Zayed University Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 156 of over 171 reviews

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Zayed University President Lubna Al Qasimi (no image)
Lubna Al Qasimi
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some nice colleagues and thats about it(in 9 reviews)

  • "Dedicated and great colleagues, good professional development opportunities, students are sweet(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Your experience and knowledge is not needed here, just kowtow to the deans and you will be fine(in 28 reviews)

  • "Pay and benefits have seriously eroded and have not kept up with the high cost of living in the UAE(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Nepotism

      Aug 31, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many pros earlier. Not any more. Things have just gone downhill after change of management few years ago.

      Cons

      I worked there for 9 plus years. Earlier with the old management ZU was a fun place to be. The bosses has empathy and everyone used to happy. However with the top management recruiting less experienced leaders and wide spread nepotism, the experience was an environment of fear, threats and intimidation. Nepotism is wide spread especially at senior levels. I hear Work enviorment is stressful and depressing with many old employees let go with just a months notice. For an expat wrapping up 20 years of your life in a month when kids in school or colleges is an impossible task. Mgmt needs to have empathy. Many were cheated off their legal dues when end of service was calculated contrary to UAE labor law. All ways to show savings to the govt and cheating old employees. Shame!!

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      phd in finance and banking

      Jun 27, 2021 - Dean of Faculty in Damascus
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      look for a better opportunity to improve my experiences

      Cons

      I don't focus on downsides on working at university

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Poor Leadership and Management/Weak Board

      Jul 17, 2021 - Senior Director in Dubai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good salary, minimal work - Not much work to do - No accountability - No authority given to employees at all levels.. Enjoy routine work with pay

      Cons

      No management No directions/ No strategy No future Consultants managing the university with no basic understanding of education Recently highly qualified seniors left ZU

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great

      Jun 30, 2021 - Teacher Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with a professor and getting experience of teaching lifestyle.

      Cons

      Everything was actually pretty good.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      its ok

      Jul 10, 2021 - Assistant Professor in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some students were great and intellectually curious.

      Cons

      Students negotiating and arguing over grades.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Thanks for 5 great years

      Dec 21, 2020 - English Instructor in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I was working Zayed University, I had an excellent benefits package. Housing, medical, salary, and overall environment was very good. In the end, we had a good contract. I did what I had to do and ZU did everything they promised. Overall, it is was a good experience. I really am thankful for the opportunity given to me and my family.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, towards the end, the Academic Bridge Program was being dissolved. We had one of the best English teaching programs in the world and we provided amazing support to the students, but the university wanted to go in a different direction. That lead to a lot of uncertainty for staff and faculty. There are a lot of negative reviews, but a lot of it is complaining about things are normal things encountered in every workplace and do not take into account a lot of the fluidity that exists in the Gulf context. It is just the way it is in this part of the world. You have to be able to roll with things.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Director of Communications

      May 18, 2021 - Senior Media Relations Specialist in Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Experience in both education and media relations

      Cons

      English is stronger than Arabic

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      little to recommend

      Jun 27, 2021 - Instructor in Falmouth, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good salary if exchange rate is in your favour

      Cons

      senior management and HR need improving

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Jun 3, 2021 - Human Resource Management in Dubai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good reputation, lovely workplace Good workplace Different nationalities

      Cons

      Long hours Nothing They are good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      A paradoxical place

      May 16, 2021 - ELT and EAP Instructor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people were great. I made so many friends there.

      Cons

      The discrepancy between the corporatist philosophy and the educational values and mission of a higher ed institution.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 156 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zayed University Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zayed University? Share Your Experiences

    Zayed University logo
    or