The Cosmopolitan Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

The Cosmopolitan Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 185 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Bill McBeath
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fantastic discounts (Marriott/Starwood), great company culture, not a stuffy work environment, work/life balance, best employee dining room(in 11 reviews)

  • "Our EDR is the best on the strip and is better than some restaurants too(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very political, no room to grow unless you are in with upper management, even if very qualified(in 11 reviews)

  • "Casino business drains the soul(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great benefits and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Bar Server 

    I have been working at The Cosmopolitan full-time

    Pros

    great pay, benefits and pto

    Cons

    scheduling disaster. turnover is unreal

    The Cosmopolitan2019-07-03
  2. "Not unless youre union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The Cosmopolitan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    WAS Decent pay. But they are having a salary dump now as they are for sale

    Cons

    Round the clock work. No holidays off unless its your scheduled off day.

    Advice to Management

    Management will not stand behind you. When the 14th floor decides they want you gone. You are

    The Cosmopolitan2019-07-05
  3. "Hard job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Guest Room Attendant in Las Vegas, NV

      I worked at The Cosmopolitan part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good tips and free hot lunch.

      Cons

      Huge rooms very high standards.

      The Cosmopolitan2019-06-28
    • "Great company to work for overall"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Fountain Worker 

        I worked at The Cosmopolitan full-time

        Pros

        Great hourly rate, Paid lunch, Uniform provided

        Cons

        Long hours, Hard to get major holidays off

        The Cosmopolitan2019-06-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "Assistant Housekeeping Manager 25 years"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at The Cosmopolitan

          Pros

          5 star property 10 years

          Cons

          Fairness when it comes to promoting

          Advice to Management

          Promoting should be based on experience and fairness

          The Cosmopolitan2019-05-14
        • "It’s hospitality"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - SPA Host in Las Vegas, NV
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at The Cosmopolitan full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Its a social job with a lot of people interaction

          Cons

          Pay is way too low

          The Cosmopolitan2019-05-29
        • "On call banquet service"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - C Lister in Las Vegas, NV
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at The Cosmopolitan part-time for more than 8 years

          Pros

          Good banquet tips on check every paycheck

          Cons

          Terrible management and human resources.

          Advice to Management

          Start over

          The Cosmopolitan2019-05-22
        • Helpful (1)

          "If you want to work on the Strip, work at The Cosmopolitan"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Las Vegas, NV
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at The Cosmopolitan part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Independently owned. Low turnover both in terms of front line employees and management. Managers are world class and make employees feel like they work with them not for them. The culture is genuine, I have been in the industry for 3 years and this property really cares about their employees. We get discounts for Cosmopolitan rooms as well as access to Marriotts MMP/MMF discount! We get 15% off most restaurants...

          Show More

          Cons

          Line level employees need to park off property. There is no covered parking. We need to take a 5min shuttle in (its not that bad) We use LMS for our PMS. I came from Opera so the learning curve was a little longer than someone with no experience. At time the lobby can be really busy and overwhelming. We are the most occupied hotel with the highest ADR in the city so its understandable. We get many affluent...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          You guys rock!

          The Cosmopolitan2019-04-28
        • "Cosmo"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - N/A in Las Vegas, NV
          Recommends
          Negative Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at The Cosmopolitan full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          The property is amazing. The company core values are definitely valuable.

          Cons

          Leadership doesn't mirror what the company says it stands for. The core values that influence the decisions made by leaders are lost on some leaders.

          Advice to Management

          Hope your self proclaimed value is seen by new ownership.

          The Cosmopolitan2019-04-25
        • Helpful (1)

          "loved my time at the Cosmo"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Cage Cashier in Las Vegas, NV
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at The Cosmopolitan full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Great PTO, Benefits, Marriott discount

          Cons

          401K match could be better

          Advice to Management

          none

          The Cosmopolitan2019-02-22
        Found 185 reviews