Ryder System Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Ryder System Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1142 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Ryder System CEO Robert E. Sanchez
Robert E. Sanchez
421 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good job, good pay, good benefits(in 60 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, good work environment(in 59 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Material management and logistics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Logistics Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time

    Pros

    Good pay for the amount of work

    Cons

    Lay offs due to Auto industry shut downs

    Ryder System2019-06-12
  2. "Decent pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small company atmosphere because the accounts are split up and run like separate companies. Pay was great for my account ten years ago, but lots of companies have caught up with it. Paid for down time, live load/unload, and weekly reset if on the road.

    Cons

    My account won’t let me park near the house after I moved so I have to drive 100 miles to work and don’t get to choose which shop I use. The shop is in a bad neighborhood so I don’t want to park my car there. The new GeoTab cell phone app logbook is a joke. It locks up and resets at times causing a distraction while driving. It sometimes changes status updates back right after I checked it. It will crash and update itself...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Use a professional logbook system. Pay more for experience and a better driving record. I have 14 years of experience with no moving violations (none in 14 years) and no preventable accidents (other than 2006 bumper scratched on curb), yet I still make the same as a new hire with one year of experience.

    Ryder System2019-06-16
  3. "Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time

    Pros

    Good/benefits and work balance

    Cons

    Management can be an issue at times

    Ryder System2019-06-14
  4. "Non-Competitive Wage Base"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CLM in Waterloo, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ryder System full-time

    Pros

    Job security and opportunity for advancement and location change within the company.

    Cons

    Wage scale determined by customers who are using Ryder specifically to avoid high wages. Above normal turnover due to the low wages. Talent does not stay long at all.

    Advice to Management

    It won't matter. It's their business model.

    Ryder System2019-06-12
  5. "Great to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Planner in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great to work for and fun

    Cons

    Some times hard to get upper management to listen

    Ryder System2019-05-24
  6. "Fast paced, high stress, long hours, average compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk II 

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time

    Pros

    Good group of people to work with. Good wage for entry level unskilled positions. Room to move up if you have the skills.

    Cons

    Many long hours. Last minute forced overtime. Sudden schedule changes due to main customer scheduling. 1 or 2 rotten apples that never seem to get plucked from the barrel

    Ryder System2019-06-07
  7. "Good to start with company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Processor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ryder System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time off was always a good thing

    Cons

    Phones always ringing a lot a lot

    Ryder System2019-05-22
  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Logistics Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable job, good benefits and decent pay.

    Cons

    No incentives, no bonuses hard to get a raise.

    Ryder System2019-05-15
  9. "Lube tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time

    Pros

    Time and a half pay, easy work.

    Cons

    Hard to gain an apprenticeship.

    Ryder System2019-05-12
  10. "Good pay and benefits, but bad bosses."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fueler in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ryder System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and pay as well as training

    Cons

    Terrible management and bosses. Disrespectful and unfair.

    Advice to Management

    Bosses play favorites and do not equally respect all employees

    Ryder System2019-05-22
Found 1142 reviews