Lyft Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Lyft CEO Logan Green
Logan Green
341 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Dealing with drunk passengers you have to be careful(in 228 reviews)

  • "High Contractor Expenses, Low Paying Rides(in 213 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Community Associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lyft

    Pros

    Good pay, genuinely helpful management, full benefits

    Cons

    Deal with irate drivers very often.

    Lyft2019-02-03
  2. "Great group of people working in my team"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Bilingual Associate - Outreach Innovation in Nashville, TN

    I worked at Lyft full-time

    Pros

    Happy environment/ Flexibility/ Fast Pace/ Challenging

    Cons

    Not able to work remote

    Lyft2020-05-28
  3. "Enjoyed My Time"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lyft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Team, Environment, Increasing Compensation Structure

    Cons

    Smaller Market (job opportunity wise)

    Continue reading
    Lyft2020-05-21
  4. "Lyft really cares about its employees."

    4.0
    Former Employee - Operations Lead 

    I worked at Lyft full-time

    Pros

    - Culture, people come first. If your miss a metric or a goal. No worries, just hit it next week. - Snacks, daily lunch allowance, MacBooks, feeling of a tech company even if the role is remote. - I worked for scooters and it was Lyft first 4 markets. So it was pretty cool to drive around and say yup those are my scooters! - You get to work with smart people that respect work life balance. Rarely will you see Lyft employees work more than 40 hours. - Good comp and benefits, pay was higher then market. Great stock vesting schedule, Lyft credits (no longer offered), commuter benefits, free health insurance. - Monthly fortnights with JZ and Logan. Its so cool to see the leaders in the company act like normal people. They would answer all sorts of crazy questions at the end! - Severance, I was laid off due to Covid-19 and they provided a solid 10 weeks severance plan. - Overall it was the best employer I worked for.

    Cons

    - Knowledge, I worked in operations and Lyft doesn’t know anything about physical asset operations. You would constantly be pushing initiatives without a real ROI - No sense of P&L for the market. We would spend $50k on a event to get about $60-70k in revenue. Not sure how this was ok for so long. - There was such less work that people would just make up projects and blow up every channel on slack just to be visible. - Slack, as long as you post messages in important channels. People think your doing your job. - There are like 200+ people on central ops teams supporting about 40 local OM/OLs. When we would go visit HQ, these guys would split up one project into 3 parts, meanwhile at the local level your juggling 1-2 projects + managing the actual operation. This is all happening while HQ is cutting 2-3 local markets every 6 months. - Lyft HQ doesn’t respect people in ops. They think their pink app can solve all challenges. - Higher level leadership would constantly ask us if we needed anything instead of providing actual direction. - Unfair layoffs, my team was laid off from a high potential market while they were currently going to launch a market which would only stay open for 4 months out of the year. Some OLs didn’t have markets for 6+ months and were kept on but my team was laid off. - No hiring freeze, Lyft cut 1000+ employees during covid-19 while still hiring externals. It would have been much cheaper and ethical to check their current talent first then offer externals.

    Continue reading
    Lyft2020-05-21
  5. "Good opportunity to grow in a fast paced environment"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 

    I worked at Lyft full-time

    Pros

    Working with dedicated team members

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity on local level

    Lyft2020-05-19
  6. "People & mission great; environment is chaos"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Product 

    I worked at Lyft full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, collaborative people Company mission is a large focus and is aimed at doing good

    Cons

    Lots of changes in executive leadership Planning and day-to-day is chaotic Being loud is rewarded

    Lyft2020-05-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, come build world class product with us"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lyft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great scope to grow as a engineer

    Cons

    some amount of politics, nothing out of the ordinary

    Lyft2020-05-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Let go during round of layoffs, would still go back"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lyft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to grow and learn in the company. Was able to level up career substantially due to the amount of scrappiness all around. A lot of roles and positions are created as needed, so there's plenty of space to grow. Also, great people all around. Sometimes petty, but generally all very well meaning.

    Cons

    Main con is that a lot of people aren't direct and projects get stalled due to indecision. Some passive aggressiveness, but not enough to create a toxic environment. This unfortunately also extends to company goal setting, etc. Due to the indecisiveness, there can sometimes be a lack of clarity in direction.

    Continue reading
    Lyft2020-05-14
  9. "Product Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation Culture Food is pretty good (not the best) People

    Cons

    Chaos most of the time Stock has taken a beating recently Unclear future

    Continue reading
    Lyft2020-05-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Chaos, politics, clueless leadership"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lyft full-time

    Pros

    - Great perks and benefits - Amazing coworkers (as in peers...management is a different story) - Work/life balance, although this is team specific

    Cons

    I’ve never seen such rampant favoritism or politics as exists at Lyft. It is fully about who you know and how long you’ve been here, and people are placed into leadership positions that they have no business being in, which leads to total chaos. Lyft views anyone who has worked at Google as being capable of being in a leadership position, even if they have minimal experience in that capacity. This leads to a clear lack of vision and strategic oversight, and teams suffer as a result. There is a reason that attrition has been so high the past year+ At this point, the primary attractor to Lyft is that they often pay top of market (even higher than FAANG, despite not being profitable) to make it worth the risk. Ultimately, this will lead to a cohort of employees who are solely driven by comp, not an actual desire to work for the company, which is sure to have downstream impacts on the culture and lead to even more departures. Also, the fact that Lyft laid off so many employees but continued to recruit as if it was BAU instead of freezing hiring like most other companies truly says it all. People are completely expendable.

    Lyft2020-05-26
Found 488 reviews
</>Embed