PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

PetSmart Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
298 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals & learning about safety(in 390 reviews)

  • "If you're interested in animal care, you get to learn a lot(in 167 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most animals like the peanut butter(in 406 reviews)

  • "You do have to clean up after dogs if owner’s refuse to pick it up or just leaves it(in 246 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Part time hourly cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Part Time Cashier in Chennai
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love animals, this is the place to work. Always something cute, fluffy, or exotic walking through the door. You may see a baby kangaroo, a snake, a lizard, or even a pig walking around. And you'll come to know the regular customers and their pets by name.

    Cons

    It can get very loud at times in the store, especially on weekends when it's so busy, you have rescue animals up for adoption, dog training, and just utter chaos at times. Throw in a bunch of kids (and sometimes adults) playing with the squeaky dog toys, and throwing the dog frisbees and balls around and it's the perfect combination for a major headache! And, a lot of times the pet parents don't avail themselves of our oops stations and leave us with "surprises" throughout the store.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The new direction the company is taking has shifted the main focus off of the important things, like excellent customer service and prompt but courteous check out, to forcing sales of dog training classes and puppy kits. They're cutting hours of the ones who can't make customers buy what they don't want or can't afford, and are threatening to fire those that aren't in "compliance". As a result, they will lose dedicated, caring employees, and eventually customers with this forceful strong armed sales approach. I certainly won't return to shop at any place where I can't walk around the store free of what I consider to be harassment. When you tell one person "no thank you, I'm not interested", only to turn a corner and have yet another person try to sell you the same thing, you lose customers. Let people decide on their own whether to buy these classes and puppy kits, and turn the focus back around to taking care of the pet parents.

    Show More
    PetSmart2016-04-17
  2. "Feedback about the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at PetSmart for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Environment to learn in life

    Cons

    Slow growth process, salary low

    PetSmart2017-12-30
  3. "Stock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stockroom Assistant in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, flexible hours, tons of cute animals

    Cons

    Pay is okay, education on products to all workers should be more of a focus.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    PetSmart2020-01-24
  4. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I wanted an environment without toxicity and I found it here. The staff are real people and very welcoming and great to work with. This is my post-hi-tech stressful life job and I love it. The managers really excel at building on my strengths and understanding my weaknesses and helping me with those. Oh... and I get to cuddle puppies.

    Cons

    It can be hard to interact with bad pet parents. I do my best to subtlety help correct things like under (or OVER) feeding, mis-use of choke collars and more serous things like physical punishment of dogs. But overall, I have a lot of colleagues who can come and provide expect advice and generally we can educate the owner. Oh, and pet parents who gladly let their dogs poop and pee on the store floor and ask me to clean it up. lol. yeah....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let the cashiers in as part of the front of the house set up. We know what people are looking for More cross training. Empower the cashiers.

    PetSmart2020-01-23
  5. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Petsmart PetsHotel Associate in Marlton, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the animals and great staff

    Cons

    Hours are a little weird for me

    Advice to Management

    Add more flexibility

    PetSmart2020-01-21
  6. "Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy enough to progress through hard work.

    Cons

    Customer (pet parents) are a nightmare to deal with.

    PetSmart2020-01-19
  7. "I enjoyed it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Dogs and cats relieve your stress

    Cons

    picking up dog poop is not enjoyable

    PetSmart2020-01-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It's a nice place to work if you need the benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Groomer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a nice place to work . The pros are that you have paid benefits. Also, if you have a good team and leadership, it can be nice to be part of a big shoe box corporate employer.

    Cons

    Lack of communication between management and employees is frustrating. You do not have any freedom for much creativity because of all the policies and rules. While some are there for there protection for you, the customer and the company, some are just too ridiculous. I have had the opportunity to work for both PetSmart and a private salon, and I prefer a private salon.

    PetSmart2020-01-11
  9. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Stylist Apprentice 

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to interact with dogs all day, easy going environment.

    Cons

    Can be straining on the back, expect scars from dog bites and scratches, not every dog will be easy, not the best pay, no benefits for part time.

    PetSmart2020-01-12
  10. "Worst retail experience in 25 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Inventory Leader in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with associates who cared about the animals.

    Cons

    Poor management, severely understaffed, zero work life balance, poor pay for workload. Human resources is only interested in protecting the company not the staff.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your team, and follow company policies across the board. When important issues are brought up, address them instead of ignoring thrm.

    PetSmart2020-01-24
Found 4623 reviews