Epic Games Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Epic Games Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Epic Games CEO Tim Sweeney
Tim Sweeney
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and competitive pay(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great facilities, great perks like loads of different free food every day, language classes, awesome relocation support(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Decent amount of crunch during certain points in the year(in 8 reviews)

  • "But work life balance is a continuing issue(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Best company I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Producer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic Games full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are nice, good work place, nice career development, free lunches and dinners everyday, and generous bonus.

    Cons

    Crunching sometimes and to stay on call if you are on release.

    Epic Games2019-09-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic environment, do not work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Helsinki, Southern Finland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic Games full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Huge bonuses, but only if you are a relative of big shots.

    Cons

    Immoral managers, toxic environment, mobbing, run by incompetent high school dropouts.

    Epic Games2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (19)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Publishing Manager in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Epic Games full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you’re male, it may be a fine place to work if you’re single and have no desire for an outside-of-work life.

    Cons

    It runs like a high school popularity contest. Many people are an embarrassment, but they are kept because they schmooze and play up to the highers’ egos. There are many racist and sexist things said daily at work.

    Epic Games2019-07-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workday Integrations Lead in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic Games full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People centric, sophisticated, top talent, no egos

    Cons

    Long Hours will be counter effective yo the work life balance

    Epic Games2019-07-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Happy to do my best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boston, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Epic Games full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    To help workers under stress.

    Cons

    Running out of coffee beans sometimes toilet paper.

    Advice to Management

    Stay happy and do your best.

    Epic Games2019-07-05
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Just bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Game Developer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Epic Games full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Literally nothing good to work with this company

    Cons

    Worst project managers in the history of project managers

    Epic Games2019-08-07
  7. Helpful (9)

    "It's a cult, so you'll love it or hate it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Epic Games full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best-in-class talent working on world's best technology Amazing, generous employee benefits

    Cons

    The company is a personality cult. The CEO isn't himself really driving it, but the president obsesses over everything and has created a organization-wide paranoia.

    Advice to Management

    Relax and enjoy your success. Don't make everyone live in fear.

    Epic Games2019-07-10
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Challenging, but fulfilling and lucrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic Games full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Base salary on par or higher than industry standard for roles but in an area with a significantly lower cost of living that most games studios are located. * Wonderful benefits/health care. Best I've seen in my career. Zero out of pocket for basic and most advanced health care. * Company shares in profits with quarterly bonuses. Many of these bonuses have exceed base salary per bonus and when that's not the... case, you're still compensated quite well. * Driven and forward-loooking studio heads who want to keep pushing forward technology and the industry. Epic seems set up for long term success. * Haven't seen mass layoffs for full time employees since I've been here and there doesn't seem to be any threat of this at all. * Family friendly. Lots of families at the studio and Epic takes care of them with additional benefits and activities, which is a nice plus. I've seen Epic go above and beyond to take care of its employees/families on more than one occasion. * While work can be challenging and demanding I haven't personally had any pressure to work exceedingly long hours. The quality of my work (and managing my own time and delivering on time) is more important than how many hours I've spent in the office.

    Show More

    Cons

    * The company tends to make quick decisions and quickly change course. This is a strength in a lot of ways, but also means things can be rather hectic and work can be demanding. "Demanding" can be personal pressure to perform or time. This kind of environment probably isn't for everyone (but the compensation seems worth it).

    Epic Games2019-05-27
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epic Games full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Some of the best benefits in any industry -Still acts like small company so everyone has a voice -Management acknowledges hard work and shows appreciation -Only the best tech is used here

    Cons

    -Lots of new people, some teams are dealing with cultural rebalancing -Ever changing products means things happen fast

    Advice to Management

    I think the endgame is to hire enough so folks have more time to try new things. Keep working toward that.

    Epic Games2019-06-03
  10. "Great Place to Work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Epic Analyst in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Epic Games full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great food, good management, ability to climb the corporate ladder.

    Cons

    Everything was ship-shape and good.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing well.

    Epic Games2019-05-19
Found 77 reviews