Rapid7 Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Rapid7 Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Rapid7 CEO Corey E. Thomas
Corey E. Thomas
173 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Positive experience for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Compensation and opportunities for advancement correlate directly with your contributions and dedication, it will not go unnoticed. - Innovation and experimentation are highly encouraged. You are free to use the technologies and solutions that best fit the task at hand. - The sense of community and work life balance is remarkable; they really go above and beyond to provide you with all of the resources you need... for success.

    Show More

    Cons

    - This company's culture is one of innovation and pushing the envelope. While the community is there to help you succeed, and will do all it can to set you up for success, you are expected to be a self starter and passionate about the work you do.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to take care of the talent you have, it doesn't go unnoticed!

    Rapid72019-11-27
  2. "Rapid7 is doing all the right things!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good Pay -Good Work/Life Balance -Ability to be creative -Ability to be apart of fast growing team -Culture is what YOU make of it. -Flexibility & treated like an Adult -Career growth when you prove yourself SHOCKS me to some of the previous reviews. Rapid7 is a great place to work. I understand Manager to Manager may be different here (in terms of culture) but I've never felt like I didn't have a... voice or that wasn't something I could help influence or control for my future development here. I have a very strong outlook on R7 future growth and I know we will continue to grow our brand & within the CyberSec Market.

    Show More

    Cons

    -We need more people who are committed to working hard to receive high commission/rewards for their effort -We need focused / AE high caliber talent to assist other AEs become elite AEs.

    Advice to Management

    -Align with Channel Operations to scale business -Move business to 100% Channel focus (across all segments) -Hire more Internal SOC Members to ensure existing clients remaing happy with a high level / high class of service that we sell. -Enable AE's to travel in territory more (doing good already, but we need more as we scale).

    Rapid72019-11-14
  3. "I enjoy every day at Rapid7."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Our new HQ is a lively, exciting place. If you want to socialize throughout the day, you will find plenty of opportunities. - There is a great sense of community at Town Halls and other corporate gatherings. - Culture of open-mindedness, experimentation, and work-hard-play-hard. - Our company is growing-- everywhere. So is the security industry. - Software is trusted in the market and by analysts like... Gartner and Forrester. It is a fun portfolio to sell. - I have worked here for two years and feel that I have a home here. I am friendly with everyone on my team. Every day I walk to work happy to roll up my sleeves and get moving. At my core, I really identify with being a member of Rapid7.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Siloed departments. For example, sales does not align well to product, even though we are in a space that bends to the requests of the market. - Marketing function needs modernization. - Career development strategies could be better defined. - Like any company, there are some big egos strutting around.

    Rapid72019-11-15
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and working from home

    Cons

    Growing pains as they look to be a bigger player in the security space

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to staff on the frontline

    Rapid72019-11-07
  5. Helpful (7)

    "LOVED working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wow, this was a fantastic company to work for. I was on the UX team and it just made my life heaven while I worked there. Really fostered learning opportunities, encouraged people to solve problems a little outside of their job boundaries, great work life balance, and (my team specifically) group support and interest in each other's lives. I have friends from R7 that will be my friends for life.

    Cons

    I left because of a prolonged communication issue. That seemed to be a general issue at R7, communication within teams and across companies / depts / layers. I know I was not the only person to leave over this. Also, I wanted to be promoted up the seniority ladder in my role but was, for the most part, not given a lot of instruction on how to do so. Also sometimes I felt like during all hands / town halls /... big meetings, our exec board would give us the run around on the questions that were selected to be answered. Almost like they wanted to say, hey look we answered your question, but actually, we didn't.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Work on concrete steps employees can take to advance in ALL roles -Work on your communication skills across all layers of the company. -be straightforward and honest with employees when answering hard questions. We're not children, you don't need to sugar coat things.

    Rapid72019-10-29
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing culture, inclusive environment - the varsity team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing environment to build a career. Rapid7 has done a fantastic job screening for smart and empathetic people who just want to make an impact in the world - which is why the average longevity is excellent (especially for tech). It really is the varsity squad - people on every team really know their area well and are happy to help cross-functionally. Rapid7 invests heavily in employee growth &... development so there are many avenues to explore as the company continues to grow at a fast pace. The Boston office is something (spectacular) out of a movie set - which promotes collaboration and good focus time as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    With such fast-paced growth, maintaining relationships and connections with various teams can be challenging - something most growth companies experience.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and help us to continue to challenge convention! It's harder to do as the organization grows.

    Rapid72019-10-16
  7. "Rapid7 is the place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDR in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time

    Pros

    Great teamwork, morale, excellent environment for achievement

    Cons

    too many offices, inconsistent coffee, strategy function is weak

    Rapid72019-10-04
  8. "The best company I ever work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Energetic, creative, imaginative, and all-inclusive working environment. I have worked several big companies in the past, this is the best company I ever worked. I love the first day experience at Rapid7 and the new employee’s training: interesting and educational. I also like periodic all hands town hall meeting. CEO or other executives share with us about company’s news and plan. Answered our questions. Very... impressive executive team. We feel that we are all ONE team. The benefit package is good. The facility is well decorated and fun. We work hard and play hard.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have nothing but positive feedback.

    Advice to Management

    We all sail the same big boat. Keep it up Captain Thomas!

    Rapid72019-09-21
  9. "Good Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Lovely office space Easy to colloborate

    Cons

    High paced the work never stops

    Advice to Management

    Non

    Rapid72019-09-23
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Too Much Friction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Corey and his team are doing a great job. This can be viewed from financial results and how they try to expand the product portfolio. They improved employee benefits, showing that they care about their people. * There are some good engineers and good people that you can especially have a "real conversation" with and learn from. But only a couple... * Site reliability engineering team is brilliant. They have... a good team cohesion.

    Show More

    Cons

    * There is a frat culture in Dublin office. Bros taking care of each other and deciding people’s faiths behind closed doors. There is too much gossip going on. You have to prove yourself to certain people, not through your work, but... I do not know what are their criteria. If you are not liked – for some reason - then there goes the workplace bullying. * Management in the office seems to be powerless about it.... Or maybe indifferent; accepted the situation; even supportive in cases. Promotions suggest this. * HQ is trying to implement its own cultural values, which are excellent, but there is a condescending attitude towards them within Dublin office, as “too American” or “too corporate”; part of the frat outlook. * There is no feeling of purpose or goal, so that people can rally around it. What is the competition? What do customers want? These are not part of the daily conversation. * HR is in Belfast and they have no clue about what is going. I am not sure if they are able to solve issues there. * There is too much politics going on in a small workplace. * Too much technical debt. There is the feeling of flogging a dead horse, constantly.

    Show More
    Rapid72019-08-24
Found 258 reviews