Close Reviews

Updated 21 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 29 reviews

4.8
94%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Close CEO Steli Efti
Steli Efti
16 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I have a voice in the company

    1 Mar 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love the transparency across departments, the company consciously makes an effort to keep me happy, great work/life balance and I feel like I have a voice in the company. The team is GREAT - everyone's a master at their respective crafts.

    Cons

    Nothing at all. One of the best remote work cultures I've experienced.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Couldn’t imagine working anywhere else!

    16 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *Amazing remote culture and team. The people, hands down, are the best part of working at Close. Truly one of the best groups of humans I’ve ever encountered. *Open communication and transparency. No BS approach. No conversation is off limits. *Autonomous work environment - there’s a great balance of being able to do my job with little oversight, but enough guidance to make sure I’m on track *Flexible remote environment, work-life balance + incredible benefits. The company really values and invests in the whole individual, both in and outside of work *The bi-annual team retreats (in a non-COVID world) are amazing <3 *Thoughtful and inspiring leadership team. Really grateful for their transparency with decision making, which was very apparent throughout the COVID pandemic.

    Cons

    *Remote work isn’t for everyone - you have to be self-disciplined and self-motivated to stay on track.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome experience, team, and benefits

    7 Jun 2021 - Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Absolutely love this team and our mission––and the day-to-day is my favorite job to date. You'll get a lot of autonomy (but regular check-ins and guidance to make sure your priorities are aligned). Very few meetings and a true remote-first, asynchronous culture. Work on your schedule with little micromanaging and really great benefits. Feels like a very mature company culture with mutual respect and employee investment, plus––we're building a cool product that customers actually love, which feels affirming.

    Cons

    Some of the smaller departments are still building project management processes, so there's sometimes confusion that we need to clear up in team meetings and regular syncs about what's gotten done/still needs to be done. It's still much more manageable than other companies I've worked at though, so it's not really a complaint. More of just my only regular bump in the road.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A truly inclusive, hard-working, and fun team!

    8 Jun 2021 - Marketing in Olite
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Having worked remotely for almost a decade at various companies, I can safely say that Close is better equipped for remote than most other companies. Workaholism is never encouraged or praised. Instead, work-life balance is regularly celebrated (seriously, there's even a Slack channel for it). The best part of Close is the people. This is a seriously fun bunch who are all focused on and dedicated to giving the best to our customers. As someone with a disability, I sometimes find it hard to find my place in a group. But everyone on my immediate team (and really within the whole company) has been extremely understanding and helpful, even before they knew about my disability. Leadership at Close is honest and straightforward, they openly recognize their mistakes and are constantly working to improve the work-life of the employees. I always recommend Close as a great place to work for my family and friends. I wish all remote companies were like this!

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Build a house you want to live in

    8 Jun 2021 - Engineering 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Close is an amazing place to work because of a great remote-first culture, a focus on high-quality work, and a high level of trust/autonomy. The company has a value of "Build a house you want to live in" which is reflected in a number of ways: 1) Employees stick around - not high churn 2) High quality work, product, and codebase 3) People care about the company, their work, and each other 4) A truly remote-only culture with an emphasize on async work Finally – it's very clear the company cares about each individual, new and old. A recent example of this was how thoughtfully the company handled an uncertain situation at the beginning of COVID-19. Compensation & benefits are very good, especially for remote.

    Cons

    High expectations; you have to be very self-motivated; limited opportunities for growing into people management since the company is relatively small (< 50) - however there are lots of other growth/leadership opportunities for individual contributors.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    WOW WOW WOW - What a company, what a future!

    21 Jun 2021 - Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Bootstrapped (and profitable)... - This means we only answer to our customers (customer focused) - Freedom to do meaningful work without politics or red tape - Highly collaborative team, welcoming of different ideas and personalities - Flexibility (fully remote, flexible hours, team trust and understanding)

    Cons

    I've worked in tech companies large and small and nothing compares to the experience at Close. No cons to mention!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I Found My Tribe...

    15 Jun 2021 - Customer Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Showing up to work at Close every day is utterly the most fulfilling thing I do. From day 1, you meet this amazing tight group with inside jokes, years of stories together(and embarrassing pictures to unleash on birthdays) who immediately make you feel like part of something impactful. The daily job responsibilities are challenging, keep me on my toes and always learning and growing. Management is supportive of whatever interest you may want to pursue in and out of your JD.

    Cons

    Really none, you don't have to compromise on anything in Close.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A really good place to work

    11 Jun 2021 - Team Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Leadership genuinely cares about the people who work here * Good company culture and leadership actively seeks out feedback to improve * Competitive compensation and generous benefits * Motivated and thoughtful colleagues who take pride in their work * Large degree of autonomy

    Cons

    Because we are a small company and there's a lot we want to accomplish, sometimes it can feel hard to step away for more than a few days at a time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Awesome place to work

    7 Jun 2021 - Senior Backend Engineering Manager in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Friendly team environment where everyone cares about their work and each other * Great remote first work environment * Founders provide great leadership * There are opportunities to grow professionally even though the company is still relatively small

    Cons

    Honestly don't have any major negatives, they would just be nitpicking

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Racist Leadership

    7 May 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Some nice coworkers - Remote work - The product is pretty good

    Cons

    I cannot hold my tongue any longer. During the yearly team retreats the founders say things about minorities that you wouldn’t believe if I wrote them out here. One of the founders moved to a remote part of the USA to, in his words, “preserve the racial purity of my family”. Another company leader talked about how he doesn't mind hiring a "cheap indian programming slave", but the leaders of the company must all remain white and of European descent. I have seen so many great minority candidates get passed over for someone less great who is white. It’s driving me crazy and I will quit working here soon. If you don’t believe it, take a look at their team photo. These people are white supremacists and you shouldn’t do business with them.

    12 people found this review helpful

    Close Response

    This review is fake. At no time has anyone made statements like this at the company. This post was previously moderated and removed for false claims by Glassdoor. We have requested Glassdoor remove again and improve their verification & moderation processes in order to display high-quality, trusted reviews. If you would like to learn more about Close or hear first-hand from our team we would be happy to put you in touch with ANY team member so you can hear their unbiased thoughts during the hiring process.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with Close Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Close? Share Your Experiences

Close logo
or