PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

PetSmart Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
256 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals & learning about safety(in 377 reviews)

  • "If you're interested in animal care, you get to learn a lot(in 163 reviews)

Cons
  • "I do wish we didn't sell enclosures that weren't good for the animals (i(in 397 reviews)

  • "You do have to clean up after dogs if owner’s refuse to pick it up or just leaves it(in 234 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Part time hourly cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Part Time Cashier in Chennai
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love animals, this is the place to work. Always something cute, fluffy, or exotic walking through the door. You may see a baby kangaroo, a snake, a lizard, or even a pig walking around. And you'll come to know the regular customers and their pets by name.

    Cons

    It can get very loud at times in the store, especially on weekends when it's so busy, you have rescue animals up for adoption, dog training, and just utter chaos at times. Throw in a bunch of kids (and sometimes adults) playing with the squeaky dog toys, and throwing the dog frisbees and balls around and it's the perfect combination for a major headache! And, a lot of times the pet parents don't avail themselves of... our oops stations and leave us with "surprises" throughout the store.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The new direction the company is taking has shifted the main focus off of the important things, like excellent customer service and prompt but courteous check out, to forcing sales of dog training classes and puppy kits. They're cutting hours of the ones who can't make customers buy what they don't want or can't afford, and are threatening to fire those that aren't in "compliance". As a result, they will lose... dedicated, caring employees, and eventually customers with this forceful strong armed sales approach. I certainly won't return to shop at any place where I can't walk around the store free of what I consider to be harassment. When you tell one person "no thank you, I'm not interested", only to turn a corner and have yet another person try to sell you the same thing, you lose customers. Let people decide on their own whether to buy these classes and puppy kits, and turn the focus back around to taking care of the pet parents.

    Show More
    PetSmart2016-04-17
  2. "Feedback about the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at PetSmart for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Environment to learn in life

    Cons

    Slow growth process, salary low

    PetSmart2017-12-30
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good part time, not much for full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bather 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Good group to work with, rare to find a group I'd like to hang out with outside of work, but I am still friends with several of my old coworkers! Great clients, loved seeing my regular pups and their owners!

    Cons

    No chance of full time as a bather Was promised the grooming academy, but after a year I had to move on due to lack of hours and money every month Over scheduling was rough, with all the quick services Bathers were required to do no matter how idle the groomers were.

    PetSmart2019-10-13

    PetSmart Response

    October 14, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We couldn't agree more - it's our colleagues, pets and pet parents who make PetSmart such a special place. We always appreciate hearing feedback from our associates and appreciate you taking the time. Please know, you can also share your thoughts via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. We appreciate you sharing your experience!

    Show Less
  4. "Too much stress for little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Professional Bather 

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great to work with You get to work with dogs

    Cons

    Corporate has a say in everything for none of them to have worked in a salon

    PetSmart2019-10-18
  5. "Room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Leader 

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Development plans for interested workers

    Cons

    Ain’t no 9-5 gig yall

    PetSmart2019-10-14

    PetSmart Response

    October 16, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review and share your experience. We're thrilled you've found life at PetSmart to be fulfilling with advancement opportunities. Thank you for all you each day for your fellow associates, pets and pet parents!

  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CEL in Hilton Head Island, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere with pet parents and associates. Steady work, fun. Pay was good too.

    Cons

    Some management need more involvement and less office time.

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved with employees and less time in office

    PetSmart2019-10-14

    PetSmart Response

    October 14, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the review! We think our culture is incredibly unique at PetSmart, and I'm so happy that was your experience, as well. Your feedback is both appreciated and noted. Thank you for all the work you did to help make pets happy and healthy!

  7. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Pet Care Specialist 

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    PetSmart has great pay and training.

    Cons

    Sometimes understaffed and hours can vary.

    PetSmart2019-10-10

    PetSmart Response

    October 11, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoy working at PetSmart. Thanks for all that you do for the love of pets and for taking the time to share your experience!

  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Good team and lots of opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Can be very fast paced and busy

    PetSmart2019-10-10

    PetSmart Response

    October 11, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience! It's wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your time at PetSmart, we hope that's always the case. Thanks again for taking the time!

  9. Helpful (14)

    "Love everything about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Hattiesburg, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My managers, coworkers, and even customers are great and make the job well worth it! I also get paid well and get to learn A LOT of things about products and animals that I didn’t know before. Everyone is very nice and cares about you and helping you succeed if you put in the effort. You also get basic vacation time even as a part time employee and the company offers a lot of other benefits even at the part time... level.

    Show More

    Cons

    Usually part time workers only get around 20 hours but sometimes more. I would say the main con is how much the hours fluctuate.

    PetSmart2019-08-22

    PetSmart Response

    August 26, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for the review! That's great to hear how much you enjoy some of the PetSmart perks and benefits. We agree with you - our fellow associates and customers are wonderful. That shared love and passion for pets is a powerful bond that connects us all. Thank you, again, for sharing your experience.

    Show Less
  10. "Love Pets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Leader in Beaufort, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People who own pets are great

    Cons

    Hours are Long for Store Leader

    Advice to Management

    Pets make it worth it

    PetSmart2019-10-06

    PetSmart Response

    October 7, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review and for your commitment to providing great care to pets and their pet parents over the years! We think working with animals every day makes PetSmart pretty great, as well. Please know, you can always share feedback via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well. Thank you, again!

    Show Less
Found 4504 reviews