Compass Group USA Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,050 of over 1,079 reviews

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Compass Group USA CEO Gary Green
Gary Green
399 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits an the Food Is Great(in 39 reviews)

  • "Good benefits with decent salary(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "upper management does not care for people(in 42 reviews)

  • "Managing your Work Life Balance(in 31 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Middle of the road employer

      Jul 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and pay weren't bad. Fairly normal corporate work.

      Cons

      Zero interaction with any high level management - I.E. I worked there for several years and my bosses manager had no idea who I was when I put in my two week notice. When I was interviewed, one person in management asked me how old I was and noted that he had a child that age and he wasn't sure if a person my age was mature enough to handle the job. Keep in mind this was for a professional corporate role, and I had a degree. Either way - you probably understand how illegal this actually is. I never told HR because I needed the job, but the other person in the interview looked horrified and kept their mouth shut. I'm guessing this was cultural as Compass has a huge British management base, and I'm not sure if that's acceptable over there or not...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company

      Jul 28, 2021 - Category Development Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great corporate culture. Large company with family feel. A lot of opportunity for growth. Innovative and open to new ideas.

      Cons

      In certain instances, cross-functional teams struggle to collaborate. The industry was affected negatively due to Covid but they have done a great job bouncing back.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Efficent, friendly, and looking forward to being a part of their team.

      Jul 28, 2021 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive influence realistic case sceneriios

      Cons

      Low wages. Text message interpretation.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Corporate Food Service

      Jul 28, 2021 - Food Service Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pleasant, consistent daily work environment; decent benefits, long term contracts in higher education

      Cons

      Profit driven, not very people orientated even though they think they are, uses few local business and resources

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great time

      Jul 28, 2021 - Conference Planner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay wonderful people nice environment

      Cons

      Not enought staff for the task required

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great job

      Jul 27, 2021 - Cashier in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hours, and pay. Very great benefits

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great pay scale

      Jul 19, 2021 - Business Office Coordinator in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay scale was always above the norm and the work/family life was always respect. Lots of vacation

      Cons

      Lack of Corporate oversight. When reporting issues they actually conference call in the person you are reporting.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Chartwells

      Jul 22, 2021 - Executive Chef 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong leadership team and they also valued there employees

      Cons

      If they loose a contract management can be with out a job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Amazing culture

      Jul 21, 2021 - Senior Vice President Business Development in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has a Great team culture

      Cons

      There are not any negatives working for this company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good team

      Jul 22, 2021 - COVID TESTER in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      +pay, communication, manager, breaks, people

      Cons

      Weren't really any cons, great fun

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,050 Reviews

    Work at Compass Group USA? Share Your Experiences

    Compass Group USA logo
    or