Elastic Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Elastic Reviews

Updated 19 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Elastic Founder and CEO Shay Banon
Shay Banon
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "I wasn't a huge participant in the open-source world before joining Elastic, but I've really enjoyed getting more involved(in 24 reviews)

  • "The work-life balance at Elastic is what you make of it(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also, no one is going to check to make sure you have work-life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Their hope is the open source model and its low entry price is going to drive enough potential demand for up-selling later to generate revenue(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Simply Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Amazing People & Managers 2. Flexible work culture & challenging work 3. Great parental leave policy (16 weeks)

    Cons

    Rewards and recognition could be better.

    Continue reading
    Elastic2019-05-06
  2. "idk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time

    Pros

    work from home very flex

    Cons

    much travel on consulting roles

    Elastic2020-03-19
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New York in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company; Growing Fast; Amazing People; Amazing Benefits

    Cons

    Complicated Tech and Lots of Fast Change. You have to keep up and continue investing in your own enablement or you will get behind fast.

    Continue reading
    Elastic2020-03-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I have _ever_ worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love this company so much. The distributed nature allows you the flexibility to live you life or as they say "be home for diner". The mentality of the company is low stress while still maintaining a commitment to delivering an incredible product. As a product, we cannot easily have a continuous deployment where we can just push new code to fix break changes, and everyone has the latest patched version. As a result, We have the concept of a "train" release, meaning the train is going to leave the station on time and if your code is ready to go, perfect. But if you're pushing to get your code in, that usually goes hand-in-hand with bugs and errors. So at Elastic, we strive to make the best improvements to our products but try not to sacrifice quality. I have never seen this forward-thinking mentality at any other company One of my favorite thing about this company in Shay! I love listening to him talk about the company because he describes what went through his head to make each decision, it's incredible. He is one of those people that doesn't jump to an opinion on something until he has all the facts and has actually taken the time to think about all the circumstances at play. He knows how much power his voice caries, particularly from a code perspective, and will sometimes take a back seat to let the talented developers come to a solution on their own, without his influence. He genuinely cares about all Elasticians and is constantly improving the culture of the company to be more inclusive and more enjoyable. Also, he is just a down to earth guy that you would bump into on the train and have a great conversation with, never knowing he was the CEO of a company. The work-life balance at Elastic is what you make of it. The distributed team makes for a lot of flexibility and a lot less structure, in terms of time. I have been known to work late some days as I am already home and one hour leads to 2 or 3 past when I should have stopped for the day. So in a way, you make your own balance and it is important to have the self-discipline to stop at a reasonable time. Another thing I love is the people. I have never met a more jovial and supportive group of people in my career. On top of that you oftentimes, work with people all over the country from Italy, Germany, Switzerland and more. When people first join the company they go through an in-person orientation of sorts and you learn about how the company started and how it has progressed into what it is today. You learn about all of the facets of the company from engineering to support. And as I sat there and listened I was AMAZED at how this company and the leadership, have iterated on things that were not working in the past and found a "secret sauce" for how they do what they do. I think one thing that is on everyone's mind is the TC. At Elastic I feel so privileged to work at such an amazing company, I would take less money to work for this company then they are paying me. That said I think the TC is above the industry average. There are tradeoffs certainly tradeoff in TC with working for a remote company but I choose elastic over Amazon and many others and have never looked back. Having friends from Dropbox, Netflix, Google their compensation is often better, particularly with the equity, but several of them now want to work for Elastic after they hear me constantly praise the company. I could write more but I'll stop here.

    Cons

    I have been with Elastic almost a year now and I am struggling to come up with any negatives. I think the only negative was during the interview process which was about 2 weeks between responses seemed excessive but at the time I was unaware they were a distributed company, so I cut them some slack on that. But overall we could be better at response punctuality during interviews. There is also sometimes a lot of change, moving teams around to facilitate a given initiative in the short-term while we hire people to fill the gaps for the long-term. It is a smart tactic to get things done but can be somewhat taxing on the developers.

    Continue reading
    Elastic2020-03-05
  5. "Even Better than it seemed ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation & benefits package, amazing team and culture, a leadership team that cares and strives to do the best for everyone who works (for) WITH them.

    Cons

    Distributed nature can be hard to adjust to.

    Continue reading
    Elastic2020-03-10
  6. "Great company even if the sales department differ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Elastic

    Pros

    Elastic is a great company even if depending on the team you’ll be part of, culture will defer. There are strong values, the “source code” but this doesn’t apply much to the sales department. The growth of the company and the IPO led to investors expectations and pressure is now more important than wellbeing apparently. However most of people are great, you can make a difference and act in a variety of ways The people mostly. And the work environment. The products are great also and are a massive competitive advantage which explains the growth of the company.

    Cons

    The management. Mainly in the sales department. They clearly differ from the rest of the company. Also the hyper growth is hardly managed by the management. They are overwhelmed and it can sometimes affect the team.

    Continue reading
    Elastic2020-03-04
  7. "A real career behind the Data. A dream job made in heaven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Support Technician in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Elastic

    Pros

    - Great teammates, people, and senior management (Yes, everybody) - Great culture (one of the many reasons that are hard to say no). - Everyone respectful and helpful. - Everyone is hardworking and you will learn a lot every day. - This company makes you excited about what will happen next. - Support is awesome with all departments. - The products are amazing. - My personal favorite, would be Elastic Cares. I love that Elastic thinks about other people. People work together to create that impact. That is so exciting. It is hard not to accept any type of job offer from Elastic. The place is just amazing and the learning process fits me like a glove.

    Cons

    Nothing to report. The company makes it hard to find any negatives.

    Continue reading
    Elastic2020-02-19
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Pretty toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elastic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Attractive benefits, stock options made it hard to leave.

    Cons

    It took me a while to discover how toxic the place was. Certain entire departments and teams are undervalued in this company. I have seen entire teams being passed around like they mean nothing. Constant re-orgs, mismanagement of talent, resentment on the group, teams fighting with each other instead of working together. It takes luck not talent to succeed here. Many middle-management are not capable of providing useful guidance and coaching. And after a while you realise this is not a place that will value you for who you are or groom you to be the most successful professional you can be.

    Continue reading
    Elastic2020-02-18
  9. "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time

    Pros

    As always, it's not all great and shiny but it's also not all bad and miserable. - You'll learn a ton here thanks to the variety of uses cases and customers/industries - Many great minds that inspire you to work hard and get out of your comfort zone - Solid benefits though depend on the country you work in

    Cons

    - Ever changing: change is good up to a certain degree but if you can't work on a long term goal and rely on defined processes, you won't get anywhere in the long run. - Uncertainty in some roles is very high which leads to stress and unnecessary loss of talent - Can't decide if still a startup or already corporate and therefore lack of clear rules that apply to all employees of certain departments/teams - Broad range of use cases leaves some prospects unclear about positioning; also increases vulnerability against specialized vendors in certain areas (eg security)

    Continue reading
    Elastic2020-02-17
  10. "Amazing place to work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Support II in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Benefits, Colleagues, Challenges, Every day is different.

    Cons

    None found, have enjoyed every second so far

    Elastic2020-01-30
Found 177 reviews