Zayed University Reviews

Updated 28 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
28%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Zayed University President Lubna Al Qasimi (no image)
Lubna Al Qasimi
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some nice colleagues and thats about it(in 9 reviews)

  • "ZU has good working environment and good facilities with opportunity for professional development(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Your experience and knowledge is not needed here, just kowtow to the deans and you will be fine(in 28 reviews)

  • "Pay and benefits have seriously eroded and have not kept up with the high cost of living in the UAE(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (16)

    "Nepotism"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time

    Pros

    Many pros earlier. Not any more. Things have just gone downhill after change of management few years ago.

    Cons

    I worked there for 9 plus years. Earlier with the old management ZU was a fun place to be. The bosses has empathy and everyone used to happy. However with the top management recruiting less experienced leaders and wide spread nepotism, the experience was an environment of fear, threats and intimidation. Nepotism is wide spread especially at senior levels. I hear Work enviorment is stressful and depressing with many old employees let go with just a months notice. For an expat wrapping up 20 years of your life in a month when kids in school or colleges is an impossible task. Mgmt needs to have empathy. Many were cheated off their legal dues when end of service was calculated contrary to UAE labor law. All ways to show savings to the govt and cheating old employees. Shame!!

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2018-09-01
  2. "Adjunct Instructor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zayed University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very Organized, respectful, and full of collaboration.

    Cons

    Nothing so far, but I dont like the location

    Zayed University2020-04-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of leadership in education"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable professional development based on research and improving quality of learning to expand educational systems

    Cons

    Unrealistic research expectations with little to no understanding from departmental leadership about the implementation of any research project and little time to publish

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2020-04-03
  4. "Worst company to work for - they do not care about employees or teaching"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor in Dubai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice buildings, nice overall environment as in setting.

    Cons

    Very disrespectful and often times demoralising

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2020-04-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "When you thought it couldn’t get worse"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zayed University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The name and the history of the university; many of the students and faculty, what a great waste

    Cons

    The University is simply going through management crisis. Pure amateurs without any serious qualifications are making executive decisions Since January 2020. All senior administrators from the previous administration have been forced out without regards to their contributions. After ousting everyone, the acting new administration leaves after three months in the job, and now a great university is run by a Secertary and random people that know nothing about higher education and the history of this great place

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2020-04-28
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Babysitting for girls"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visiting Assistant Professor in Dubai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zayed University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are collegial, and truthful

    Cons

    Don't know anything about running a university

    Zayed University2020-03-16
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Getting ruined by the current leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Faculty 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wages and benefits are good. There are some incredible faculty who do great research. The handful of students who want to be successful are as good as anywhere else. Small class sizes, and you are able to do what you want in your classes. Most faculty genuinely want it to be a great university.

    Cons

    Completely incompetent upper university management. On the bright side by the time you read this I'm sure they've been replaced several times over. Currently they are afraid of social media complaints from the worst of the student body - so decisions are made to keep them happy rather than to help them be successful. To say that the place is currently mismanaged would be a great understatement.

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2020-03-10
  8. "Great place"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is great to work at ZU

    Cons

    There is nothing to be highlighted

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2019-12-07
  9. Helpful (6)

    "was good but gone downhill"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary is still good . However, from what I understand, after I left, the summer vacation was cut short by about 7 weeks and everyone will now have to do summer school or 'busy work' for no extra pay, so in effect I think this is about a 5 % pay cut. Up until summer 2019 there were wonderful long summer vacations of 10 - 12 weeks (depending on Eid tagging on) and summer school was an optional extra that a lot of people wanted to do because it was paid pro rata and they still got a good long vacation. Good opportunities for in house PD though attendance funding for TESOL Arabia was cut. You could really feel the cutting back over the last few years I was there. For example, faculty had to pay for certain laptop repairs or replacements which wasn't so in earlier years.

