GoCardless Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

GoCardless Reviews

Updated 16 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
GoCardless CEO Hiroki Takeuchi (no image)
Hiroki Takeuchi
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "One would think that within 12 months, more than doubling the workforce and moving office would cause some growing pains(in 3 reviews)

  • "If you are a minority stay away from this place no minorities representative in the management team(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits - private health insurance, learning budget, flexibility to work from home when needed Intelligent and inspiring people to work with and learn from

    Cons

    Some challenges experienced whilst trying to scale and grow. The company is still trying to shift away from being a UK-headquartered company to being a global one Unclear career progression opportunities for existing employees. Senior roles tend to be filled with external applicants

    GoCardless2020-03-17
  2. "Great place to work, would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk and Compliance in London, England

    I worked at GoCardless full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything, great place to work

    Cons

    Nothing, great place to work

    GoCardless2020-02-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Still a lot to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Program Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and a lot of very nice folk to work with.

    Cons

    Immature management and slow engineering delivery.

    Continue reading
    GoCardless2020-02-12
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic culture & leadership in some parts of the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GoCardless full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great office, staff are well looked after in terms of free breakfast, snacks and facilities - some parts of the business still have a good culture and positive ways of working

    Cons

    - marketing function has serious problems, everyone stressed out and working a toxic environment. Marketing leadership style is old school macho, political, high pressure approach. Loads of good people leaving which is making the problem worse for everyone still there. Such a shame, it was a great place to work a few years ago.

    Continue reading
    GoCardless2020-02-12
  5. "Going places with minimal growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's a fantastic culture at GC with very few egos to contend with. It genuinely feels that we're part of one team, which is quite rare and definitely something to nurture. There's a confident leadership team in place, headed up by Hiroki who is refreshingly honest & straightforward in a world of jargon and bluster. Above all, people are nice and it feels a joy to come into work and interact with the team and wider business.

    Cons

    Of course there are some really minor growing pains (as we expand internationally it becomes more difficult to keep that sense of 'togetherness') but, from my experience, these aren't unusual and are definitely not something GC isn't aware of; so long as everybody is patient and gives times for these to be ironed out it'll be fine. The pension scheme could be improved because the company payments are low in comparison to a lot of companies; there's also no bonus scheme for the majority of people which isn't great - knowing some people get it and some don't plays into the perception of a weak benefits scheme.

    Continue reading
    GoCardless2020-01-22
  6. "worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GoCardless full-time

    Pros

    i mean nice office i guess

    Cons

    highly toxic environment; your white male colleagues will get away with making your life miserable if you don't ascribe to their views

    GoCardless2020-01-16

    GoCardless Response

    January 23, 2020

    We continually listen to feedback both internally and on sites like Glassdoor to help shape the GC culture, so thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We’re pleased to hear you’re a fan of our office space, however we’re sorry to read about your negative experience. We’ve placed a lot of focus on being an inclusive place to work through things like our employee resource groups (Pride, BAME) and Women at GC network. So while we don’t recognise the environment you describe we’d be eager to learn more so we can take action if it’s required. We want GC to be somewhere everybody's free to be themselves and feels confident to speak up; If you’re still working here and feel comfortable to, please reach out to your People partner to discuss your concerns confidentially. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  7. "Exciting company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Advisor 

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great work environment in a company which is scaling very quickly. Strong personal development opportunities and supportive managers.

    Cons

    Limited flexibility within operational team

    GoCardless2019-10-05
  8. "Great culture, huge ambitions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Real emphasise on work/life balance Great team Challenging and rewarding

    Cons

    Some scaling issues has meant people can be hired without a clear roadmap of objectives and day-to-day responsibilities The ability to progress is unclear in many roles

    GoCardless2019-09-10
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Bringing the change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partnership Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GoCardless is a company which is considered by many to have long been a leading player in the London fintech scene. You might then expect the working environment to be one of steady development and well-practiced routine. From the inside however, there's a semi-mad scramble to outperform even the largest and best competitors and pioneer a new global payments platform. There are high expectations but teams have responsibility for devising strategy. The autonomy and collaboration this brings keeps the business feeling nimble even as it scales into the hundreds of employees.

    Cons

    Internationalisation and scaling teams naturally brings growing pains. It's not the sort of place to find rigid guidelines and you need to be able to adapt to changing organisational aims. To do well you need to be able to thrive in uncertainty and creatively marshal resources.

    Continue reading
    GoCardless2019-07-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GoCardless full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Friendly and smart people to work with. Nice tech stack and some cool challenges to solve.

    Cons

    Office could look a bit more friendly... its too industrial. It wouldn't hurt to put some colours. Also, snacks are great, but we could use some healthier options. On the business side, the development process has an old school feeling. We could definitely improve on the agile side of things.

    Continue reading
    GoCardless2019-08-04
Found 51 reviews