Exelis Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Exelis Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 550 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Exelis CEO David F. Melcher
David F. Melcher
173 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work atmosphere is very flexible, very casual, liberal on work hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, flexible work hours, pro-family / work-life balance(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Difficult to move up - upper management is aloof(in 36 reviews)

  • "Engineers will use/fight younger engineers for job security(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Power plant engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time

    Pros

    Good salary scale & care for proper working condition at work place. Care for health related matter.

    Cons

    Taking time to pass on low level massage to upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Need to segregate good skill manpower from a crowd for future projects.

    Exelis2018-10-21
  2. "Excellent company, good advancement, good benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Clifton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, advancement, people, atmosphere

    Cons

    Micromanage, and sometimes too much stress

    Advice to Management

    Don't micromanage

    Exelis2019-02-06
  3. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Exelis full-time

      Pros

      Good learning environment and friendly people

      Cons

      Process not upto standard and manual

      Exelis2019-01-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "When it was good, it was good!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior FPGA Engineer in Fort Wayne, IN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Exelis full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      The people were great. Engineers, technicians, and lower-level mgmt. did a great job staying focused and organized.

      Cons

      Upper level managers and business development did not focus on the future of the company. They seemingly looked towards investors and not towards new product development.

      Exelis2018-10-09
    • "Great people!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Exelis full-time

      Pros

      I was always busy and there were a lot of different projects to keep me actively involved.

      Cons

      Top management was indecisive.

      Advice to Management

      Communicate better with the teams. They will work harder is they are engaged.

      Exelis2018-09-17
    • "Anonymous"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO

      I worked at Exelis full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I worked with super cool people, really made a great impact in my life.

      Cons

      Work-life balance doesn't exist.

      Exelis2018-08-27
    • "Material Planner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Exelis full-time

      Pros

      Flexible work hours and competitive pay

      Cons

      Employee morale could be better, and the amount of family members being hired seems to be abnormal.

      Advice to Management

      Reward those that work the OT that is requested and are able to work on multiple programs.

      Exelis2018-08-21
    • "Solid Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Exelis full-time

      Pros

      Competitive pay and benefits. A wide range of opportunities.

      Cons

      Company was sold to Harris Corp.

      Advice to Management

      Enjoy your buyouts!

      Exelis2018-01-04
    • "Great, but limited growth opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Exelis full-time

      Pros

      Nice company with flexible hours and cool technology.

      Cons

      Limited opportunities for career development.

      Advice to Management

      More advancement opportunities; clearer growth development from within the company.

      Exelis2017-12-20
    • "Very dependent on your team."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Exelis full-time

      Pros

      Decent wage Decent benefits package Seemed to be growing

      Cons

      The team I worked for went too "lean." There was no redundancy if someone was sick or on vacation, which meant production was barely keeping up or constantly behind.

      Exelis2017-10-24
    Found 550 reviews