    Cons

    No salary rises for several years unless you were on a very low point on the scale. Going over to cash housing (as opposed to uni paid housing where ZU took on the tenancy) meant that unless you are a couple with no children - (families with kids really came out badly) - you might find that you would have to go for an inferior apartment (the decrease in rents in Abu Dhabi, however, did make going on to cash housing beneficial to some people, as they could pocket the difference). Cash housing also means you are liable for the municipality charge added on to the electricity and water bill every month. With a couple of exceptions, I didn't find colleagues particularly friendly or supportive - you only really met people in your own department unless you were a smoker. Apparently the smokers corner is the place to meet people and socialize - and I even heard of non-smokers dropping in to get the latest gossip. HR (human capital) is a nightmare. Nasty and unhelpful people who think you should be beholden to them and that they are doing you a special favour. One colleague dubbed them 'sub human' resources - even lower than 'inhuman resources' that they were often called. We often wondered why we weren't asked to rate them, as all the administrators, professors and teachers have to be, by their peers or students. But I think the rating would be so low as to be an embarrassment to the university. Students are mostly nice enough but in what was ABP before it morphed into something else, it was difficult to motivate them. The English entry level to the uni is now supposed to have been raised, so maybe not having those very low level students will make a difference. I found when I was there, a lot of students, did everything possible to get out of doing any work but wanted the maximum grades. You kind of get into the way of how it is in the Gulf, grade adjustments so even weak students pass, etc. There is also a huge move towards catering for special needs students, so teachers who have no experience of this are often obliged to have one or two special needs students in their class with very little back up. Having had this more often than not, it has been both good and bad - I enjoyed trying to help my special needs students, but I would say I would spend on average about 3 hours a week extra catering to their needs - and it is the luck of the draw whether you get them or not (though if you have done a good job, you are more likely to get a special needs student again - so maybe don't do a good job if you think it a burden!) I might add that when I left in May 2019, it was the biggest cohort of leavers ever - across both AD and Dubai campuses. I wonder if this is significant!

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2019-11-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant Professor and Assistant Chair - Department of Psychology, Dubai"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor in Dubai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was at Zu from August 2013 until May 2019. I started as Assistant Professor in Psychology. I couldn’t have been better received and my time at Zu was a remarkable positive experience. I need to emphasize the extreme support each college and the Research Office gives to all faculty. Whether we are talking about research projects, publications, conferences, workshops, the financial support is like nowhere else. During my time there I presented papers at several conferences all over the world (US, Australia, South Africa, Turkey, Japan...), i accompanied students to present their research (US and Canada), I had the privilege of enrolling in the Innovative Teaching Practice Certificate and others at the CEI, I started and finished the International Faculty SoTL Leadership Program (a ZU partnership with The University of British Columbia, and others. I got support from statisticians, research assistants. Everything I needed to teach and do research, at least in my field, was there. I’ve seen the Department of Psychology grow more and more each year. I started at Zu with the Psychology and Human Services Program and became Assistant Chair when we were ready to launch the Psychology Program. Couldn’t be prouder of the program, department, students, colleagues, college, and university who supported this important endeavor. Students now have a pure PSY credentialed program at Zu. Furthermore, I couldn’t see it launched, but participated in the Masters Program draft. Soon it will be up and running, allowing our students to have all the practice, knowledge, background they need to work as psychologists in the UAE one day. I repeat, I couldn’t be prouder. It is fair to bring also all the facilities and extra support you find at Zu: the IT department is just amazing, you get all the top IT materials you need and assistance too, always ready to help; facilities are beautiful and makes you wanting to be at work; you can even use the gym and classes provided (as I did, during lots of lunch breaks). Zu pampers you with lots of initiatives organized both by students and faculty, with research opportunities for undergraduates, graduates, and faculty. Financially speaking, you get allowance for housing, fees, plane tickets, health insurance. What else? I could continue on going. This was definitely the best place I have ever worked in. I had to leave because of family reasons, and it was the hardest decision I ever had to make. In the end, I didn’t say proper goodbye to everyone, as I feel I will be able to go back one day. As of now, I know the Psychology Department has the best faculty, who are research active, have the best teaching practices, always thoughtful and caring about students. We also have the best students, who I remember everyday. With lots of them, Im still in contact. Whoever reads this, I hope I was able to show how happy and accomplished I was at the Department of Psychology, College of Natural and Health Sciences, and Zayed University. I appreciated every single day. Any other review less positive than this one, please trust it wasn’t mine. Joana Stocker

    Cons

    No place is perfect. Zu is growing, changing, finding the best practices and what works. If there are a few things I could point out, it would be the teaching/research load.

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2019-10-09
Found 141 reviews