PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

PetSmart Reviews

Updated 3 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
333 Ratings
Pros
  • "working with animals , interacting with pet parents(in 401 reviews)

  • "You learn so much about dogs as well as customer service and animal behavior(in 169 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most animals like the peanut butter(in 415 reviews)

  • "takes a while to get used to dogs for service(in 255 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Part time hourly cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Part Time Cashier in Chennai
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love animals, this is the place to work. Always something cute, fluffy, or exotic walking through the door. You may see a baby kangaroo, a snake, a lizard, or even a pig walking around. And you'll come to know the regular customers and their pets by name.

    Cons

    It can get very loud at times in the store, especially on weekends when it's so busy, you have rescue animals up for adoption, dog training, and just utter chaos at times. Throw in a bunch of kids (and sometimes adults) playing with the squeaky dog toys, and throwing the dog frisbees and balls around and it's the perfect combination for a major headache! And, a lot of times the pet parents don't avail themselves of our oops stations and leave us with "surprises" throughout the store.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2016-04-17
  2. "Feedback about the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at PetSmart for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Environment to learn in life

    Cons

    Slow growth process, salary low

    PetSmart2017-12-30
  3. "I had a positive work experience with Petsmart."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Custodian Associate in Seal Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed the set working hours and the work environment. The interaction with customers was fun, although minimal, with a lot of time spent working independently to prepare the store for business.

    Cons

    The changes in management could have been a smoother transition.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-03-31

    PetSmart Response

    April 1, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review. We always appreciate hearing from our associates - the positives and the areas of improvement. We'd love to understand more about your experience, please feel free to contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again!

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Started off higher than minimum wage Great customers Great management

    Cons

    I haven't had a problem yet

    PetSmart2020-03-28

    PetSmart Response

    March 30, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review. We always appreciate hearing from our associates and for all that you do for the love of pets. Thank you, again!

    Continue reading
  5. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sault Ste. Marie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there my experience was very good

    Cons

    no any disadvantage because according to me we should not say anything bad where we learnt alot.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-03-23
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Bather in Glendora, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to spend all your time with dogs!

    Cons

    It is hard physical labor. You have to lift big dogs every day and hunch over a lot when you're washing.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-03-24

    PetSmart Response

    March 25, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review and for your commitment to helping pets enjoy happy and healthy lives while you were with PetSmart. We always value hearing feedback from our associates and appreciate you taking the time.

    Continue reading
  7. "Hard to get hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PetCare 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Animals! They make the job worth it.

    Cons

    Good luck getting a schedule more than a week out

    PetSmart2020-03-24

    PetSmart Response

    March 25, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoy your life at PetSmart! Working with animals and awesome coworkers make PetSmart a special place - we appreciate your sharing your experience and your commitment to helping to keep pets healthy and happy!

    Continue reading
  8. "I enjoy working at Petsmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Petcare Associate in Countryside, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working with animals , interacting with pet parents

    Cons

    We are currently short staffed and very busy.

    PetSmart2020-03-22

    PetSmart Response

    March 23, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the review! We think our culture is incredibly unique at PetSmart, and I'm so happy that it's been your experience, as well. Thank you for all you do to help make pets happy and healthy!

    Continue reading
  9. "Didn't get paid enough for what I was expected to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Pet Care Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to interact with animals 50% off proprietary brands

    Cons

    Horrible pay (your raises, if you do very well are 20 cents.. Doesn't give much incentive) Work every holiday Company doesn't care about you as an employee

    PetSmart2020-04-04

    PetSmart Response

    April 6, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review. We're sorry that this was your experience. We'd like to discuss more so we can understand better, as this is not in line with our values. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. We are fully committed to the safety of our pets and people across the organization and greatly value everyone's contribution. Thank you again, for bringing this to our attention.

    Continue reading
  10. "Good company with a few issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Stylist in Lake Mary, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities, benefits, and consistent work. I also work with great people in my store.

    Cons

    A little too high pressure from corporate when it comes to sales, Productivity, and scheduling. Corporate seems to put profits before function, It’s very difficult to provide the service we’d like too while being understaffed and spread thin.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-04-03

    PetSmart Response

    April 6, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and experience with us. Please know, you can also share your thoughts via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you for all that you do for pets and pet parents, we truly appreciate it!

    Continue reading
Found 4716 reviews