time and energy removing bad reviews and just make ZU a better place to work... it was once a place to be proud, now it is, as one review called it Woe & Misery... if only people could give it 0 out of 5 instead of the baseline 1 perhaps the management would finally realise that people are not happy - the Emirati staff are not... happy either!

    Show More
    Zayed University2019-04-21
  7. Helpful (24)

    "Assistant Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zayed University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is really very very little positive about this University. Some nice colleagues and thats about it.

    Cons

    Owing to terrible staff morale, deep unhappiness, and resulting high staff turn-over, ZU is continuously seeking staff to work in its mirage in the desert we like to call a University. The following criteria are deemed essential for upcoming revolving door positions. 1. Candidates must be docile, meek and highly deferential to incompetent line managers. These managers are generally less qualified than... you, have zero management training, frequently dismal research records, become malevolent if you ever disagree with them and have been selected solely on the basis of their unwavering loyalty to the Dean. 2. Candidates are advised they must dispense with any old fashioned notions that they are important and valued by management. Our HR practices revolve around Stalin’s dictum of ‘no man, no problem’ (yes that is the Russian dictator). In the interests of gender equality, this applies to women also. 3. Candidates must understand, and accept, from the outset that their respective Dean is Gods representative on earth and his/her divine will must be done at all times. It is irrelevant if your Dean lies constantly, promotes only their friends, lacks any genuine integrity, bullies staff, is despotic and couldn’t manage a pizza order properly not to mind manage people. 4. Candidates must be willing to ship their integrity, sense of fairness and all ethics back to their country of origin on taking up the position. ZU will however not pay for any associated shipping costs. 5. Candidates must have a strong stomach for nepotism, blatant favouritism and bullying and be willing to ignore instances of the above especially when they negatively affect hard working and excellent colleagues. Representatives from the University’s happiness committee will however try to make you feel better by giving you a happy face sticker. 6. Candidates must understand that ZU is primarily only about ‘presentation’. If the building is shiny and bright then the place must be amazing right? Employees must answer in the affirmative at all times to this question. 7. Candidates must understand that their three/four year contract is in fact meaningless. You will endure an annual faculty review assessing your performance by your incompetent line manager based on goalposts that shift like the sand outside your cell (office) window and whatever is flavour of the month. In addition, your Dean will over-ride this system in the interests of promoting their personal brand of nepotism. 8. Candidates must be world class researchers but also excel at teaching, advising, serving the community, being on multiple committees and being innovative. Sub-optimal performance in any of these categories will result in your immediate deportation as we believe these are things you can achieve over night by merely willing them into existence. After all, God created the universe in a mere six days. 9. Candidates must be aware that the greatest sin that can be committed is a perceived lack of collegiality. This can be avoided by always saying ‘yes’ no matter what, turning a blind eye to blatant abuses of power and position, never disagreeing with management and stroking our infantile egos on a constant basis. Please remember your employers have very thin skins. 10. Candidates must be aware that the University has zero real interest in staff development or staff retention. Irrespective of your abilities and accomplishments, management reserves the right to get rid of you for any reason we invent at any time (particularly if we suspect you don’t think we are amazing). 11. Candidates must continuously stress themselves with innovation. This is an important KPI dreamed up by an important person in senior management in the hope that someone will develop a better mouse-trap. 12. Candidates must understand that the majority of students have very poor English, have minimal interest in learning, and that attendance at University is a way of getting out of the house to hang out with their friends before they get married off. Our students like to regularly visit one of the several beauty parlours in the University so please ensure that assignments do not negatively impact on this important activity. Also note that the university bookshop closed down due to a lack of student interest in actual books. 13. Candidates must not over-tire students, and certainly never upset delicate student sensibilities. Never suggest that things in the country are anything other than perfect and please limit all assignment activities to an eight grade level and a workload of half a page maximum. Please provide students with a nap in class as required. 14. Finally, candidates are advised that all of the above criteria for a successful candidate are endorsed by senior management whose preferred management style is creating an atmosphere of fear and intimidation, and by promoting those that excel at these activities. Candidates who are desperate, washed up or have no-where else to go, and who meet the above criteria and accept our way of doing things are strongly encouraged to apply. Candidates are also kindly asked to interpret the negative reviews on this website as ‘lurid fiction’ by the disgruntled and place their trust in the, albeit few, positive reviews (which have been written by members of our HR department with really poor English ability).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I am left with two conclusions about you. First, that you have no idea about what is happening in ZU or second that you know and really endorse much of the above. Therefore, you are either incompetent or worse

    Zayed University2019-03-06
  8. "An excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Instructor in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zayed University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    benefits were great, and colleagues were professional

    Cons

    the department I worked for was slated for closure, which made a very uncertain working environment

    Zayed University2019-01-29
  9. Helpful (17)

    "Many Problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zayed University full-time

    Pros

    Facilities, offices, colleagues, mostly tax free for ex-pats, (except a new 5% VAT was added in 2018 making everything more expensive).

    Cons

    ZU disempowers people; it takes every opportunity to wrangle money out of employees even when there have been no substantial raises for 10 years (salary scale not adjusted for inflation for a decade). While paying less and less (because of cost of living increases), more and more is required of faculty in terms of research, advising, needless paperwork. Most faculty teach 4 classes per semester, with multiple preps.

    Zayed University2019-01-02
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Management is unfair. They do not care about employees. No transparency."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor 

    I worked at Zayed University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, research opportunities, nice students.

    Cons

    There was a change in management last year. Things are getting worst. Management does not provide any support. Work load is increased. Student number per section increased. Summer course is now double the time it used to be. No promotion. No recognition for efforts and hard work. Employees are avoiding any interaction with the management fearing to lose their job. Turnover is high. Sudden decisions were taken... without prior notice. Mediocre planning in some colleges.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    be more transparent. better planning. Take in consideration employee feedback.

    Zayed University2019-02-09
Found 137 reviews