Exelis Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Exelis Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Exelis CEO David F. Melcher
David F. Melcher
174 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good benefits, work life balance was good untIl schedule changed to 6 days a week(in 29 reviews)

  • "Company Events, Smart & Friendly People, Good Benefits(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Difficult to move up - upper management is aloof(in 37 reviews)

  • "Company was sold to Harris Corp(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Power plant engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time

    Pros

    Good salary scale & care for proper working condition at work place. Care for health related matter.

    Cons

    Taking time to pass on low level massage to upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Need to segregate good skill manpower from a crowd for future projects.

    Exelis2018-10-21
  2. "Overall good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelis full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Travel schedule, pay, and benefits were decent.

    Cons

    Few raises and little upward mobility outside of engineering.

    Exelis2019-07-30
  3. "Slow and Steady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Buyer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits package

    Cons

    Job Security, a lot of "right sizing" ahead of the merger with Harris.

    Exelis2019-06-17
  4. "Excellent company, good advancement, good benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Clifton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, advancement, people, atmosphere

    Cons

    Micromanage, and sometimes too much stress

    Advice to Management

    Don't micromanage

    Exelis2019-02-06
  5. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Exelis full-time

    Pros

    Good learning environment and friendly people

    Cons

    Process not upto standard and manual

    Exelis2019-01-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "When it was good, it was good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior FPGA Engineer in Fort Wayne, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people were great. Engineers, technicians, and lower-level mgmt. did a great job staying focused and organized.

    Cons

    Upper level managers and business development did not focus on the future of the company. They seemingly looked towards investors and not towards new product development.

    Exelis2018-10-09
  7. "Great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time

    Pros

    I was always busy and there were a lot of different projects to keep me actively involved.

    Cons

    Top management was indecisive.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better with the teams. They will work harder is they are engaged.

    Exelis2018-09-17
  8. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with super cool people, really made a great impact in my life.

    Cons

    Work-life balance doesn't exist.

    Exelis2018-08-27
  9. "Material Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work hours and competitive pay

    Cons

    Employee morale could be better, and the amount of family members being hired seems to be abnormal.

    Advice to Management

    Reward those that work the OT that is requested and are able to work on multiple programs.

    Exelis2018-08-21
  10. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay and benefits. A wide range of opportunities.

    Cons

    Company was sold to Harris Corp.

    Advice to Management

    Enjoy your buyouts!

    Exelis2018-01-04
Found 555 reviews