Walmart Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Walmart Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Doug McMillon
Doug McMillon
13,351 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay great people fun environment(in 1804 reviews)

  • "Good benefits good raises good associates to work with(in 1200 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, not enough employees(in 1313 reviews)

  • "I went from 20-30 hours a week while a in school full time to maybe getting 5-10 hours(in 1275 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Decent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wireless Sales Associate in Lubbock, TX

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Will work around school schedule

    Cons

    Unknown hours most of the time

    Walmart2019-12-12
  2. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    Walmart give good experience of wark

    Cons

    You have to be hard working

    Advice to Management

    Give opportunity to more people

    Walmart2020-01-16
  3. "Need a job I am ready to do anything for a job in the United States of America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Growing up with the company and people around me

    Cons

    It's always been positive everything I do

    Advice to Management

    Advice is given when someone needs it

    Walmart2020-01-21
  4. "Back office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back Office in Noida
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Walmart is a good company.

    Cons

    Walmart is one of the best and fast growing industries.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advise right now.

    Walmart2020-01-10
  5. "Nice company with good Facilities and Benfits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Facilities Complimentary Pantry and Dinning Generous travel budgets Some teams have cutting edge work

    Cons

    Some teams the work is not clear yet . Career ratings and evaluations are not systematic

    Walmart2020-01-05
  6. "Amazing eCommerce to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you get the right team, you get to work on amazing products. Great peers to work with, though with the recent aggressive hiring, quality is going down.

    Cons

    Too much empire building going on in Bangalore office - too much middle management. Salary needs a market correction.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of unnecessary middle management empire-builders.

    Walmart2020-01-01
  7. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Marketing Manager in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brand name to work with Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Can't trust the management Lack of transparency

    Walmart2020-01-15
  8. "Poor quality of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is good

    Cons

    lack of quality work, no career growth, politics

    Walmart2020-01-11
  9. "It's a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and lots of apportunities to learn

    Cons

    Nothing as such I felt is bad

    Advice to Management

    Management is evolving and still early days for the setup.

    Walmart2019-12-27
  10. "IDC Leaders should be in politics rather being in IT Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Flexible working hours * Good employee benefits in terms of Medical insurance, Free food, Free transportation , Quarterly team outing (Company pays 5k+ INR per person , but again this depends on your manager, if s/he is adamant to go outing, your money will go in vain), Udemy premium account for learning purpose , cultural events, last but not the least a top brand

    Cons

    Recruiters think that they are the king of the world. (dhidha is a hint , if you are an employee of Walmart, you would understand whom I am referring) The worst thing you will experience is that "you will get a bigger surprise on the joining day as they would put in a different team than the team for which you were hired". If you do a survey on this, why people at Walmart leave in 1-1.5 years, many employees would come up with the above reason. They have degraded their standard of hiring process. Few years back, they used to hire only from tier-1 colleges, now it has become like anyone with Java tech stack can be part of Walmart. Okay, it's a good thing that you are giving a good opportunity to everyone. But, have some plans for the people whom you hire. Coming to the point which would signify the review title, I was part of a team which had two sets of leaders, IDC & US. My team was an experimental team to experiment a new model of working. And this idea had come from US leaders. IDC leaders were so mean towards this , they were not ready to accept this team's existence. In a nutshell, US leaders were trying so hard to succeed and IDC leaders were trying so hard to fail this model. Just to disrupt the balance in the team, IDC leader says these kind of statements in team meeting that we don't have a budget for these many members. To my surprise, when I resigned , IDC leaders says that I took a right decision. Anyways, this team is going to be dissolved. Politics happen almost at all the organizations, but here it crossed every limits. In a nutshell, I would say Walmart sucks.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't recruit new engineers until you have plans for them.

    Walmart2020-01-08
Found 48474 reviews