CN Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

CN Reviews

Updated 25 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
42%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
CN Interim President and Chief Executive Officer Jean-Jacques Ruest
Jean-Jacques Ruest
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay with good benefits and retirement(in 65 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and excellent employee share plan(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "retention is very low as the work/life balance does not exist(in 40 reviews)

  • "Long hours are mandatory and little compensation is offered in return(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Railroad Conductor in McComb, MS

    I worked at CN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Every 2 weeks when that check drops

    Cons

    Always on call no family time

    CN2020-03-25
  2. "Canadian National Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Ramp Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company overall, benefits are fantastic.

    Cons

    Working conditions are sub par, as we work outdoors. The job itself is physically demanding.

    Continue reading
    CN2020-03-20

    CN Response

    March 25, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. With a 24/7/265 operation, CN could not function without our dedicated employees.We know your role is extremely important in ensuring customer satisfaction. Thank you for helping move our business and the economy forward.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at CN full-time

    Pros

    Salary / benefits. Educational assistance

    Cons

    Hours, demanding targets and deadlines

    CN2020-03-17

    CN Response

    March 18, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your positive feedback! We pride ourselves on providing our team with the ability to learn, develop themselves and grow their careers.

    Continue reading
  4. "Away from home a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Locomotive Engineer in Jasper, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, work on your own.

    Cons

    Hard on family life. Away from home a lot.

    Continue reading
    CN2020-03-17
  5. "decent money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent wage share plan pension

    Cons

    mediocre benifit plan, almost 0 saftey and no upper managment accountability

    Continue reading
    CN2020-03-10

    CN Response

    March 16, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Safety is a core value at CN and we pride ourselves on providing our team members with a safe work environment. We are concerned to hear about your current experience and strongly encourage you to reach out to your manager or Human Resources Business Partner to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  6. "Abcdefh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNC Machinist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company great salary good working conditions

    Cons

    Little messy little hard competitive working condition

    CN2020-03-03

    CN Response

    March 5, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing our team with great compensation incuding the ability to learn, develop themselves and grow their careers.

    Continue reading
  7. "Nepotism and Reverse racism rule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Locomotive Engineer in Fulton, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation is top notch, Benefits are good

    Cons

    nepotism rules, no advancement unless you know or are related to management

    Continue reading
    CN2020-03-10

    CN Response

    March 16, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoy the compensation and benefits you receive at CN. Our goal is to empower our employees to develop themselves and grow their careers. We encourage you to speak with your Human Resources Business Partner to share your concerns.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Golden cage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, health plan, you can buy shares and they will give you 35% of the amount you invested.

    Cons

    Work-life balance, rotten work atmosphere, entire management team has been replaced and the whole org chart is in flux. They closed an office to save costs and now we are all stacked up with a whole lot of consultants in HQ but they don't want you to work from home.

    Continue reading
    CN2020-02-18

    CN Response

    February 24, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing our team with great compensation and benefits including the ability to develop themselves and grow their careers. CN could not function without our dedicated employees. We are concerned to hear about the atmosphere and encourage you to speak with your manager or Human Resources Business Partner to share your concerns.

    Continue reading
  9. "Culture Shock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainmaster in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with the unionized employees and watching them grow as a team.

    Cons

    Majority of management (Trainmasters) are family or friends so you don't have the best qualified people for the job.

    Continue reading
    CN2020-02-20

    CN Response

    February 24, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing our team with extensive training programs and the ability to develop themselves and grow their careers. We hope you shared your thoughts with our colleague during your exit interview so we can develop strategies to do better in the future.

    Continue reading
  10. "If you’re in it for the long haul."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Freight Conductor in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CN

    Pros

    Careers A few different choices for careers.

    Cons

    Might have to work long hours

    CN2020-02-17

    CN Response

    February 24, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. With a 24/7/265 operation, CN could not function without our dedicated employees.

    Continue reading
Found 527 reviews
</>Embed