Teradata Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Teradata Reviews

Updated 21 February 2019
237 reviews

Filter

Filter

India - All Cities

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Teradata President and CEO Oliver Ratzesberger
Oliver Ratzesberger
5 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work-Life-Balance je nach Projektlage von gut bis shlecht" (in 30 reviews)

  • "Upper management did not invest time at all in our team" (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Transforming company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hyderabad
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hyderabad
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Challenging work, good competitive pay, good people to work with, opportunities to invent new things, your ideas are listened to and people are encouraged to come up with new ideas

    Cons

    None as of now. Things are changing fast and Teradata Hyderabad is becoming better every day

    Teradata Response

    5 Feb 2019 – Recruitment Marketing & Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your comments! It's passionate people like you that keep the Teradata culture thriving. We're glad to hear you have the opportunity to come up with new ideas and share them with your... More


  2. "okay review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hadoop Administrative in Mumbai
    Former Employee - Hadoop Administrative in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Teradata full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work is good
    no more pressure from manager side
    provides good facilities

    Cons

    management and HR's are not good. If we ask for something from their end or tell them to respond from their end on particular tasks, they'll definitely not work on the issue. HR's are hopeless. You cannot expect anything from them.

    Advice to Management

    Please tell HR to help people

    Teradata Response

    15 Feb 2019 – Recruitment Marketing & Talent Community Manager

    Although we regret you did not have a better experience, we appreciate your feedback and take it seriously. Best of luck in your next endeavor.

  3. "Good for Freshers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Consultant in Mumbai
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Consultant in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good Work-life Balance
    Good hikes for Grads compared to others

    Cons

    As a fresher, you may be put into any practice DBA or Developer
    Less on-site opportunities

    Teradata Response

    5 Feb 2019 – Recruitment Marketing & Talent Community Manager

    We're happy to hear you're finding a good work-life balance here. Thank you for your thoughts!


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good company but lots of politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good Company. Healthy Pay package, but lots of Politics.
    Management is confused about growth and outlook. Also after big data, teradata market is crashed in data warehousing. Retaining a talent is abig issue in this company also.
    Almost all the senior managers are bad and do not align with company culture.

    Cons

    Lots of Politics.
    Management is confused about growth and outlook. Also after big data, teradata market is crashed in data warehousing. Retaining a talent is abig issue in this company also.
    Almost all the senior managers are bad and do not align with company culture.

    Advice to Management

    1) Retain the talent
    2) change the immediate manager if many people are leaving under him (they are crap)
    3) Take feedback of managers
    4) Employee should be clear about company growth / vision, I see very less communication in this regard


  5. "TERADATA DBA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teradata Database Administrator in Pune
    Current Employee - Teradata Database Administrator in Pune
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    work-life balance superb, work culture is excellent.

    Cons

    not many onsite opportunities, cafeteria is small

    Teradata Response

    21 Jan 2019 – Recruitment Marketing & Talent Community Manager

    We appreciate your review. We will continue to facilitate a great work/life balance and culture!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Discrimination from top level plus TD-HYD is miser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Hyderabad
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Hyderabad
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Teradata full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I don't see any such pros. Specially under the manager I was.

    Cons

    I heard Teradata is one of the great company.
    Well, that's in US. May be Mumbai and Pune also can be good.
    But it's entirely different story for TD-HYD.

    Once get hold of work, easy and less work.
    Flexible timing . Though they will scold for not coming in time. 10:30 to 4:30.
    Even though you have won certificates for your outstanding work.
    Even though you have to work till late night even after going home.

    Most quality work is in US
    TD-HYD are defining new levels of cheapness.
    Not spending a bit on employee. At least till I was there in the org.
    No fun activity for employee which may cost them even a rupee.
    They will take you out for lunch only when someone comes from US. All other celebrations to be borrowed by employee.
    Hikes: they are very cheap in giving hikes to old and loyal and proven to be best employee.
    While they will recruit fresher from so called reputed college with ginormous package.
    Look for the growth chart of senior employee in your team. If they are growing, you can stay, or else leave the team, or better leave the company.

    Beware candidates who looking forward to join the company (Specially placement from colleges):
    They will try to make you believe that they do state of the art work there. And work satisfaction is great.
    Everything is myth. And though money is not everything, money matters the most.
    Don't join this. Try to get off-campus offers while you still have time.

    Advice to Management

    TD-HYD management has shown nepotism for past 10 years that I know of. (My manager and his bondage to an employee. PS: Both Male)
    to one of the popular HR: People don't leave TD because they don't belong from TS/AP and belongs to north India. One HR that I know asks same question to every (so-called) north-Indian candidate during interview. "Since your home is so far why do you want to work in Hyderabad?"
    Grow up. You can check, after leaving TD most of them working in Hyderabad or Bengaluru.

    Teradata Response

    11 Feb 2019 – VP, Engineering

    Thank you for your thoughts. We’re sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience. It is unclear when you may have left, but we have made plenty of changes these past few months – many of them... More


  7. "Only few projects gets quality of works. Rem are not that much quality works."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer-II in Hyderabad
    Former Employee - Software Engineer-II in Hyderabad
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Teradata full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work from available, good management.

    Cons

    Not up to the standard in terms of salary when compared to other product organizations.

    Teradata Response

    23 Jan 2019 – Recruitment Marketing & Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. Although our compensation and benefits packages vary by region, they are very competitive. And, all employees have a financial stake in the performance of our business. We... More

  8. "Don't fall for trap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bengaluru
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bengaluru
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Intial package is good.
    Product looks promising.

    Cons

    No good hikes.
    Not much learning on new technology

    Advice to Management

    Management can be focuse on good distribution of work and a quality product delivery. Not on the number of buggy enhancements


  9. "Good Company to start with for Fresh Grads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Consultant in Powai, Maharashtra
    Current Employee - Associate Technical Consultant in Powai, Maharashtra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good Hike for Freshers compared to others

    Cons

    Work can be stagnant
    Provide onsite opportunities

    Teradata Response

    24 Jan 2019 – Recruitment Marketing & Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're glad you are finding your time at Teradata positive!


  10. "Good Company for retirement purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-III in Hyderabad
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-III in Hyderabad
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Low work pressure.

    Cons

    1. Legacy product are still on outdated technology so working on them is dangerous for professional growth of individual.
    2. Fast changing leadership.