upGrad Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 707 of over 812 reviews

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
upGrad Managing Director Mayank Kumar (no image)
Mayank Kumar
417 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work culture, supporting employees in pandemic situation(in 50 reviews)

  • "Work environment is very much good(in 37 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can be improved(in 50 reviews)

  • "Long working hours and tideous work(in 28 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      A great place to begin your career

      30 May 2021 - Manager- Content Development in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Fast - quickly act and react - you need to have a plan to propose an idea - Collaborative - multiple teams need to come together to deliver the service to the customer - Passion - Energetic individuals all around that will inspire you to deliver your best - Awesome learning curve - you'll just keep learning new things over and over. Get used to it

      Cons

      - Quite a niche industry - Similar opportunities are hard to come by in the location/salary of your choice - Micro-management - quick action and reaction brings with it granular measurement, which involves filling multiple trackers for any task you take up - More Ed than Tech - Tech features take many quarters to even be considered as an idea. So you end up spending a lot on manual efforts to deliver your best + you need to be good at multiple tools/skills over and above your core job task/responsibility

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      upGrad Response

      Social Media

      Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you find upGrad as an organisation that can provide individuals with a steep learning curve and growth trajectory. It’s also great to learn that you found the organisation's outlook positive, approves of the CEO and recommends us to a friend. :)

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      great ambiance to work in

      15 Jun 2021 - Quality Analyst in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great team of leaders to work in

      Cons

      nothing as such to say for

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Remove Arjun Mohan From UpGrad

      3 Jun 2020 - Admissions Counselor in New Delhi
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Founders are Awesome, Great Vision, Best Platform for upskilling, Best Place to work. Mayank Kumar and Ronnie tried to provide a very good working environment and culture like facebook or Google.

      Cons

      Only one - Arjun Mohan. Remove this person from the company founders. This outsider is killing your vision. Look over the the feedback all around. What will you do if your employees are not happy even those who are with you from the start of the journey. No one will come and tell you straight away but this voice should reach out to you because it is from hundreds of your employees who love to work in upgrad. This man Arjun Mohan is brutal for the company. Whatever he has learn is byjus and we know the work culture there. Negatives review for upgrad will be highly effevtive on growth that we are expecting. * Please open your eyes Mayank.

      Continue reading
      158 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      My Review of upGrad

      16 Jun 2021 - Manager in Noida
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I see number of young managers in upGrad. This shows that growth is not an obstacle if you are an achiever. I like the company very much.

      Cons

      I was told that both saturday and sundays are my week offs but no one told me that I literally have to work all saturdays with no OT or Comp Off. I come from an established career background and everything is completely wrecked up after joining upGrad. This is not what I had hoped for. I come with an overseas student recruitment experience. But after being hired, I am not deputed to do the relevant job. I did not join upGrad for B2C sales vertical rather to scale the Study Abroad vertical, but I'm not doing what I was hired for and this is completely changing my domain which I'm worried about, I'm losing my connections in the industry and not doing what I have loved to do all these years.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      More of one on one sessions with the counsellor.

      14 May 2021 - Senior Associate in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All my queries are resolved and heard. I am happy working here. Ashish Nagar has played a major role in building the Drift and WhatsApp platforms. He looks into each and every thing. He resolves my problems effortlessly. I admire his work.

      Cons

      New managers should to trained to deal with the situations. It becomes very difficult to make them understand at times. They should be trained to take feedback from counselors in a positive way. Also, while giving feedback the opposite person should not be penalised but the feedback should reach them in a way that does not make them feel bad. These skills should be taught to them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Worst top management

      17 Apr 2021 - Senior Admission Counselor in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company is great, great products great client base. Awesome growth for the company

      Cons

      Top management including the VP, AD, SR. manager don't know what they are doing and they are completely blank. No work life balance, and AD behaves likes an AC posting non sense report, like he has been sleeping past many hours. Don't join the company right now in the current phase, as it is on verge of Becoming next BJYUS, They have an Advertisement don't be a chaatu,but if you want to stick over here you have to be a CHAATU or else it won't work for you and you won't be able to work. All Freshers and experience folks,even if u don't have a job don't join now as the company is degrading, and you will like a donkey from 9 am to 9 pm doing useless stuff. They give you leads as if they have smoked up, even if one marks the lead junk 10 times they will still convert and transfer you the same. The complete top management sales cycle should be given in hands of professionals who know how to run a good organisation. If you want to kill your personal life and mental peace pls join this company now.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to grow one's career

      14 May 2021 - Senior Data Scientist in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1.There's always something to learn and grow technically or on business aspects. 2.The leadership cares about one's wellbeing with many initiatives around healthcare and employee mental health 3.Leave Management is good 4.Although not the best but they try to compensate well(in terms of salary) when you compare other companies 5.The vision of the company is great and has the potential of an immense growth globally while it is backed up by good leaders such as Ronnie and Mayank.

      Cons

      1.Although ESOP's are a good initiative but a bonus at the end of the year is expected when a company is growing immensely YOY. 2.A bit of negative work culture, not much team work and everyone works in their own way. I hope this changes overtime. 3.This company is not for the people who are looking for a relaxed job, everyone works here all the time, not much work life balance especially during this pandemic.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fulfilling Experience

      15 Jun 2021 - Admission Associate in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Right from work discipline to management training everything in upGrad is just wonderful

      Cons

      work life balance is a challenge that is worked on by me and company and it is an obvious thing when you work for any growing and dedicated startup

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Promising and Dissappointing

      3 May 2021 - Senior Associate Content in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Hours of work tend to be usually fixed 2. Pay is decent 3. Standard Operations Procedures (SOPs) for nearly everything in the organization 4. No dearth of teams and projects, if one wishes to work in multiple or different projects

      Cons

      1. Despite SOPs, the middle-level management is freely biased to assess and even hand-free towards their subordinates 2. Structure and time-management towards projects is poor (again, despite SOPs in place) 3. Human Resources (HR) Personnel are as mechanical as they shouldn't be; even if they are quick to respond they are cheeky to the level of missing the 'flat hierarchy prevalent in the organization 4. The 'flat hierarchy - this is one aspect that is degrading the 'start-up' culture to excruciating levels and upGrad is no exception. Stupid arguments, unnecessary dominating behaviour among everyone, sexism, racism are rife simply because there is no chain of command to take serious orders from and surprisingly, no one who is in charge of this company is actually interested either. 5. Disappointing stream and scope of work - too easy or too difficult - causing much confusion despite promising aspects of development

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work with wonderful peers

      1 Jun 2021 - Engineering Manager in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      upGrad has consistently maintained its hiring criteria to ensure hiring high-quality engineers. This helps one learn many new things and also makes working with each other very easy. Even during the lockdown, despite a lot of new people joining in remotely, upGrad has ensured maintaining a strong bond among the team members.

      Cons

      With the scale at which upGrad is growing right now, one is always expected to be at their A-game delivering at their top speed. This sometimes results in a feeling of burnout once or twice a quarter.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      upGrad Response

      Social Media

      It is delightful to hear such positive words and it’s always a pleasure to associate with our team members. Thank you.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 707 Reviews

    Popular Careers with upGrad Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at upGrad? Share Your Experiences

    upGrad logo
    or