Harrods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Harrods Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 541 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Harrods CEO Michael Ward
Michael Ward
244 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefit (staff discount, staff canteen, enough supporting from management)(in 76 reviews)

  • "good discount, nice working environment, professional behaviour(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "The environment can be catty due to individual commission, long hours(in 38 reviews)

  • "No development or career progression(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A unique retail experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture; a lot of internal communication; good discounts.

    Cons

    Poor respect and support from managers

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget how it was to be just a sales associate

    Harrods2019-04-22
  2. "sales executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Harrods full-time

      Pros

      good pay and great commission to be earned

      Cons

      long hours and boring days very repetitive

      Harrods2019-04-10
    • "Good if you can get it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Summer Sale Sales Associate 

        I have been working at Harrods part-time

        Pros

        Staff discount is great, 33% across the store

        Cons

        High standards for appearance (heels for girls)

        Harrods2019-04-09
      • "Best Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
        Recommends

        I worked at Harrods full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Incredible employee benefits, people are super friendly and nice to work with

        Cons

        people that work for concessions are a little difficult sometimes, and the fighting over commission can create a bad atmosphere

        Harrods2019-04-03

        Harrods Response

        April 10, 2019Retail Director

        Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; we really value your feedback. I’m pleased to read that you are enjoying role at Harrods. In regards to the dress code, we don’t expect our employees to wear heels in any role (though some of our team choose to wear them).

      • "decent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Harrods part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        good discount, uniform changing now

        Cons

        long shifts bad food in the canteen

        Advice to Management

        relax more show a enjoyable working environment too focused on targets

        Harrods2019-04-10
      • "Amazing place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Retail Manager 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Harrods full-time

        Pros

        It’s a company that always strives for better and encourages its people to do the same. Great support network.

        Cons

        Low work/life balance in retail

        Harrods2019-03-20
      • "furniture sales"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in London, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        job security & good training

        Cons

        late nights as open until 9pm

        Advice to Management

        top heavy with management and thin on staff

        Harrods2019-03-27
      • "sales"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Harrods full-time

          Pros

          busy, but you can make friend with guests and colleagues.

          Cons

          people all around the store.

          Harrods2019-03-28
        • "Hard work, little pay, recognition or progression"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Staff discount Staff training Team Customers Staff canteen

            Cons

            Management Salary Role development Customers Snobbish

            Harrods2019-03-24
          • Helpful (1)

            "Harrods"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Knightsbridge, England
            Doesn't Recommend
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            There is something magical about Harrods - everyone has good memories of the store growing up. The store is beautiful and it was always look good on your CV. Discount is very good. Michael Ward is totally ruthless always seemed like a nice guy around the store and HQ.

            Cons

            Some Directors that have been there a long time are bullying, dreadful people that treat their teams like children. No flexibility, long hours, humiliating tellings off in the middle of the office, zero support and pregnancies are deemed inconvenient.

            Advice to Management

            Treat your people better. Equal pay for both genders. Flexible hours.

            Harrods2019-03-19

            Harrods Response

            March 20, 2019HR Operations Director

            Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; we really value your feedback. We strive to provide an environment where all of our people are supported, enjoy their work and feel valued. Your feedback regarding the working atmosphere is of particular concern to me and something ...

            Show More
          Found 541 reviews