Old Dominion Freight Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Old Dominion Freight Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 432 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Old Dominion Freight CEO David S. Congdon
David S. Congdon
257 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and team effort everyday(in 77 reviews)

  • "great pay and benefits, best bosses around, newer trucks(in 72 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are days when the long hours can take a toll on you as far as fatigue etc(in 29 reviews)

  • "No overtime pay, management is horrible in the San Diego terminal(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, decent benefits, flexibility

    Cons

    Hard to move up unless you know someone or are related to someone at corporate

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2019-08-16
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dock Worker in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money was very good great

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about at all

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Benefits and Competitive pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee in Thomasville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Better pay and benefits that other companies around the areas.

    Cons

    As with any other company, you will have petty drama, but as far as the company itself- nothing to complain about.

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2019-08-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Too Big for their Britches"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Pay and bonuses

    Cons

    Regional Managers/VP were awful, didnt care about personal issues, all about the bottom line.

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2019-08-03
  5. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Kings Mountain, NC

    I have been working at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    Long hours no time with family poor management

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2019-08-13
  6. "Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Bloomington, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Old Dominion Freight full-time

    Pros

    Pay, and benefits were pretty well

    Cons

    Company had a culture growing we’re people would accuse people of harassment, bullying and racism.

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2019-08-09
  7. "IT ODFL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior SQL Server Database Administrator in Thomasville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great bonuses at the time but I hear most people no longer get this.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity, lack of training, political, no work from home, location in Thomasville NC., most people scared of losing job.

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2019-08-07
  8. "Friendly Staff and Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Operations Clerk in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends

    I worked at Old Dominion Freight part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff was kind and helpful, the work was not very difficult, and the pay was fair.

    Cons

    Work is not very rewarding, there are occasionally special situations that are difficult to navigate, and angry customers when things go wrong.

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2019-07-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Local pickup and delivery city driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Truck Driver in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits and steady work.

    Cons

    Residential deliveries in a semi truck. Watch out if you are old and not in great health. They will take you off the road in a nanosecond if you dont pass strict DOT physical. You will be forced into a sleep apnea test if overweight.

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2019-07-06
  10. "Best trucking job I had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Haul Driver in Carlisle, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, great equipment, felt valued as a driver

    Cons

    Office staff turned over often but didn’t really effect my trip

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2019-07-08
Found 432 reviews