Trulia Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Trulia Reviews

Updated 7 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Trulia CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work life balance and flexible vacation policy(in 35 reviews)

  • "in short friendly atmosphere, Great benefits, competitive salaries with limitless earnings in sales(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Step sister brand to Zillow with no true future path forward(in 34 reviews)

  • "At trulia the inside sales position is a grind, but what isn't(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Trulia sinking fast...really fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trulia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free food, commuter benefits, Health

    Cons

    In short a lot that you can count. I am highlighting a few. .... To start with, politics and favoritisms are two big things which is letting Trulia down. So many people are leaving and Management is so scared that they are not allowing them to write a farewell mail to their colleagues. Its has become boy's club. Constantly changing directing and technology is killing the productivity. Zillow's biggest mistake is Trulia. Work from home is a myth and non existing. (Do not be fooled if your recruiter tells you it exists)

    Continue reading
    Trulia2019-06-07

    Trulia Response

    June 14, 2019CTO

    Trulia is an important part of the Zillow Group’s portfolio of brands and I am excited about the new, modern architecture that is being put in place. People join and leave the company, including the Trulia team, for a variety of reasons and we take each instance seriously. As a company, we’re doing some new things and that has impacted the direction of the broader team, which I believe shows an ability to be nimble when the business opportunities are promising. The leadership team has been working closely with us as we navigate these changes, and we will continue to be transparent. I don’t see or hear about the “boys club” you are referring to. I’d welcome a conversation with you or others who want to discuss the challenges you are seeing and things we could do to help. We don’t have a work from home policy and prefer employees to be in our offices, working collaboratively with their teammates. Of course, we encourage employees to work with their managers as we understand there are circumstances that don’t support traditional work hours in the office and can allow for certain flexibility as appropriate. I’d like to see every employee have a positive work experience and environment. I hope you reach out to me so we can discuss your concerns further. davebei@zillowgroup.com

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Lack Leadership and Integrityy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Communications Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trulia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The time off policy is very generous.

    Cons

    Lack of true leadership Cult like culture Step sister brand to Zillow with no true future path forward

    Continue reading
    Trulia2019-06-06

    Trulia Response

    June 10, 2019VP Marketing

    Thanks for taking the time to let us know-- I’m sorry you feel this way about the work we’re doing. We see an exciting path forward for people looking to move, and the role we can play in making that better. I’d love to discuss your feedback so we can improve at alissar@zillowgroup.com. best-- Alissa Reiter, VP Marketing

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trulia Engineering in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trulia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture is generally positive. Location of the downtown SF building is great, it's a special place to be.

    Cons

    The flex vacation policy is a myth. You are told that higher ups - including our general manager - are watching how much vacation people are taking and that if you are high on 'the list' it gets noticed. There is an unstated limit of 4 weeks. I have found it to be political and unforgiving. There is no warning on something to improve, you are directly dinged on performance. Not all roles and responsibilities are well defined and no desire to fix it. There is some tension between product and engineering, with painfully untechnical product managers hard charging engineering. Product managers are generally more directly than collaborative.

    Continue reading
    Trulia2019-04-14

    Trulia Response

    May 13, 2019SVP & GM, Trulia

    Thanks for the review. We really want and encourage employees to take ownership of their career and work directly with their manager on their performance, role and career goals. Highly recommend you reach out to your HR business partner or me, so we can discuss your experiences and create solutions. We can gladly provide more clarity on our DTO policy as well.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trulia

    Pros

    Very open work climate: hierarchal structure almost seems non existent. VPs working next to interns, easy to communicate with anyone and everyone, and great team environment .

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Trulia2018-09-26

    Trulia Response

    September 26, 2018VP of Engineering

    Thank you for your review. A collaborative environment is important to us - it helps us innovate, and move fast and think big. Glad you enjoy working here.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trulia full-time

    Pros

    The recruitment process was both streamlined and thorough, and there was active communication from both recruiting and the hiring manager. The company really does abide by their core values - focusing on collaboration, innovation and transparency. There is a visible emphasis on employee satisfaction, as evidenced by the breadth of benefits offered, and the general demeanor of fellow employees.

