Charles River Development Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Charles River Development Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 203 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Charles River Development CEO John Plansky
John Plansky
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work happens at a good cadence so good work life balance(in 17 reviews)

  • "Charles River is a good place to work with some very smart people(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "no work from home option at all (specially in operation team)--- why not have same policy for everyone(in 17 reviews)

  • "Just forget about your work/life balance, social life(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Legacy technology, bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Charles River Development full-time

    Pros

    salary better than similar companies

    Cons

    work life balance, difficult to use proprietary technologies

    Charles River Development2019-04-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Big NO for International citizens on H1B"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Development full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    1) If you are on F1 this is a good place to get your H1B filing done. 2) This is a good place to be for less than 2 years, if you are an entry level person. The reason I say this is because most of the times in schools we are not taught how to write maintainable software. We just know how to program and make things work. Here you can learn how to write a good quality product. Provided you are a software developer.

    Cons

    This one is a long list. I'll start with some recent things happening here. CRD got acquired by State Street. Yayyy !! Wohoooo!! This was the best thing that happened to CRD in 2018. Because our previous CEO was known to be micro-manager who had strict policies such as no WFH, no flex timing, etc. But soon in 2019 we realized we have a much bad owner now which is a bank. So what does that mean now ? 1) No GC filing...

    Show More
    Charles River Development2019-03-22
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Lots of responsibility, but limited support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Charles River Development full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Tons of responsibility for a first job Lots of exposure to senior management Consistently pushed to learn more

    Cons

    When sent out into the field, support can be very limited at times. For somebody that didn't have contacts within engineering, it can be extremely daunting. Very sink or swim mentality. Nonexistant company culture.

    Advice to Management

    More feedback and communication, please.

    Charles River Development2019-02-01
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Not worth wasting your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Co-Op in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Charles River Development full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you want to work hard and then not get appreciated then this is the right company. Few teams have good managers who support their teammates so totally luck driven.

    Cons

    Mediocre work and legacy code base on which they build their new projects. Manager tried to micro manage everything irrespective of work being completed on time so it was frustrating.

    Charles River Development2019-03-12
  5. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Development full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with some very bright minds, can learn a lot, fast paced meaning lots of work

    Cons

    Micromanagement, mandatory 45 hour weeks, zero to no perks

    Advice to Management

    Have more faith in your workers and do not micromanage.

    Charles River Development2019-01-30
  6. Helpful (12)

    "dead end company for personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Charles River Development full-time

    Pros

    salary is competitive mall is close by...

    Cons

    no work culture at all unfriendly environment buggy proprietary technologies with close to zero or outdated documentation outdated workplace - unless you are nostalgic about 80th office space no teamwork (you barely talking to your team) no team buildings (drink alone, eat alone will be your credo) no introductory steps for newcomers - you will be expected to perform as good as people working here for 10 years...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    hire a company to audit your processes, code, solutions, architecture and make sure that people have their titles because of their qualities / abilities, and not just because of the long work in the company

    Charles River Development2019-01-29
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Decent Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles River Development full-time

    Pros

    Growing company, overall good company

    Cons

    Some managers/Team Leads have zero leadership skills to become Team Leads, no freedom at all to work independently so much micro management. Not only work has to done but it has to be the way your team lead thinks is the right way (which is always wrong). Zero leadership skills. Some team leads dont even know how to communicate things micro management is their top priority. If anyone in the team complains about anything...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give proper training to Team Leads to become better managers.

    Charles River Development2018-12-06
  8. "Implementation Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Development full-time

    Pros

    Stimulating, challenging work. Experience across all security types, investment strategies, and firm types. Ability to work remotely.

    Cons

    Lack of information organization within professional services.

    Charles River Development2018-12-06
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Principal Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles River Development full-time

    Pros

    Best place for gaining domain expertise in trading Decent pay and 401k Stable product and no budget issues Process oriented and sticks to it fiercely

    Cons

    Career stages are not well defined Tech leads are absolute decision makers like it or not. It's all about pleasing the tech lead, disagreeing can get you fired. If your performance review reads "meets expectations", you will get 60% of the bonus. Outdated tech stack, product not easily flexible for any new adaptation No WFH, mandatory 45 hrs work week. Developers are QAs and vice-versa.

    Advice to Management

    Good technical talent necessarily does not translate to good managers Implement one up reviews State Street acquisition is a silver lining that time will tell.

    Charles River Development2018-12-08
  10. Helpful (19)

    "The most diabolically evil place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Charles River Development full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Smart colleagues, that is about it.

    Cons

    - Mandatory overtime. 45 hours per week. - CEO is a jerk, and he makes sure to hire managers who are the same. - Management by intimidation, threat, and fear. - Constant eavesdropping and micromanagement. - Forced overtime. - It made me physically sick to work there. - God help you if you go to the cafeteria for lunch, take a walk, or use the onsite gym. - Continual and rampant firings. - Two-faced Team Lead.

    Advice to Management

    I hope you pay for the harm you have caused, and continue to do.

    Charles River Development2018-12-11
Found 203 reviews