PetSmart Reviews

Updated Oct 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6,541 of over 6,663 reviews

3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
830 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals is fun, schedule is flexible(in 456 reviews)

  • "Fantastic work for a college kid with a future in animal work(in 187 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor management that did not care for the animals' safety as much as the bottom line(in 469 reviews)

  • "Prone to dealing with misbehaving dogs(in 286 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee
      Featured Review

      Love petsmart

      Mar 29, 2021 - Reservations Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Great environment Pets at work

      Cons

      Everything is quite nice here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      We're happy to hear you enjoy your life at PetSmart! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Plenty of work

      May 29, 2021 - Internship in New Delhi
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free coffee and continued supply of cooking and Maggie

      Cons

      Plenty of work, air conditioning was terrible, smoke breaks were monitored

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Hello! We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to leave a thoughtful review. Thank you for all that you did for the pets that came into the store while you were with PetSmart!

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Associate

      Feb 12, 2021 - Pet Care Specialist in Matgoda
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loving community, we try to get customers not abuse animals we sell, we take the animals to the vet, we’ve gotten great with treating wet tail, we’re all passionate about the animals.

      Cons

      Not good pay, we get bashed for trying to stop customers from buying an animal to abuse, horrible vendors .

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Feedback about the company

      Dec 29, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Environment to learn in life

      Cons

      Slow growth process, salary low

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Part time hourly cashier

      Apr 17, 2016 - Part Time Cashier in Chennai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you love animals, this is the place to work. Always something cute, fluffy, or exotic walking through the door. You may see a baby kangaroo, a snake, a lizard, or even a pig walking around. And you'll come to know the regular customers and their pets by name.

      Cons

      It can get very loud at times in the store, especially on weekends when it's so busy, you have rescue animals up for adoption, dog training, and just utter chaos at times. Throw in a bunch of kids (and sometimes adults) playing with the squeaky dog toys, and throwing the dog frisbees and balls around and it's the perfect combination for a major headache! And, a lot of times the pet parents don't avail themselves of our oops stations and leave us with "surprises" throughout the store.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Pretty Good Job

      Oct 26, 2021 - Care Associate in Troy, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good discount if you buy petsmart brands. Supportive and thoughtful management. Great if you love animals, obviously.

      Cons

      They feel chronically understaffed even though we keep hiring more people.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Not bad

      Oct 23, 2021 - Dog Groomer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are really good and not expensive

      Cons

      Retail hours kind of suck

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We're glad you enjoyed your life at PetSmart. Thanks for all that you did!

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Fun job, easy work

      Oct 22, 2021 - PetSmart Pet Care Associate in Webster, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with animals, no greasy fast food environment, plenty of hours

      Cons

      Lacks employees, not allowed to deny sales of an animal, rushed environment, only one 45 minute unpaid break for a 10 hour shift for part-time employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your life at PetSmart with us and for bettering the lives of pets! We appreciate your feedback. Please know, you can always connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to discuss further. Thanks again!

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Got a career when I was just looking for a job

      Oct 20, 2021 - Salon Manager, Pet Stylist in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They fully train you to become a pet stylist (groomer). This is a very profitable career and is very enjoyable. Great benefits and job security. Great tips. Paid vacation, paid holidays, full time, discretionary and sick pay.

      Cons

      Work weekends and holidays (however, you get very good compensation plus tips are great this time). Be prepared this is a dirty job

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We love that you enjoyed many parts of life at PetSmart! Thank you for doing anything for pets!!

    10. 5.0