    Cons

    No observed cons to date.

    Trulia2018-08-31

    Trulia Response

    September 4, 2018VP Marketing

    We're so glad to hear it! --thanks so much for letting us know.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trulia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great coworkers - smart, helpful, and kind - Competitive pay and benefits; rewards for good effort made - Semi flexible workday schedules -lots of room for growth in both skill level and responsibilities -awesome senior management

    Cons

    - Too many meetings - Some remote work was possible when needed, but more would have been better :)

    Continue reading
    Trulia2018-09-01

    Trulia Response

    September 3, 2018VP of Engineering

    Thank you for your feedback and we will keep on working to get to better.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Cutting-Edge Tech Stack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trulia full-time

    Pros

    - The people you'll work with end up being your friends - Great leadership team - Leadership team solicits feedback from (what seems like) everyone - There is a focus on using cutting-edge tech like React, Nextjs, GraphQL, Typescript, and AWS

    Cons

    - Not everyone sweats the small details - Sub-optimal managers continue to drive good talent away from the company - It's becoming less fun to work there (fewer happy hours, very few team outings, hard deadlines and huge pushes to get to those deadlines) - I see people working on the weekends (submitting pull requests, responding to emails, reading and replying to Slack messages, etc...)

    Continue reading
    Trulia2018-08-12

    Trulia Response

    August 14, 2018VP of Engineering

    Thank you for your feedback, and we’re glad to hear you enjoy working at Trulia. We are focused on developing our managers through coaching, mentoring, and training, and we strive to make sure everyone has a healthy work/life balance. If you have further questions or feedback on how we can improve, please reach out to me or your HR business partner.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Smart and Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trulia full-time

    Pros

    Everyone that works here says the same: they love the people here. People are smart, kind, and care about you on the personal level. Its an innovative company to this day and we only hire the best because we want to create an environment that will lead to success. The CEO of Zillow Group creates a culture that is employer focused and it resonates down to the managers of the individual contributors.

    Cons

    Not too much cons in my opinion. The only main comment is that career paths are not always super clear. However, our management encourages career development discussions so if you want to get this feedback you can if you initiate it.

    Trulia2018-07-20

    Trulia Response

    July 20, 2018SVP & GM, Trulia

    Thank you for sharing your review. If you want to innovate it has to start with the people. You need a team that will support you through the journey . The people are the reason I joined 10+ years ago and it's the reason I stay.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great Tech Talent but ineffective mid level managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trulia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Tech stack. Good Engineers. Free snacks and Fruits.

    Cons

    Most Mid level managers are ineffective and make poor decisions. Caring for employees is one thing and pretending to be caring is another. The culture has more imposters than genuine Leaders. No Bonus at all. Work from home policy is Terrible. Leadership has no trust in employees and unwilling to make exceptions. These three reasons cause a lot of frustration and great Tech talent leaves the company.

    Continue reading
    Trulia2018-08-10

    Trulia Response

    August 13, 2018VP of Engineering

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our work environment is best when we're collaborating and innovating with each other, in the office. We do support the occasional need to work from home, which can be discussed with managers. We also provide flexible and generous time off and sick day policies that enable employees to better balance work and life. I encourage you to reach out directly to your HR Business Partner to help us understand your experience with management, so we can work together to improve it.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trulia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is great to work for, they have great benefits, good compensation and an awesome culture, I recently became a parent and their support both personally and professionally is outstanding. Technology wise they are constantly trying to improve and have a lot of resources for growth. Finally they have the best diversity I've seen in my career, there is almost always at least a 50% female representation and in general all around welcoming to diversity.

    Cons

    They don't have everyday lunch.

    Continue reading
    Trulia2018-05-07

    Trulia Response

    May 7, 2018VP of Engineering

    Thank you for writing this review and here at ZG, we are committed to making sure it is a great place to work for everyone and glad you feel that way.

    Continue reading
Found 303 reviews