Elastic Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Elastic Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 146 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Shay Banon
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "commercial plugins model seems to be the best combination to make an open source business successful(in 24 reviews)

  • "Very good work/life balance (for most)(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Fast growth bring great opportunities, but also adds to workload, making work/life balance difficult at times(in 10 reviews)

  • "The balance between open source and making money is a tough line to walk along, but Elastic do it pretty well(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Simply Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    1. Amazing People & Managers 2. Flexible work culture & challenging work 3. Great parental leave policy (16 weeks)

    Cons

    Rewards and recognition could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing much. Keep this culture forever

    Elastic2019-05-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Beyond my Expectations. I'm drinking the Kool-aid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Everything I hoped for and more - Distributed by design, the culture needed for this kind of thing to actually work and scale appears to be successfully transmitted. - You talk to older employees and almost all of them are surprised that it has scaled. - Organization tries to measure and improve employee engagement. - Thoughtful leadership and approach to solving problems in the competitive market has been inspiring...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Not much room for juniors to come in as the company is distributed. I don't believe that someone extremely junior could get what they need. Average age in the company is older as a result of not hiring juniors. Not really a con, just unfortunate that people can't experience Elastic until they are further on in their career. - Can be disorienting on-boarding. Distributed companies can "highlight" mental health risks...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on the source code, over-communicate it again and again and again, because it's working. The source code and the culture are so important and it was transmitted to me within a few months. If we can keep the source code moving through the new hires, I don't know what the limits of the company are.

    Elastic2019-05-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "One of a kind!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Success Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Elastic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is incredible, Shay (CEO) has no ego and everyone is free to voice concerns with zero fears of repercussion. Fridges are fully stocked, ping pong tables and even yoga breaks throughout the day. Managers (especially in sales) make sure you are successful from day one and care about your wellbeing!

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any. The only potential concern I see is that about 90% of our business is based on license sales and that 95% of those license sales are motivated by the security plug-in. Some of our largest customers aren't renewing because they can get elasticsearch security for free/cheaply from Amazon Elasticsearch Open Distro or with Search Guard.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Don't give in to Amazon!

    Elastic2019-05-17
  4. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Elastic full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The best and smartest colleagues on the planet. Wonderful ethos, great product, sky rocket growth. Inspirational CEO and great leadership team.

    Cons

    Growing very quickly. Challenge will be to maintain level of quality.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    Elastic2019-05-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elastic full-time

    Pros

    Great technology, incredible market penetration (EVERY company uses the tech), awesome CEO and UNBELIEVABLE benefits (best in the industry, now I know)

    Cons

    With the massive growth hiring abounds, perhaps a bit too quickly as sales territories get pared fast minimizing opportunity -- it's a growing pain but can be significant if you spent long time developing customers.

    Advice to Management

    Get in the field as often as possible and not just for the "perfect" meetings -- often we were alerted that an exec was "in town" in 2 weeks and the scramble that ensued was both comical and daunting.

    Elastic2019-05-02
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company- Unless You Are A Women with Career Aspirations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Elastic full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits Good overall work environment Amazing people Great products Very good work/life balance (for most)

    Cons

    Lot of talk about culture and I was and very early employee who saw the culture change quite a bit. I think things changed quite a bit once Shay became CEO. It used to be that employees where allowed to speak out without consequences. In my opinion, it's turned into a very autocratic culture. That's the main reason I left. I do recommend the company for most people as overall, it's a great company. Amazing people...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go back to the culture that Elastic was. Stop preaching diversity when there are practically no women in leadership positions at the company. Stop being a boys club! Go back to your roots and be a less autocratic company.

    Elastic2019-05-03
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Not much room for growth if you are a woman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Elastic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of potential in the company. The technology behind the product is great.

    Cons

    Most of upper management are all men. If you are a woman looking for growth in an equal opportunity environment, this is not the place for you. Also micromanagement is a thing here. Upper management do not do work and put it on the junior employees to have everything done. If something falls through the cracks they blame and shame the employees.

    Elastic2019-05-17
  8. "Strongly recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elastic full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Great career development opportunities. - Smart/ambitious colleagues. - Great perks/benefits. - Lots of flexibility around work arrangement.

    Cons

    - Fast growth bring great opportunities, but also adds to workload, making work/life balance difficult at times.

    Elastic2019-04-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Elastic full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Awesome market awareness Great work/life balance Impressive CEO Management team all "pitches in" when requested by field

    Cons

    Company growth expectations cut down on the territory

    Elastic2019-03-26
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Profane and disrespectful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Elastic full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Worked side-by-side with some outstanding, wonderful peers!

    Cons

    Management is using fear, guilt and shame to scare people into compliance. Challenging teams generally pisseseach and every one off and is not a good way to build relationships. There are few things more damaging to human relationships than a sense of superiority. The ripple effects have a direct impact on creating or destroying a culture. Direct reports who are bold enough to express criticism get punished at Elastic....

    Show More
    Elastic2019-04-04
Found 146 reviews